We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is our ninth visit to the Royal Oak and we have not been disappointed at any time. Although James has now left, Tony is a great new under manager. We stay here when visiting the races and a bonus is when booking you can apply for the 2 for1 offer which gets you into club stand with race card ! The rooms have recently been refurbished with new beds and all the usual extras. The meals are succulent as is the breakfast. If planning to have an evening meal, book early as we were unable to eat there Saturday night, having tried to book on the Friday.
Our only slightly negative comment, is the fire escape ( outside staircase ) could do with being pressure washed down. Very slippery when wet !
In all , Tony and all the crew did their boss proud once again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eltel432016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    118
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
48
219
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just returned after a 2 night stay. Cant praise this place enough. Tony and all the staff were great , couldn't do enough for you. Rooms were on the small side but spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very nice, also plenty of choice. Free parking around the back was a bonus. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Royal Oak to anybody and hope to return next time we go to Ripon races.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet, Front rooms face the road so get some noise from passing traffic but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Went in for a quick drink to take shelter from the sun.Bar staff excellent lager very good but very expensive.Nice beer garden to enjoy your drink in a friendly atmosphere.
Would not return purely because of the price of drinks.(way over the top )

John & Sue
Torquay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suej0hnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The pub is really pleasant and the food was excellent at sensible prices. The room I stayed in was a little dated and was in need of a makeover. If you stay at the front with the window open it is a little noisy as it's close to the main road. The staff were all very pleasant and welcoming. I would definitely stay again but for £90 I would like to see some investment in the bedroom furniture. There was a huge empty area in my room where a couch and coffee table looked as though they had gone missing. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a stop over while following the Tour de France and what a night it was, great food, great beer and we were lucky to see some great live music. Can't fault the place and would definitely stay again if visiting Ripon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DPears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

From the minute we arrived I was utterly impressed. Tony, greeted us and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was fantastic, high quality, spacious, comfortable and a shower that you won't want to get out of. We had dinner here and that too was fantastic. Breakfast was delicious, the choices were great and quality of ingredients high. Very impressed, I will definitely return and highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Finningley_Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My friends and I stayed in Ripon on 4th June, and visited the Royal Oak for a drink while in the town. We were given an excellent welcome and the quality of the beer being served was excellent - especially the Taylor's Landlord. Helen was serving behind the bar that evening and was very friendly, helpful and informative - she was a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,241 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
644 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Property: The Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 36 Kirkgate, Ripon HG4 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is the ideal base for sight seeing, whether in Ripon, the surrounding area, a trip to the races or a local wedding. Ideally located 15 mins drive from the A1 motorway, and proud to hold a 4 diamond AA rating, it is an ideal choice as a perfect stop over for those long car journeys. We have a choice of family, twin or double rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower. All our bedrooms have been upgraded and are modern and well finished, all have a modern flat screen television with freeview and complimentary tea, coffee, water and biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing