We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek break for the races”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Midweek break for the races”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for two nights on the 4th and 5th of August to facilitate a visit to an evening meeting at the nearby racecourse. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean and comfortable with a huge and very comfortable bed. The 'brew' facilities in the room provided a wide choice and excellent quality. The food is beautiful, the chef's signature diseases are innovative and inspiring and simply delicious. The Timothy Taylor Landlord is easily the best beer I have ever tasted indicating a very well kept cellar. The hotel's convenient location just off the market square makes it a perfect base for exploring both the city and the surrounding area. Will definitely plan a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThompsonLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    117
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
48
218
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed overnight on 27 and 28 July. The room was nice with a good shower and a large, very comfortable bed. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We had breakfast and dinner on both days and the food was absolutely wonderful - everything we had was pretty near perfect and the chef certainly deserves all of the awards he has been given over the last 5 years. We will be visiting again as everything was so lovely and the hotel is a good base for touring around .

Room Tip: We had room 6 and although it overlooked the street we didn't experience any excessive noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Another fantastic visit for lunch. This is the fourth lunch visit I've had here and it simply gets better each time. As a pub user I know the staff are so lovely it's a treat to find people who are so nice yet not pushy!
I had a great 3 course meal. My duck from the specials board was amazing.
Clean and tidy great beer and wine in a fab atmosphere you are hard pressed to find better in Ripon.

Well done again guys!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Had a lunch on a saturday here, party of 4 adults. Ate in the beer garden at the rear, a perfect suntrap and so so quiet. Food was reasonably priced and portion size was pretty good. Cant comment on interior cos other than walking through it to beer garden never saw it. Not a lot of choice for a vegetarian so beware.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CumbreNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Staff were super efficient and courteous. Bar and restaurant area was clean and pleasantly furnished. Room was of a high standard regards furnishings, was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. Nice toiletries, fluffy white towels plus tea, coffee, hot chocolate, water, biscuits etc.,. to hand. Evening meal 10/10 for service, quantity and quality. Breakfast 10/10 for service, quality and quantity. Checking in and out - was painless, with friendly attentative staff. We were lucky enough to park in the pub car park (which has very limited spaces), but there is a car park close by. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is our ninth visit to the Royal Oak and we have not been disappointed at any time. Although James has now left, Tony is a great new under manager. We stay here when visiting the races and a bonus is when booking you can apply for the 2 for1 offer which gets you into club stand with race card ! The rooms have recently been refurbished with new beds and all the usual extras. The meals are succulent as is the breakfast. If planning to have an evening meal, book early as we were unable to eat there Saturday night, having tried to book on the Friday.
Our only slightly negative comment, is the fire escape ( outside staircase ) could do with being pressure washed down. Very slippery when wet !
In all , Tony and all the crew did their boss proud once again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eltel432016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just returned after a 2 night stay. Cant praise this place enough. Tony and all the staff were great , couldn't do enough for you. Rooms were on the small side but spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very nice, also plenty of choice. Free parking around the back was a bonus. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Royal Oak to anybody and hope to return next time we go to Ripon races.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet, Front rooms face the road so get some noise from passing traffic but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Property: The Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 36 Kirkgate, Ripon HG4 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is the ideal base for sight seeing, whether in Ripon, the surrounding area, a trip to the races or a local wedding. Ideally located 15 mins drive from the A1 motorway, and proud to hold a 4 diamond AA rating, it is an ideal choice as a perfect stop over for those long car journeys. We have a choice of family, twin or double rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower. All our bedrooms have been upgraded and are modern and well finished, all have a modern flat screen television with freeview and complimentary tea, coffee, water and biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing