We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, delicious food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great room, delicious food”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The Royal Oak is right in the centre of town, with parking at the back. Room 1, though it involved lugging a case up several flights of stairs, was like a suite, and there was an iron on the landing outside. It also has a pleasant view over the city. The food in the restaurant was delicious. The only criticism we had was that the room was made up late. I am not surprised that they are planning to expand.

Room Tip: See review above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakRipon, Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

My apologies that the room wasn't ready on time, we are very busy hence why we are building 2 new rooms.

It's nice to hear you enjoyed your meals in the restaurant.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    119
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
48
219
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Visit the oak regularly but this is the first time I've remembered to do a review.

You are always guaranteed an excellent meal at the oak, and you can tell they use fresh produce too.
The Sunday roast is particularly good with the beef cooked to perfection (lovely and pink and so tender mmm)

The staff are always very friendly and efficient. In my opinion The best eatery in Ripon by far.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank allyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakRipon, Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
It's lovely to hear you eat with us regularly, and that you think we are the best in Ripon!

We do take pride in that our menu is made from fresh, local produce, and our team of chefs deliver the best quality dishes they can to every guest.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review,

We shall see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, england
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

An unpromising start - finding it n the rain through the one way system was far from straightforward, parking was messy and the pub noisy. But the staff were brilliant and our room delightfully decorated and furnished - and crucially quiet (until some idiot fellow guests arrived back after 2am). The undoubted highlight for us was the exceptionally high quality of the food available in the pub restaurant - clearly freshly prepared and a long way from the boil in the bag offerings at too many chain establishments. Breakfast was also excellent. We plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We chose the hotel for one night as it was in a convenient place for our overnight stay in Ripon. We arrived early enough to get the last parking slot out the back of the hotel (don't know if they have enough spaces for all rooms) and had enough time to sample a brew or two of their excellent beer selection before we left for a friends "do" that was being held elsewhere. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were most helpful.

Returning later, we noticed the hotel is close to a night club which my OH commented that it woke them up when the revellers departed in the early hours of Sunday morning. Fortunately, when we had returned to the hotel on Saturday night, I managed to sample another couple of equally excellent beers and so I was undisturbed by events outside and had a good nights sleep!

Breakfast was very good, with quite a few interesting choices. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Away from the night club exit if you are a light sleeper and visiting at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsMoochers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed for one night with my family. The room was very clean & very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, helpful & accommodating. Wonderful location. We most definatly hope to make a return visit soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theenglishbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for one night recently when we went to Ripon races. Very nice pub with rooms. Our room was large and although overlooked the front was very quiet. Great central location. Staff very helpful and friendly. Only had breakfast here so can't comment on food. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solrsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Royal Oak for one night as a stopover driving from Scotland to East Anglia. What a lovely place Ripon is, we shall definitely return there in due course. The Royal Oak is primarily a pub but its rooms are excellent value and of a high standard. Ours was very clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. We had requested a Cathedral view and we got one, which was nice. We were not disturbed by pub noise at all, and there is good security for guests between the pub and the bedrooms. Parking is extremely limited but it is possible to park very close at a reasonable cost so this was not a problem. We opted for dinner in the hotel and did not regret it one bit. The food was excellent and was beautifully presented as was breakfast the following morning. Service was first class and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. Highly recommended, we wished we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,267 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#13 of 19 in Ripon
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Property: The Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 36 Kirkgate, Ripon HG4 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is the ideal base for sight seeing, whether in Ripon, the surrounding area, a trip to the races or a local wedding. Ideally located 15 mins drive from the A1 motorway, and proud to hold a 4 diamond AA rating, it is an ideal choice as a perfect stop over for those long car journeys. We have a choice of family, twin or double rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower. All our bedrooms have been upgraded and are modern and well finished, all have a modern flat screen television with freeview and complimentary tea, coffee, water and biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing