We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripping Ripon”
Review of Lavender House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender House
Ranked #11 of 19 Ripon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ripping Ripon”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

WOW! Lavender House at Ripon provided us with a very special, almost decadent B&B experience! Barbara & Bill greeted us with warmth,enthusiasm & delicious freshly made carrot cake! We stayed in their Fountains Room which was huge & sumptuously furnished. Our ensuite bathroom was spectacular & included an elegant slipper style bath. The B&B was located in a quiet leafy area, only a short walking distance to the main square. It made for a wonderful base to explore various places of interest in & around Yorkshire. Breakfast was divine with Bill's home-baked bread & wonderful scrambled eggs with Scottish smoked salmon! Ripon itself is an interesting old town with the Fountains Abbey nearby. Quirky pubs such as the 'One-Eyed Rat' and the nightly 9 o'clock ritual with the Hornblower in the town square are not to be missed! Bill recommended & booked for us dinner at 'Lockwoods', a fabulous, friendly restaurant that promoted the use of local produce & supported the local community gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 702ValerieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
66
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had booked a one night stay at Lavender House to attend my sisters wedding, My regret is one night was not enough! I am loathed to share this hidden gem with anyone but have to say a trip to Ripon and a stay at Lavender House is a must. Bill and Barbara welcome you to their beautiful home and nothing is too much trouble. It is straight out of a beautiful home magazine . The decor and furniture are incredible , home baking and breakfast fit for a king. Try it you won't be disappointed. one word, Perfect. Thank you to Bill and Barbara for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A superb welcome, excellent hosts Bill and Barbara. Our room really beautiful and tastefully furnished, spotless and lovely bathroom. White linen crisp and such a comfortable bed. The breakfast delicious. Sounds too....... good to be true! But it is. Fully recommend this lovely home which our superb hosts share with us. Experience Lavender House, you will feel so relaxed.
Thank you
Rosie and Kingsley, Leicester

Room Tip: Comfortable, spotlessly clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Recently returned from 1 night stay at Lavender House, just wish it could have been longer ! A really wonderful guest house. Bedroom and seperate bathroom were both beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. The attention to detail is amazing. Bill and Barbara were the ideal hosts; very freindly but not intrusive. The breakfast was suberb and to wake up to the smell of Bill's home-baked bread was heaven. We would recommend Lavender House to anyone looking to stay in Ripon and would certainly return there ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

On arrival at Lavender House we were warmly greeted by Bill, our gracious host, who showed us to our luxurious bedroom. Beautifully decorated and appointed, with an amazing bathroom, we realised we were staying somewhere special. We had some special requests which proved to be absolutely no problem for Bill, and we got the impression that there was nothing much he couldn't have taken care of for us. The room was absolutely spotless, the bed and linen top class, and we slept like babies.
Bills wife Barbara also proved to be a wonderful host and between them they cooked up a wonderful breakfast. Ripon proved to be central for a visit to Fountains Abbey, York Minster and Rievaulx Abbey.
if you are looking for a place to stay in the area you will be hard pressed to do better than Lavender House. James &Sea.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andomulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We've recently returned from 3 day stay at Lavender House and loved every minute of it. Very home from home with all the little personal touches to make a special weekend also a very memorable weekend. We had a very spacious, light and beautiful bedroom and a fantastic well thought out bathroom with slipper bath!! Very me!!

Bill and Barbara have made the very most of their beautiful home and are most welcoming as B&B hosts. After a long day out at Fountain's Abbey and Theakston's Brewery it was great to just chill out and unwind with tea/coffe and Barbara's scrumptious home made cake.

We would thoroughly recommend staying at Lavender House and will definitely be visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: We had the Fountains room which was very sunny and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Have recently returned from a 3 night break here ending with a visit to the Black Sheep Brewery in nearby Masham on the morning we left (My husband 's Christmas present from me!!!)
Cannot begin to say how comfortable and at home we felt in Lavender House, with Bill and Barbara being such a welcoming friendly couple, in their beautifully furnished home.

It is everything that previous guests have said, with a beautifully decorated bedroom (Fountains) and amazing bathroom, and all the little extra touches - homemade cake and fresh milk in a little jug kept in a small fridge outside the bedroom door.

A lovely dining room to have breakfast in, what better start to the day. We walked into Ripon each evening, where there are numourous eating places, we had a Balti at the Balti House, and a meal at an Italian restaurant called 'Prima' - both meals were excellent, and good value. Several public houses we went to as well. All within a five minute walk or so, from Lavender House.

Looking forward to returning for another short break, if only to walk the recommended walk from Barbara round Scar House reservoir!!!

Room Tip: We had the ' Fountains bedroom ' but am sure the other one would be equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ValAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
824 reviews
7.7 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,727 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ripon
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House

Property: Lavender House
Address: 28 College Road, Ripon HG4 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lavender House 5*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing