We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable pub food”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: All of our food is freshly prepared in house by our talented brigade of chefs. We are lucky to be located in an area rich with excellent local produce. This is reflected in our menu’s that change seasonally enabling us to use ingredients when they are at there best. We offer a wide selection of meat and vegetarian meals, with a mouth watering desserts menu alongside a carefully chosen wine list to compliment your meals.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbelievable pub food”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had one of the best meals in a Pub at this restaurant. I had an amazing chicken dish and my friend had Shepards pie. Such beautiful presentation and soooo delicious. They also serve Timothy Taylor's beers which are great too. Would highly recommend this if you're in Ripon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak R, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi Paula,
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at The Royal Oak, and that our dishes and choices of beer impressed you. We strive to deliver good quality food and service to all our diners.
Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    158
    51
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor service saved (just) by excellent food”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Walking in to "are y'awright there?" wasn't a good start - I never know what the expected answer to that question should be. A few youngsters eventually found the booking and at that point I was allowed a drink, but had to ask to be shown to the table. When my friend arrived we were hassled to order, but had to fight to get a wine list and the wine was a long time coming. Had the same problem with getting a glass of wine to have with our cheeseboard. We ordered the wine well before placing the cheese order but, in spite of reminders, the wine didn't arrive until we had nearly finished the cheese .As soon as we had finished the main course we were pressurised to order dessert which made us think they were desperate to get us out to use the table again.

The chef is a genius and, I suspect, wasted at the Royal Oak. Excellent food deserves service to match. Please, Royal Oak, train your staff. They are all delightful people and very friendly but they don't seem to have any sort of system. We come out to relax for Sunday lunch, not to be mentally exhausted at the end of it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank venusarising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“AMAZING meal !!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked this restaurant for Friday night as we were in Ripon for the weekend and we are so glad that we did as it was one of the best meals that we have ever had but to call it pub food is a crime!!! They have a very talented chef/chefs,hope you pass this praise on to them. We shared olives and bread with sun dried tomato & herb butter for starters then came the mains, we both ordered the sticky Ripon beef and OMG it was mouth wateringly delicious, the beef just fell apart as soon as you touched it(no need for a knife) we then had a dessert to share, the chocolate fondant pudding with popcorn ice-cream (must confess hubby only had 2 fork full's, whoops) it was GORGEOUS. Credit to you all at the Royal Oak. The atmosphere was really good and the service was excellent, all the staff were really nice and helpful with the menu choices. Thank you for an amazing meal x

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak R, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is always nice to hear back from our diners.
We have an extremely talented head chef and kitchen team, bringing fresh and adventurous ideas to our menu with all food locally sourced. The 'Ripon Sticky Beef' is one of our most popular dishes on our menu and it's nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed it.
Our front of house staff are all trained to give high quality full service with a friendly touch, I am glad that they looked after you well and made your experience with us enjoyable.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant evening”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We came to the oak for a meal on Saturday night as part of my hen party celebrations - and what a great night we had! The table had been decorated for us by items provided by my friends, and they gave us a bottle of prosecco on the table which was a lovely touch. The food was great, as was the service. All the staff really looked after us. We had such a lovely evening! We will definitely be back :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reece86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous and innovative food in a pub with rooms”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were staying one night at The Royal Oak which we chose because we liked the look of the food they were serving. We weren't disappointed - it was all very different from standard pub fare and far superior. I can recommend the crab cakes with shrimp butter and samphire and the sticky beef which is really slow cooked beef that it melts in the mouth. In the morning we had their cooked breakfast which again was excellent. Not a total blow-out that wouldn't fit on the plate but a well cooked and presented amount - well done chefs at the Royal Oak.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank berksbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing