We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“steak and ale pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #3 of 84 Restaurants in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: All of our food is freshly prepared in house by our talented brigade of chefs. We are lucky to be located in an area rich with excellent local produce. This is reflected in our menu’s that change seasonally enabling us to use ingredients when they are at there best. We offer a wide selection of meat and vegetarian meals, with a mouth watering desserts menu alongside a carefully chosen wine list to compliment your meals.
home
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“steak and ale pie”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My daughter and i visited this restaurant for the very first time Good Friday the food was excellent, service absolutely spot on. My daughter who is from Leeds was amazed that Ripon had such an outstanding restaurant in Ripon. Our congrats to the chef whoever he/she is. Well done.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmapHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    147
    47
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Gorgeous”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

So pleased we booked a table here. The food was amazing and fantastic service. Well worth a visit. The chef is excellent and produces a very high standard of food. The presentation was brilliant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“warm welcome”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Royal Oak is in a nice location not far from the Ripon Cathedral and the Ripon Market Square. It's located in a renovated 18th Century Coaching Inn.

The Royal Oak had very good food. Not only was the food fresh tasting but they offered traditional comfort food as well as a variety of modern dishes. There was certainly something for everyone.

We walked down to the Market Square to see the Hornblower after dinner and then returned back to The Royal Oak for drinks with family and friends. They have a great atmosphere and fun was had by all.

The staff were very friendly and provided good service. A special thank you to the bar staff who answered all our silly questions and were so attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caribbean_breezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbelievable pub food”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had one of the best meals in a Pub at this restaurant. I had an amazing chicken dish and my friend had Shepards pie. Such beautiful presentation and soooo delicious. They also serve Timothy Taylor's beers which are great too. Would highly recommend this if you're in Ripon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak R, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi Paula,
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at The Royal Oak, and that our dishes and choices of beer impressed you. We strive to deliver good quality food and service to all our diners.
Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor service saved (just) by excellent food”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Walking in to "are y'awright there?" wasn't a good start - I never know what the expected answer to that question should be. A few youngsters eventually found the booking and at that point I was allowed a drink, but had to ask to be shown to the table. When my friend arrived we were hassled to order, but had to fight to get a wine list and the wine was a long time coming. Had the same problem with getting a glass of wine to have with our cheeseboard. We ordered the wine well before placing the cheese order but, in spite of reminders, the wine didn't arrive until we had nearly finished the cheese .As soon as we had finished the main course we were pressurised to order dessert which made us think they were desperate to get us out to use the table again.

The chef is a genius and, I suspect, wasted at the Royal Oak. Excellent food deserves service to match. Please, Royal Oak, train your staff. They are all delightful people and very friendly but they don't seem to have any sort of system. We come out to relax for Sunday lunch, not to be mentally exhausted at the end of it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank venusarising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing