We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Horse Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Old Coach House(North Stainley)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn(Ripon)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorhouse(Kirkby Malzeard)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ship Inn(Ripon)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mallard Grange(Aldfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
59
53
24
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
53
24
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstable blockthe pubmain buildingshaving pointstable courtcooked breakfastoff roadrooms are cleanfull englishlovely place to visitgreat weekendgood sizelarge bathroomlightwater valleyfirst morningset us up for the dayeach evening
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

In need of a but of a makeover but staff & service first class. I would recommend anyone passing through to call in an sample there fantastic breakfast.The town is also a great place to visit with Aden old market town feel, on an evening the horn blower tradition still takes place each evening

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alcorn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Rooms situated in outbuildings behind what is a run-down old pub, by a car park with overflowing refuse dumpsters. While initially the room looked ok, when I pulled back the duvet & noticed several pubic hairs nestling on the sheets, I couldn't exit the place quick enough. Traveller beware. For £10 more you can stay just down the road in the spotless Royal Oak with great food.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
38  Thank EnemaWithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorseRipon, Owner at White Horse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

The title of the reviewer 'enema within' probably says it all, however, the fact that all items from the tea tray & bathroom toiletries were removed by the complainant shows the calibre of the person.
Would suggest genuine travellers look at other reviews before making judgement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our Christmas stay at the White Horse was the best possible and great value for money considering how close to the town centre it is. A superb home cooked breakfast was cheerfully and promptly prepared to our exact liking every morning, we could not resist it as much as we tried. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious and even though we were in the main building it was very quiet, with no noise from the pub. Dave and Jo and their staff made us feel so welcome and did everything to make our stay as great as possible. We ended up extending our stay as we did not want to leave. We will definitely be making this a regular stop as we visit family frequently in Ripon.

Room Tip: Room 1 (twin) on top floor was very spacious and no problem with noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bg_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The main building deco is in need of a good face lift. I stayed with my 86 year old mother. I asked for a ground floor room which we received in the stable block. It was a twin room however none of the furniture matched. Both bed heads were broken. Breakfast service was very slow. We were woken up the first morning at 6 am by workmen in the room next door. Then while we were out yesterday they removed a set of drawers which mum had put her clothes in and left her things on the bed. Then this morning I switched the light on and it blew the bulbs and I had a shock from the switch. We left a day early . Paying for the 3 nights we had stayed. The owner did however refund 1 night as way of an apology as he wasn't around when we left. Sorry to say we had a bad experience all round and won't be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hilsary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorseRipon, Owner at White Horse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

I would agree that the main building is in need of an update, this is in fact in hand and will be commenced early in the new year.
With regard to the other criticisms I would make the following observations
a) The overzealous workforce in the next door bedroom would have been curtailled had we been informed.
b) The clothes that were moved were placed neatly on the customers bed.
c) The slow breakfast consisted of 2 rounds of toast & 1 bowl of cereal, hardly the most challenging task.
The ladies who stayed were perfectly pleasant whilst they were with us and made no complaint, they did, however, state that the event they were exhibiting at had been poorly attended on the first two days and I suspect that this was as much a reason for leaving early as the other complaints.
When I refunded 1 nights accommodation as a gesture of good will they seemed perfectlly happy and some dialogue at this point would have been more helpful than a internet complaint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We travelled to Ripon from Manchester for a Surprise Birthday.

At first we made the booking for only 11 people.. After many times of calling up changing the numbers we ended up with 20 of us staying.
Dave was brilliant in accommodating our needs, with different rooms needed, we ended up sharing rooms and also the double rooms, which is exactly what we all needed.
The cost was fantastic deal and with a great local taxi firm to hand, it made our stay even better.

The friendly staff and people who drink in this little pub made the welcome all the easier for us all.

We went out on a night in Harrogate and even coming in at the early ours of the morning there was no problem.

The delicious breakfast in the morning was the cheery on top of a great weekend away..

The ever growing group of friends we have are all ready looking at booking again in the new year for another night out.

Thanks Again and you will here from us soon.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank ACoady91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews