We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Horse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 19 Ripon B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A warm welcome, clean room, friendly locals , good breakfast and good beer, what more can you ask for, ok the Pub itself needs a makeover but I will recommend the White Horse to anyone who wants to stay in a real Pub, one of the reviews looks to me as a advert for another Hotel nearby

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickandmary4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    41
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
21
47
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Everyone we encountered in this establishment was open and welcoming. The room was comfortable, spacious, clean, and the shower excellent. The cooked breakfast was perfect, a very enjoyable stay! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristofer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

In need of a but of a makeover but staff & service first class. I would recommend anyone passing through to call in an sample there fantastic breakfast.The town is also a great place to visit with Aden old market town feel, on an evening the horn blower tradition still takes place each evening

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alcorn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Rooms situated in outbuildings behind what is a run-down old pub, by a car park with overflowing refuse dumpsters. While initially the room looked ok, when I pulled back the duvet & noticed several pubic hairs nestling on the sheets, I couldn't exit the place quick enough. Traveller beware. For £10 more you can stay just down the road in the spotless Royal Oak with great food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
35 Thank EnemaWithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorseRipon, Owner at White Horse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
The title of the reviewer 'enema within' probably says it all, however, the fact that all items from the tea tray & bathroom toiletries were removed by the complainant shows the calibre of the person.
Would suggest genuine travellers look at other reviews before making judgement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our Christmas stay at the White Horse was the best possible and great value for money considering how close to the town centre it is. A superb home cooked breakfast was cheerfully and promptly prepared to our exact liking every morning, we could not resist it as much as we tried. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious and even though we were in the main building it was very quiet, with no noise from the pub. Dave and Jo and their staff made us feel so welcome and did everything to make our stay as great as possible. We ended up extending our stay as we did not want to leave. We will definitely be making this a regular stop as we visit family frequently in Ripon.

Room Tip: Room 1 (twin) on top floor was very spacious and no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bg_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The main building deco is in need of a good face lift. I stayed with my 86 year old mother. I asked for a ground floor room which we received in the stable block. It was a twin room however none of the furniture matched. Both bed heads were broken. Breakfast service was very slow. We were woken up the first morning at 6 am by workmen in the room next door. Then while we were out yesterday they removed a set of drawers which mum had put her clothes in and left her things on the bed. Then this morning I switched the light on and it blew the bulbs and I had a shock from the switch. We left a day early . Paying for the 3 nights we had stayed. The owner did however refund 1 night as way of an apology as he wasn't around when we left. Sorry to say we had a bad experience all round and won't be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hilsary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorseRipon, Owner at White Horse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
I would agree that the main building is in need of an update, this is in fact in hand and will be commenced early in the new year.
With regard to the other criticisms I would make the following observations
a) The overzealous workforce in the next door bedroom would have been curtailled had we been informed.
b) The clothes that were moved were placed neatly on the customers bed.
c) The slow breakfast consisted of 2 rounds of toast & 1 bowl of cereal, hardly the most challenging task.
The ladies who stayed were perfectly pleasant whilst they were with us and made no complaint, they did, however, state that the event they were exhibiting at had been poorly attended on the first two days and I suspect that this was as much a reason for leaving early as the other complaints.
When I refunded 1 nights accommodation as a gesture of good will they seemed perfectlly happy and some dialogue at this point would have been more helpful than a internet complaint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We travelled to Ripon from Manchester for a Surprise Birthday.

At first we made the booking for only 11 people.. After many times of calling up changing the numbers we ended up with 20 of us staying.
Dave was brilliant in accommodating our needs, with different rooms needed, we ended up sharing rooms and also the double rooms, which is exactly what we all needed.
The cost was fantastic deal and with a great local taxi firm to hand, it made our stay even better.

The friendly staff and people who drink in this little pub made the welcome all the easier for us all.

We went out on a night in Harrogate and even coming in at the early ours of the morning there was no problem.

The delicious breakfast in the morning was the cheery on top of a great weekend away..

The ever growing group of friends we have are all ready looking at booking again in the new year for another night out.

Thanks Again and you will here from us soon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ACoady91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ripon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Bed & Breakfast

Property: White Horse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 61 North Street, Ripon HG4 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your White Horse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing