We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay and Lovely People!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Horse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 19 Ripon B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay and Lovely People!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked this b&b as we were going to the Great Yorkshire Show and wanted to have a look around North Yorkshire before we went home. When we arrived, there was nowhere for us to park. 2 of our party went into the pub to check in and to enquire about parking. After a few minutes, the lady behind the bar had organised some of the customers to rearrange their cars so that we could fit into the car park.

We were shown to our rooms which were in a courtyard away from the main pub. They were clean and very comfortable. There was everything we needed: tea & coffee making facilities, towels, toiletries, hairdryer and plenty of sockets for charging phones etc... The only down side was that we thought the main doors could be a little more secure. They were fine for an overnight stay but I may have been a little nervous leaving my things there for a few days.

After a very good night's sleep (and having to move the car to let out a customer which was not the fault of the B&B) we went into the pub for breakfast. This was freshly cooked and very nice, we asked for more toast and the owner was very happy to provide it.

We had no issues with this b&b. All of the staff were very nice and happy to help. I can only think that some reviewers here have watched too many episodes of '4 in a bed' and try to find th smallest detail to complain about! Thank you all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redfraggle1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    41
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
21
47
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

At first, the experience was brilliant. I booked through late rooms as 3 of us we're taking part in the Way of the Roses coast to coast 170 mile bike ride. The cost was £55 and I emailed the owner to make sure we could lock our bikes away. Everything was fantastic.

When we arrived we did receive a warm welcome from the host. Noting was said about costs and she directed us towards the bike lock up. We then went up to our room and although it was very tired looking, we didn't mind as had just cycled 90 miles. The nightmare began around 11 pm.

We all needed a good nights rest, but a group of customers decided to congregate outside our window and stay there until 2:30 am. We had to be up at 7 so this was not good.

We woke for breakfast, and we were told to come back in half hour as the chef was late. This was 7:30 and as we had to set off at 10, we couldn't afford to wait an hour so opted for weatherspoons instead.

When we returned to check out, the owner said the cost was £82 as another £27 had to be added for additional guest. I pointed out that at no point was we made aware of this, and on late rooms the cost was £55 for 3 people. We was not informed this upon arrival, and this wasn't mentioned during previous email communications. I pointed this out and the owner lost his temper and shouted at me in front of the hotel customers. He said how was he meant to cover late room fee's and challenged me to find a b&b for £17 per person. I refused to pay £82, and he again shouted. After an awkward silence, he took £55 and told me never to come again.

I urge anyone never to stay here. From the state of the b&b, the noise the plumbing made, the loudness of the bar and pub I can only assume the positive reviews are from the owner himself. I fully expect an immature response as he seems to be on the defence with every bit of criticism.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
55 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorseRipon, Owner at White Horse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
This review is a total fabrication of the truth.
At check-out time there was no mention of problems with noisy customers, late breakfast, the atmosphere was completely convivial, filling of water bottles, opening bike storage etc.
The problem only arose when the issue of the price was raised, I pointed out that the price of £55 was for double occupancy and that the price for 3 persons was £82.50, the customer refused to pay the extra, and since it was a late rooms problem this was accepted.
At no time were voices raised, the comment of 'do not stay here again' did not exist.
We have hundreds of cyclists who stay with each year without problem, perhaps 90 miles in one day was too much for this reviewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Arrived at the B & B and found the room, in the stable block, had everything you require. Towels shampoo, shower gel and drinks facilities. Staff friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast also. Thanks for a great stay :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived to find front of hotel behind scaffolding and on quite a busy street. Reception was in the dark dingy smokey bar. Girl on desk was friendly and showed us to our rooms in the converted barn area. Rooms were awful-old and smelled of disinfectant trying to override old smell of cigarette smoke. My sister in law is very allergic to mold and we decided that there was no way we could stay there. The reception girl was nice and cancelled our reservation. Ripon is a nice Yorkshire town and worth a visit though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Touchstone04576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorseRipon, Owner at White Horse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are aware that we need a facelift hence the scaffolding which I would have thought was a positive.
There has been no smoking in Pubs since the Blair government so it is impossible for the pub to be smoky.
The original reason for these people moving was that people were smoking outside the Pub!!
We have a strict no smoking policy in the bedrooms & I would question the reviewers comments.
Can't please all the people all the time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We booked as we were staying in ripon for a few nights and found this place on the Internet. It was at a fair price, bed and breakfast. We stayed in one of the rooms in the stable court and found it to be more than adequate. Comfy beds, and a lovely en-suite. The breakfast was substantial and the staff were accommodating. We will stay here again on our travels.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Milesofgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Not a good first impression as there was scaffolding across the front of the building and our window. Our room was very dated, drab and not exactly spotless, although the bedding was clean (as long as you didn't mind the stained pillow protectors with hairs on them!). The plumbing was extremely noisy - like a garbage disposal and the shower was not very powerful.
Tea and coffee plus two bottles of water were provided in the room but one water bottle was unsealed - not good! The TV on the wall was barely larger than an IPad! We were on the second floor and were kept awake until almost 2am by booming music from the bar below. A previous reviewer had said they heard no noise from this floor, but this was not the case for us!
The breakfast was ok but nothing to shout about and the only choice is a full English - we weren't given a menu to choose from. We only found out there was cereal you could help yourself to when we saw others doing so!
The staff were polite enough, but not hugely welcoming on arrival. You walk into the bar to check in and it's one of those places where all the regulars turn to look at the strangers entering the room!! That's after you have made your way through the group of smokers outside - who also greet you with an unfriendly stare. All in all I guess you get what you pay for, but we will choose more carefully next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the separate converted stable block rather than the main building, as they are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank annaglav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorseRipon, Owner at White Horse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
This reviewer obviously fancies herself as a travel reporter, this review has already appeared on Late Rooms. As was stated then we are fully aware of the need for renovation, if the reviewer can advise us how we paint a building of this size without using Sky Hooks or scaffolding please let us know!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be a great place. The staff were helpful from the word go. Are room was a great size, clean and tidy and everything you really need. The breakfast the next morning was also very good, plenty of well cooked food. For a decent room and great breakfast you can't it, plus location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jembaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ripon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Bed & Breakfast

Property: White Horse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 61 North Street, Ripon HG4 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms and HRS so you can book your White Horse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing