We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”

Newby Hall and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A fantastic family day out. Amazing Adventure Playground, Spectacular Gardens and Elegant Georgian House. Restaurant & Shop..the perfect place to meet up with friends and family
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Loverly place to take children although very expensive if you include a guided tour of the house.£14 entry fee.gardens £9.do take a picnic as the cost of a meal in the restaurant is very pricey although very nice.lots of activities for the children .The little train ride around the ground is a must.This house and gardens are impossible to get to if you don't own a car as there is no regular bus service from Ripon. And there is a long walk from the village along the drive to the house.other wise a brilliant day out for the family.

Helpful?
1 Thank thweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    159
    31
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was fortunate to get a half price ticket for my family to visit both the gardens and hall. We took the children's tour of the hall and thought the two guides were great and really engaged with the kids. Whilst I thought paying an additional fee of £1.80 per person for the train ride was expensive after paying an entrance fee, we really did love it, and it was a fantastic opportunity to sit back, relax and soak in the atmosphere of Newby hall and gardens. The kids loved the play area and the boat ride and thankfully the water feature was working before we left so they had a chance to get soaked before we went home. Can't wait to return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens - good variety of activities for children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I really like Newby Hall and Gardens. The season ticket offer of £22 for an adult is a really good deal. I often take young children here and they always have a great time. The gardens are beautiful, a great woodland sculpture walk, play park, boat rides and the brilliant train ride (extra payment of £1.80 per person). The picnic area is very spacious, however it always seems crazy to me that you have to come out of Newby to have your picnic at lunchtime and then go back in. Generally I have always found the service from staff to be very good, but do have two small criticisms from my latest visit. The ladies on the entrance did not know how to work the computerised system and I had to wait for quite a while. A little staff training here would perhaps solve this problem. Also, it is great that you are now serving takeaway teas and coffees at the railway shop, however the service was poor, what I would expect from a roadside cafe and not the lovely Newby Hall. A highly recommended place to visit for everyone!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joy798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We went to Newby Hall and Gardens as a family with children aged 2-12 with us as well as grandparents. It was a fantastic day!! Got there at 11 and stayed till 5! Kids were entertained all day with all the outdoor activities. It was a lovely sunny day so it did get busy in the afternoon but there's plenty to do! Managed a stroll in the gardens too which are kept to an amazing standard. It's a little pricey if I'm honest to get in and in the cafe to eat but you can at least see that your entrance fees are used to maintain the venue. The day we went their water play area was broken which was disappointing as the kids were really looking forward to it, but the staff were friendly and apologetic and gave us a discount on entry. Would definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Natascia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“excellent day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a lovely day here. It seemed a bit expensive at first £14.20 per adult but for this you get a guided tour of the hall and opportunity to explore the gardens at leisure with plenty to do for the kids. The house is stunning with its Adams interiors and Chippendale furniture. The guides are very knowledgeable and friendly. The gardens are beautiful leading down to the river with plenty places to sit and soak up the tranquil atmosphere. We went on the woodland walk which has accessible paths that are wheelchair and buggy friendly and where there was a sculpture trail at this time. (different events throughout the year, see website) There is a restaurant overlooking the lawns serving meals or afternoon teas (do try the excellent summer pudding), a gift shop and toilets. For the little ones there is an adventure playground, a water park and boating. There is also a mini train for an extra charge that runs through the grounds for children and adults alike. Parking is good and there is a large picnic area too adjacent to the car park. The historic town of Ripon is nearby and also the Yorkshire dales national park. This is an excellent day out with plenty to see and do so arrive early.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorri855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newby Hall and Gardens also viewed

 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Newby Hall and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing