We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn(Ripon)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$472
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The BW Crown Hotel(Boroughbridge)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
390
268
93
43
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
390
268
93
43
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar bistrocroquet lawnfaded grandeurtraditional hoteldog friendly hotelsome tlca bit tiredlovely hotellovely groundssunday lunchtown centrethree nightsfountains abbeytwin roombreakfast was excellentweekend breakevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

2 out of 10 for this tired place. Dirty stained head boards on the bed, rotten windows,dogs barking in the hotel, noisy guests banging doors and shouting down corridors well after midnight, food just about ok. Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Oh dear! I had hoped that you would have replied to my email with the date of your stay and room number so we could have investigated properly. We are so sorry you had this experience and our MD, Samantha, would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your review in person, so do please get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Ripon Spa Hotel is a superb traditional venue to host a 50th Wedding Anniversary. The park and lawns surrounding the hotel are enchanting, a visual ;pleasure. The large dining room and secondary rooms provide air and space and comfort. Our meal was outstandingly good. And just as good was the waiter/waitress service who were quick, polite and anxious to give their best. The hotel and catering management staff obviously had lots of experience since everything went like clockwork. There is a wonderful quiet rapport between staff and their clients - quite exceptional in these unusual times. One is aware that there is no time pressure and every request is dealt with quickly and extremely effectively. Whatever the function it would be very difficult to get a better venue or better service. And all at a very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on this point since it was a wedding anniversary
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your review - it was a great party! Rita and her team are delighted to have helped deliver your perfect golden wedding celebrations, congratulations again from everyone at the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have always wanted to visit Fountains Abbey a National Trust place near to Ripon Spa Hotel. We chose the Ripon Spa as it was close by and what a lucky find it was. It was a lovely surprise to walk in the room and find a four poster bed. The room was spotless and the bath towels were exactly that and not the size of a tea towel. We booked dinner at the Hotel and the food was excellent as was the breakfast. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 19Susan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is the tenth time we have organised a weekend holiday for Country Dance aficionados. We booked 60 places and as usual, the staff looked after us very well. We had dinner on Friday and Saturday evenings, with a full menu choice both times. Breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday were self service, and plentiful, with a wide choice of good quality, well-cooked local foods. In addition, we had morning coffee and home-made biscuits, a soup and sandwich style lunch and afternoon tea and biscuits. The hotel has an excellent, well maintained ballroom floor, which suits our needs perfectly. The feedback we have received as organisers, has been excellent. Staff are always helpful and accommodate individual needs willingly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review and your continued loyalty to the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming your group back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic 2 weeks at the hotel with my 2 boys, my husband and the dog. The room was ideal for all of us very clean and comfortable beds and spacious, the service we received was outstanding could not fault it, the staff were outstanding, very friendly and family orientated, food in the turf bar was fantastic, the staff were outstanding very friendly couldn't fault the food at all.
My 2 boys felt at home staying at the hotel to the point that they didn't want to leave.

Thank you so much to all the staff at the Ripon spa hotel you all made my stay at the hotel the best experience ever.

I would recommend this hotel to any one visiting Ripon and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

It was our pleasure to provide a “home from home” to you whilst yours was undergoing renovation – hope the workmen left it clean and tidy! Do pop in any time - we will always have cheese on the menu for a certain young man!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews