We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

just stayed for 3 nights, excellent hotel, stayed here last year at the same time, mainly used hotel because it is dog friendly. Excellent reception staff. Turf Bistro food excellent but not much choice on the special 2 course menu.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garygilberdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for your review and your return custom. Our 2 course special menu, which changes daily and offers a choice of 3 starters, mains and puds, is proving extremely popular at only £10.50. However we do appreciate that it might not suit everyone and I am sure an alternative could have been found. Hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    242
    82
    40
    14
See reviews for
121
356
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant two night break at the Ripon Spa Hotel. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean and the food in the Turf Bistro is of excellent quality, very well presented and good value for money.
The hotel staff are without exception professional, helpful and friendly. We love staying here!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for your heartfelt review and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed there from 13/1/14 up to today, 15/1/14

The hotel was lovely, clean, tidy and we had a fantastic stay. The staff were all lovely, the food in the Bistro bar was gorgeous, and the atmosphere in there was welcoming and warm, with a lovely open fire. The gentleman serving in there was really smashing with a great sense of humour.

The room was a really good size, with separate bath/wc/shower, and spotless. I am really pleased that the hotel has retained its originality, with wooden window frames etc. I personally, think this is all part of its charm, and it was certainly not cold at all.

Grounds, stunning, staff fantastic, overall, we couldn't have wished for a better hotel stay.

Oh, and lets not forget the resident dog, Phoebe......just gorgeous!

A huge Thank you to everyone there for making this stay a very very pleasurable one, and we shall always stay with you whenever we come up to Yorkshire.

Diane And Steve (room 14)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrel2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Phoebe sends her best wishes! And thanks also from all the rest of the staff, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for one night and attended a wedding and I was very happy with the hotel as a whole! Clean rooms, friendly staff and the grounds were fantastic.
The open fire in the bar was a nice touch and really enjoyed sipping away and enjoying the warm fire.

Room Tip: Small double rooms are a good option to save money as the room was still big enough for 2 adults :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumsiemum90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thanks, it was great to start off the New Year with a such a lovely wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Had a lovely stay here with my wife and daughter new years eve and new years day. Very freindly and accomadating staff. Good size rooms, large bathroom. Quiet, but nice bar with open fire, and a loung area also with open fire. Very nice buffet breakfast. Set in nice well kept grounds. Overall great hotel, and may be returning in March 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed seeing in the New Year at the hotel. Hope to see you again in March and don’t forget to check out our website for some great special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Independent hotel on edge of city centre. We got a fee upgrade to a superior Tom that was huge and came with an equally large bathroom. Restaurant closed on day of our stay but we ate in the lounge bar. Good quality plain cooking and generous portions. Theakston's real ale in this bar.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Starcrossjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

What a gem by no means "little" expansive range of Public Rooms all beautifully decorated & ornate. Present owners have attempted to keep this traditional with little touches to enhance your stay. All staff very very attentive and helpfull. Did not partake of the Dining facilities available but the breakfast was superb lots of extras such as kippers, Smoked salmon were on offer.We made a last minute decision to visit Fountains Abbey plus stay over. On both counts we were winners Fountains Abbey was enjoyable, but our stay at Ripon Spa was excellent.
Will stay here again great location for the Races, Tour De France base or just to break your journey. Sat Nav works well but perhaps the new road layout could be shown on web side plus how near you are to the Baths would assist finding this location.

Only negative point to be picky was limited choice beer & lager lack "Real Ales" forgot to mention to reception if this was under review with possible chance of guest ales

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have four Posters, others views of the extensive gardens, we stayed on second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JefandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
It’s good to know that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the tip about our web map. We have featured guest ales in the past and should certainly consider them again. If you do decide to come racing in Ripon, I would recommend you take advantage of our great deal on race badges, 2 for the price of 1, when you book direct with us - but don’t delay rooms sell fast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
366 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
642 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Property: The Ripon Spa Hotel
Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing