We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daughters Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Daughters Wedding”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Ripon Spa Hotel is an excellent venue to host a Wedding. The outside terrace, park and lawns adjoining the hotel are charming, wonderful for pictures. The large dining room/ballroom and adjoining rooms provide lots comfortable areas for the guests to relax and enjoy themselves in. Our meal was truly excellent. The staff worked tirelessly to provide everything that was needed, all staff dealt with every request, courteously and extremely quickly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Everything went like clockwork. Whatever the function it would be very difficult to get a better venue or better service. Stayed over night in a really nice room with a nice large bathroom, the room over looked the gardens, breakfast the next morning was again excellent.
Not only did the staff have all the guest to look after they also looked after the Shepherd Brass band from York who were performing a wonderful concert for the guest in the garden on a very hot day, the staff made sure that they were well catered for, providing cold drinks at all times.
We had a truly wonderful day, all made possible by the management and staff of the Spa Hotel. The room used for the wedding reception looked truly superb, the grounds are beautiful and the food excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Congratulations to the happy couple and thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear that everything was perfect for your daughter’s wedding and hopefully we shall have some great photographs to display on our website very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    240
    82
    40
    14
See reviews for
121
351
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My wife arranged a birthday treat for me at the Ripon Spa Hotel. We have stayed here before and once again I was not disappointed. The price for 2 nights B&B was very good , it included a £25 voucher for food in the bistro. The staff were very attentive at all time without being intrusive. Good all round break.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Our 2 night summer special makes the ideal birthday treat and glad to hear you had a great time - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were guests on saturday at the Spa Hotel for a wedding reception. We had a wonderful day. The food was excellent and the room looked wonderful.
And with it's beautiful grounds I would recommend the Spa as a perfect venue for your big day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GILLIANR426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We have received so many compliments regarding the wedding last Saturday - thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for the weekend of the Tour de France so the room prices had been hiked up considerably but it was the same everywhere. Price aside, the hotel was really lovely - clean and comfortable room with a view over the beautiful and extensive grounds, fantastic breakfast and a wonderful evening meal in the restaurant. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the service was good. It was perfect to be able to relax outside on the terrace after the excitement of le Tour. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
You had to experience Le Tour in person to appreciate the excitement and the great atmosphere in Ripon and Yorkshire in general. All the staff enjoyed wearing their yellow t-shirts and getting to grips with our week long French menu! A warm welcome awaits you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have been to the Spa a number of times with family who live in Ripon. This was the first
time we had stayed there. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the food was very good.
Our rooms were all very clean and ours had a lovely view over the gardens.
Yes it is in need of a little LTC and it takes you back in time with the décor but the
service we received you could not fault. the Wood family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Wood Family

Thank you for your review and we hope it will be the first of many stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

So first impressions are of a grand, victorian style building with all the trimmings, then you walk into your room.......

The hotel is in desperate need of updating and TLC. My room was £80 B&B and really not worth that, I've stayed in much nicer hotels for cheaper.

My room was very Chintzy, the bed was like a brick, would have been comfier on the floor, very warm room, no air con and old wooden decayed windows that you struggled to open and when you did you couldn't shut.

On its own the bedroom was bearable but the bathroom was terrible...
Old black and white lino flooring with large brown stains from many peoples feet, the floor was soft where the wood underneath was decaying, broken loose tiles, mouldy grouting, ancient shower, paintwork faded, extremely loud toilet cistern. Just generally poor standard.

Wake up Ripon Spa, you can't charge people the prices you are and show so much disregard for their expectations.

Won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are so sorry we let you down and wish to assure you we do pay particular regard to guest expectations and would have done everything within our power, given the opportunity, to have resolved your grievances at the time of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have stayed at the Ripon Spa Hotel a number of times - each time different - each time good. This visit was the two evenings prior to Le tour visiting Ripon. All communications prior to the stay were polite and friendly and when we arrived reception was very good. Our room, although not large, was very clean and even on a dull Thursday afternoon was flooded with light. We had windows with unobstructed view of the beautiful gardens and seats next to the window to help us appreciate the view!
Breakfast and dinner were well cooked, beautifully presented and hot - but you need to have a good appetite as the portions were, for us, a little large!
The staff kindly allowed us to leave our car in the car park all day Saturday whilst we watched Le Tour and one of the highlights of our stay was sitting on the beautiful terrace overlooking the gardens eating a bar meal in the late afternoon sunshine.
The Ripon Spa is quirky - every room we have had has been different - yes it is a little dated - but speaks of an era of elegance - yes there are some bits that need a little new paint - but if you allow it to wrap itself round you with its peace and the beauty of its gardens and give you a cuddle you might be able to forgive those things.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
What a lovely and honest review! Thank you from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
18.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Property: The Ripon Spa Hotel
Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing