We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ripon Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Last minute break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

After a rather busy time, we were ready for a relaxing break. The hotel is set in extensive and beautiful gardens and very convenient for Ripon's restaurants and shops. Although, as mentioned by a previous reviewer, the decor is rather tired, our room was very comfortable and we had a great view of the gardens and croquet lawns. We didn't dine in the hotel but breakfast was adequate - the local sausages were particularly good, The staff were all friendly and helpful. Fountains Abbey is a short drive away and with the lovely weather we were able to spend a very enjoyable day there. In the evening we walked into Ripon to see the Hornblower setting the watch, What a wonderful entertainer George Pickles, Hornblower since 2004, is! I would certainly recommend the hotel to friends and look forward to another stay there in the future.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing stairs or squeezing into a very small lift the 2nd floor rooms overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
It certainly sounds as if you had a very relaxing break. Setting the watch by George, the Hornblower, is definitely one Ripon tradition not to be missed! Thanks for your review and recommending us to your friends, see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    237
    79
    37
    14
See reviews for
120
341
23
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I enjoy staying at this hotel. Staff always pleasent, engageing and helpful. Wonderful gardens and quite a sun trap for drinks or tea. Several dining opportunities and very popular with special occasion lunches and dinners. Decor is a little tired but refurbishment is in progress and unobtusive. My wife has only one irritation and that is the location of the loo roll in the en-suite which is right by one's right shoulder and frequently knocked off. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chivesdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Summer has arrived at last and our terrace and gardens are the perfect place to sit and enjoy a drink and something to eat. We shall certainly take a look at the ensuite and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Ripon Spa Hotel is an excellent venue to host a Wedding. The outside terrace, park and lawns adjoining the hotel are charming, wonderful for pictures. The large dining room/ballroom and adjoining rooms provide lots comfortable areas for the guests to relax and enjoy themselves in. Our meal was truly excellent. The staff worked tirelessly to provide everything that was needed, all staff dealt with every request, courteously and extremely quickly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Everything went like clockwork. Whatever the function it would be very difficult to get a better venue or better service. Stayed over night in a really nice room with a nice large bathroom, the room over looked the gardens, breakfast the next morning was again excellent.
Not only did the staff have all the guest to look after they also looked after the Shepherd Brass band from York who were performing a wonderful concert for the guest in the garden on a very hot day, the staff made sure that they were well catered for, providing cold drinks at all times.
We had a truly wonderful day, all made possible by the management and staff of the Spa Hotel. The room used for the wedding reception looked truly superb, the grounds are beautiful and the food excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KD218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Congratulations to the happy couple and thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear that everything was perfect for your daughter’s wedding and hopefully we shall have some great photographs to display on our website very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My wife arranged a birthday treat for me at the Ripon Spa Hotel. We have stayed here before and once again I was not disappointed. The price for 2 nights B&B was very good , it included a £25 voucher for food in the bistro. The staff were very attentive at all time without being intrusive. Good all round break.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Our 2 night summer special makes the ideal birthday treat and glad to hear you had a great time - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were guests on saturday at the Spa Hotel for a wedding reception. We had a wonderful day. The food was excellent and the room looked wonderful.
And with it's beautiful grounds I would recommend the Spa as a perfect venue for your big day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GILLIANR426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We have received so many compliments regarding the wedding last Saturday - thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for the weekend of the Tour de France so the room prices had been hiked up considerably but it was the same everywhere. Price aside, the hotel was really lovely - clean and comfortable room with a view over the beautiful and extensive grounds, fantastic breakfast and a wonderful evening meal in the restaurant. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the service was good. It was perfect to be able to relax outside on the terrace after the excitement of le Tour. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
You had to experience Le Tour in person to appreciate the excitement and the great atmosphere in Ripon and Yorkshire in general. All the staff enjoyed wearing their yellow t-shirts and getting to grips with our week long French menu! A warm welcome awaits you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have been to the Spa a number of times with family who live in Ripon. This was the first
time we had stayed there. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the food was very good.
Our rooms were all very clean and ours had a lovely view over the gardens.
Yes it is in need of a little LTC and it takes you back in time with the décor but the
service we received you could not fault. the Wood family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Wood Family

Thank you for your review and we hope it will be the first of many stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Property: The Ripon Spa Hotel
Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing