We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One star is generous”
Review of Blackamoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blackamoor Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Ripon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Both times that I have tried this venue the service has been appalling. Our first outing here was for lunch which is meant to be served between 12 and 2pm. My husband, son and myself arrived at 13.40 and after getting him out of the car saw the chef in the car park and asked if they were still serving, he replied with a very positive yes go inside and we will get you sorted. On entering and asking for a table we were told by Jake the owners son, that they had stopped serving. after pointing gout the time on there own clock and informing him that the chef had just said in the car park it was ok to serve us he sharply went into the back for confirmation. He came out with a menu without apologising. At this point I wanted to leave but stayed to prove our point that it was serving times. The only positive thing about here was the food was delightful, however after finishing our main course we were not offered a dessert just presented with the bill.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Blackamoor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for the first time for 3 nights before going on to goathland for sixties weekend. We had a lovely room on ground floor very clean as is the whole of the Blackamoor Amanda and Andrew very welcoming. Food is excellent we ate here every night we kept saying we would try somewhere else just for a change but food was so good with a large choice we ate there instead as we knew it would be good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful . if you need hairdryer take one with you as none in room didn't matter to me as I have short hair and don't need one.we will definitely stay here again when in this area again. Thank you for wonderful stay.

.

Room Tip: We stayed in ground floor room and if you have any health problems it is very good as there are rail...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 275happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The quiet location and country views make the Blackamoor Inn an ideal retreat. Only a short distance to the town of Ripon. A friendly welcome. Well appointed, spotlessly clean room. Good choice of reasonably priced meals; well cooked and tasty. Splendid breakfast. Good range of beverages; again competitively priced. Large car park. Well worth a visit if you're in the area.

Room Tip: We had a front room with splendid country views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulusP2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a great 2 day stay at the Blackamoor Inn. Lovely accommodation, great food and excellent beer. What more could you ask for - well what about fantastic people that run and work there!! L

We have family living near by so will be back again - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Absolutely Text Book - Food from the restaurant was quality, Bedrooms neat, clean and very presentable. Owners and staff genuinely friendly and were so accommodating and helpful. Felt so at home during our weekend stay. Would and will go back again at a drop of a hat.

Room Tip: They only have 5 rooms, so book early!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robriekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Lovely inn, easy to find and lots of parking. The young woman behind the bar also was the receptionist and the perfect person to give a first impression, very friendly and helpful.
The room was at the front of the inn and overlooked the road with open fields beyond but was pretty quiet.
The decor was lovely, traditional but with contemporary touches. A bit cluttered with ornaments used to dress the room - would take a few out and make a bit more space. There was only one bedside lamp as the kettle was on the other bedside table and I missed not having one.

The downside was the bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept - or in this case not slept in. Also the pillows and duvet were feather, which wasn't mentioned and we are both sensitive too - woke our feeling like we had bad colds.

We ate in the restaurant and I ordered the seafood pancake to start, expecting a nice little pancake with seafood inside and a delicate sauce - noooooo. This was arrived piping hot straight from the oven where it had been baked to death. Prawns so hard I couldn't eat them, some really dried up salmon all in a heavy tomato sauce and somewhere in the middle was some stodge that turned out to be the pancake. I didn't eat it and to be fair, there was no fuss, just a genuine apology and it was taken off the bill. Needs taking off the menu too though. Main was sea bass and was lovely and beautifully cooked. Breakfast was excellent.

Staff are very good, inn is lovely and it's clean but unless they changed the beds and bedding, sadly we wouldn't be staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotLainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Having dined at the Blackamoor many times over the last several years, decided to revisit for lunch for the first time since the pub had been closed for refurbishment and now has new owners. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, but the food was not as good as it used to be. There was a long wait for our food to arrive - fish and chips - and the chunky chips were far too chunky. They were too hard in the middle and lacked flavour. The hot chocolate pudding was barely warm, although it was nice and moist. There is a massive choice on the menus, almost too much, and maybe one day we might return to sample their early bird menu to see if our lunch was just a glitch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ripon hotels
1.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
472 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
370 reviews
9.5 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
4.9 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackamoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackamoor Inn

Address: Boroughbridge Road, Ripon HG4 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range: £68 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackamoor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blackamoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing