We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best hotel and Best customer relations ever !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Last week my wife took me to Swinton Park at Masham for my 50th Birthday, we have stayed here before and we had also been to the al fresco days out in the past. As we had stayed in the Masham room (which has wonderful views) my wife had us booked into the room below so that we would have the same view but with a different room. As per normal the room was wonderful and to round it off there was a birthday card and chocolates on the bedside table which was a very nice touch.
My wife thought that she would take a little picnic and we would go and picnic at one of the ponds in the grounds. The weather was lovely and we sat and watched the deer and swans in the field opposite.
In the evening we had a complementry Gin and tonic from the bar in the room, followed by a lovely meal in the bar.
After we went to bed there was some noise from another group of people staying in the hotel, but the next morning customer relations stepped in and resolved the issue perfectly.
To conclude my review I would just like to thank everyone at Swinton Park for such a lovely stay. We are very lucky as a family to travel the world and stay in lovely hotels but Swinton Park is well up there with the best and the staff are by far the best.
Thank You
Paul & Janet Griffiths

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myfavebench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,204 - 1,210 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

we arrived at swinton park early evening to a very impressive drive up through the gates to the hotel where we were promptly met , our luggage taken out of the car and taken to reception and checked in , after a breif but full outline of the hotel we were shown to a beautiful room , the harrogate what can i say simply amazing , the detail and extra touches in the rooms made it feel special.dinner in samuels restaurant was impressive, food and especially the staff, we were served coffee in the drawing room in very comfortable suroundings. the only thing to slightly let this hotel down was the cooked breakfast not to the standard of the rest of our visit to swinton park . saying that though we shall be returning in october to get married.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynensueosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We (15 of us) stayed at swinton park last weekend to celebrate the golden wedding of my in-laws. what a fantastic setting, the staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was beautifully presented and tasted fabulous. Any issues were dealt with promptly and professionally, Including a room change. We all enjoyed ourselves and would all love to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

A wonderful hotel that that welcomes children and pampers grown-ups!!. Although Swinton Park is a high-end hotel, with beautiful rooms, a spa and fine dining restaurant (meals are also served in the bar, or in rooms) it doesn't feel pretentious at all. All of the porters introduce themselves very informally on arrival and are there to help with absolutely anything that you might want or need. Children's meals are served in the bar, lounge or in your room and little people get their own robes, slippers and goodie bags. The grounds are beautiful and picnics can be provided on request. Bikes and scooters are available to borrow from the boot room for little ones, and there is a children's playroom for when the weathers not so good.

Room Tip: The Bradford Room was wonderful.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMarti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We were given a wine appreciation lunch voucher as a gift and decided to stay for the weekend. We were not disappointed, the room and bathroom were wonderful, the food excellent and the service outstanding. The staff were a real credit to the hotel and I noticed a display on a wall praising the length of service of their staff at the hotel and I can understand why they stay. The surroundings are beautiful, peaceful and the organisation works together like a well oiled machine. Nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: There are photos on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathYorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Sitting in the middle of its massive grounds, Swinton Park is beyond sounds of traffic and the hubbub of daily life. The picture perfect building and emerald surrounds are only interrupted by the distant utterings of the roaming ducks and their chicks as they fall dutifully into line.The staff are slick and helpful with luggage delivered to our massive suite, The Wesleydale Room. The suite is large enough to bring up a family and is furnished with furniture of the era - 1800s.
The drawing room and bar are welcoming as are those who work in them. The restaurant is truly fine dining in a baronial dining room with high ceiling and massive fireplace and views of the beautifully ordered grounds. The cheese plate is of Yorkshires finest, fully explained by an enthusiastic waiter who clearly enjoys his vocation.
While lacking the suave sophistication of the Savoy, its slightly faded glory is warm and charming. All its facilities, wifi in the drawing room, bathrooms etc. are clean and in perfect working order.
The staff are helpful, parking the car and providing good advice as to appreciating the exquisite Yorkshire Dales and its picturesque villages.
Swinton Park is a must for all who enjoy a rare type of bucolic charm.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I love Swinton Park - we got married here and like to return when we can. The staff are very friendly and helpful - the porter who welcomed us (and parked our car) even remembered us from before (over a year ago). Our room had spectacular views and was beautiful, clean and with the most comfortable bed we have slept in that isn't our own. We booked a baby sitter through the hotel (CRB checked) and went to the restaurant for the first evening. We had the taster menu - fantastic - about 10 small courses giving a wonderful selection of flavours and textures. It was all very good but we both thought the Quail was exceptional. Lovely breakfast - good choice of cooked breakfast dishes as well as a selection of cold meats and cheese, cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and even bloody Marys. The spa was clean and well stocked with fresh towels, robes and toiletries. Room service the second night with our little one - again excellent food.
The grounds are beautiful, quiet and relaxing with loads of room for the little one to run around. Lots of wildlife to see and a bird of prey centre. Perfect - can't wait to go again

Room Tip: Book spa time before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsNAButcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
798 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
484 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
24.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
15.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: £163 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing