We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GORGEOUS AFTERNOON TEA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I took some friends to Swinton Park for a Champagne Afternoon Tea and we all had the most special time from arriving into the grounds which were beautiful and looking round the Walled Kitchen Garden and sitting in the Lounge the service was excellent being greeted with a glass of champagne followed by the most delicious afternoon tea sandwiches cut into fingers beautiful selection of cakes and scones cream and jam with choices of tea. All my friends were very impressed and it was a very memorable afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,182 - 1,188 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

We have recently just come back from a Romantic weekend package holiday at this hotel. It was amazing from beginning to end. The staff bent over backwards to help us, the food was excellence the room service outstanding. the food was amazing.
A truly amazing experience. If you want to surprise that special someone in your life i would highly highly recommend the romantic break package.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra and get the york suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kadaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, the staff at Swinton Park couldn’t do enough for us. The setting and the ambience of the Hotel made the whole experience a very relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable experience.

As we passed through the gate house and drove up to the striking turreted stately home in its beautiful garden settings we knew we were in for something a little special, and we weren’t let down.

We were greeted at the reception, our bags were taken out of the car, the car was valet parked. Once we had booked in we were given a mini tour on the way to our room. I might add that the hotel is a bit of a labyrinth, so if you like exploring old houses; you’re in for a treat.

Our room is what you would imagine in an old stately home, big beautiful rooms, big beds, and beautiful views across the endless estate acres. The finish and cleanliness could not be faulted.

The cuisine from afternoon tea, to our evening meal to our breakfast the following morning was all first class. All the members of staff we met were charming and multi-cultural as well, from Hungarian’s, to Romanian’s and Lithuanian’s all with excellent English who could not be more obliging.

My wife had a spa treatment in the afternoon – which I’m led to believe was very relaxing and very enjoyable.

Swinton Park is set in beautiful grounds which are so peaceful and easy to roam, and what could be better than after a hearty breakfast walking to the Top Lake where you can take in serene views and breath taking vista.

Top marks Swinton Park

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stressfreedurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

As first time visitors to the UK we endured London, loved Bath and weren't so keen on Birmingham so it was a delight to arrive at this fantastic "hotel" in the middle of such a beautiful countryside.

We were in a business group of 40+ people and despite the numbers you almost felt like you personally "owned" the place yourself. Staff were extremely attentive and accommodating. Rooms were all different because of the nature of the hotel but we were all more than satisfied with our spacious and quiet accommodation...fit for a king or queen. The Spa was booked out - obviously by diligent locals!! But we enjoyed the private Jacuzzi and Sauna area instead which you can book as a couple for an hour.

The grounds are a MUST to investigate, beautiful lakes, wildlife, old ruins and so much history you couldn't possibly be bored plus much more to explore outside the facility as well. The inhouse restaurant (requires a booking) is first class and was the best we experienced in the UK - we chose one of the 3 tasting menus on offer.

There is a cooking school here that caters for adults and children and looks fab.

It was such a joy to stay at this fabulous establishment and I really was reluctant to leave! If you like to get away from the maddening crowds then this is the place for you! Loved it and hope to return with our daughter some day. Personally I would be comfortable taking my 8yr daughter here. She is used to eating at high end restaurants and doesn't run about but if you have an active rabble they might need to be sent bush...for the other guests sake. Beautiful surroundings, impeccable facilities, simply fantastic.

Room Tip: Apparently the
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondini65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My Husband and I spent a 2 day romantic break here, wow it was amazing, arrived in our room bottle of chilled champers and strawberries dipped in chocolate, the room was stunning, very very clean and beautiful furnishings, real luxury. The staff were really amazing and we wanted for nothing, we never had to ask for a thing as we had almost personal service , to say it was fantastic is a understatement. cant reccomend swinton park enough, cant wait to go back.
Mrs and Mrs Bickers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank progg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We enjoyed effortless and genuine hospitality from being greeted by name at the front door on arrival to saying goodbye at the end of an enjoyable and memorable stay. At first sight, the hotel appears more like a castle, standing in beautiful grounds and approached by a sweeping driveway. It is a magnificent old building, housing only 30 bedrooms and about as far from a 'formula' hotel as one could get! Our room ('Headingley') was spacious, clean and had huge sash windows overlooking the parkland. Our bed was insanely comfortable and HUGE! Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and the service suberb, even the dining room with its period Victorian features and delightful aspect deserves a mention. The staff helped to make our stay special, being friendly and informative as required. We wandered round the gardens, admired the resident birds of prey and generally wished that we had more time to explore a little further. Rarely do we return to a hotel, but we intend to make an exception with Swinton Park and perhaps bring the kids next time! Simply a top hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlkleyTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I recently attended a wedding reception with my wife at Swinton Park.
I was a designated driver and travelling back to Bradford later that evening however in all the excitement I decided to have a few drinks and then required a room so off my wife went to see if there were any rooms free that evening......
Obviously being very last minute and they did not have a room but instead of apologising like most hotels they got straight on the phone and after 20 mins of calling all the local hotels and b&b's they finally got us a room and is if that was not good enough the staff even drove my car down to the other hotel and offered a complementary mini bus to take us there at 11pm as there was no taxis running that eve, JUST WOW!!
Iv never been subject to such fantastic service so please visit this fantastic hotel and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonhaddow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
793 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
478 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: £166 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing