We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Yorkshire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Staying in this hotel is like walking into the pages of a British novel -- drawing rooms, fabulous grounds, croquet courts, wonderful suites. I absolutely loved it. The rest of our group stayed the first night at the Unicorn Hotel in Ripon (that's a whole other review!) that I wouldn't stay in if it was free. Swinton Park is a castle!! every room is decorated differently, and the accommodations are luxurious. We had a private dinner party the second night and it felt like we were dining in our own home....if we had a butler at home! If you are in the area, there is nowhere else to stay. I hope to go back again one day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickieB324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
There are newer reviews for Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Have stayed here quite a few times and is one of our favourite hotels, last time we stayed I was ill on the journey to the hotel so had to return home.My husband phoned hotel to cancel about midday on the day of arrival and instead of losing the cost of the room for the night they said as long as we returned in the next 3 months we wouldn't lose any money, not even the deposit which I doubt would happen at many hotels .
This time we came with my parents to celebrate their golden wedding anniversary they stayed in the Wensleydale suite which was huge with lovely views over the lake, the sitting room has a large dining table which we used the following morning for breakfast. We stayed in the Scarbrough room which had a large bathroom with a bath on a raised floor so you can look out over the grounds, which was different! Only problem was that there was alot of noise from people talking on the corridor and stairs outside the room so probably wouldn't choose this room.
Luckily the weather was ok so sat outside for lunch and enjoyed the views over the lakes and grounds. It is well worth a walk upto at least the first lake (about 10/15 min walk) where you will pass the deer as well as the bird of prey avairy.
The food in the restaurant is excellent and is on a par with michelin starred restaurants and the restaurant itself is one of the nicest I've dined in has a real wow factor as has the drawing room which is a must for a pre-dinner drink- this was our only disappointment as when we were there the drawing room was closed for redecoration, if it had just been me and my husband it wouldn't have mattered but as this was a special occasion for my parents and I had being planning this for months as a surprise present , a big plus for this hotel was the drawing room as they would have loved it. So it spoiled it a bit and I really wish the hotel had informed me before hand so I had the option to stay a different night.
But overall it won't stop us returning.

Room Tip: Would recommend Wensleydale suite
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOOLS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We've just returned from a night at Swinton Park for my birthday, staying in a stunning room and enjoying dinner in Samuel's Restaurant.
Everything about the trip - from booking right through to departure, was excellent. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was stunning, with facilities that were second to none. Extra little touches such as a birthday card and chocolates (they had enquired about the reason for our stay when we booked) added to the magic of the experience. The grounds are delightful - from the sprawling walled garden full of produce for the restaurant and glorious flowers (available to buy from reception), to the lakes and deer park. We enjoyed a relaxing hour or so in the billiard room, which includes a full size snooker table as well as table tennis and lots of other options for adults and children! The food in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast was excellent.
I cannot praise the hotel and staff enough - although not cheap by any standards, it was well worth every penny for a truly relaxing luxury experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is a wonderful hotel, that has beautiful rooms, lovely relaxing areas, and a wonderful set of gardens to explore. Its also set in a faboulous park of North Yorkshire, within reach of the Yorkshire dales, North Yorkshire Moors and fine towns like York and Harrogate. In my opinion the food is slighly expensive for what you get, but the hotel surroundings still make it a lovely experience.
All the rooms are lovely, even the less premium ones. All are high quality, with nice touches like complimentary G&Ts.
We always stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_UKBoroTomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a family celebration. All the staff we encountered were most helpful before, during and after our stay. The hotel was chosen for its comfort, surroundings, high standards and friendly staff and we were not disappointed.
The grounds are superb and very well maintained and there are many activities available.
We will be staying again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have a particularly nice view
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was an excellent hotel with no compromise on quality or customer care in every department.

We liked most the opportunity to walk round the extensive grounds; we liked least having to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoinvestigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were here for a wedding, as was everybody else in the hotel. The extensive grounds are perfect for exploring or just chilling-out. A bonus was the Falconry enclosure where many birds of prey were on display.

Everything was planned to perfection; the food was superb and the service first-class.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and the complimentary whisky was a welcome surprise. The standard of cleanliness could not be improved upon.

A wonderful weekend was had by all. Very highly recommended. AAA+++

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utnapishtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
472 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
24.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
24.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: £157 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing