We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just keep coming back”
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We just keep coming back”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We first came to Swinton Park in 2003 after we were married as a mini honeymoon. The staff were fabulous and although we asked repeatedly for champagne and flowers in the room, these never materialised! It is a gorgeous hotel and we have come back most years since to celebrate our anniversary. The service has got better and better over the years and is now second to none.

If you stay here it would be a travesty if you didn't have dinner one night. It is the most magnificent food that I have ever tasted.

We have stayed with our son in a travel cot and the facilities for small children are brilliant. There are so many activities that you can do here and the location is fabulous. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelpfulMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    162
    58
    16
    14
See reviews for
196
800
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Thought that we would splurge and be pampered. Weren't we just!

Cant wait to go back
Excellent food, excellent staff. Avoid weddings if you can

Room Tip: We stayed in Harrogate, excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cracklehillhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We loved everything about this place.
Firstly it is an imposing castle-like building in very extensive grounds - but it is not stuffy, and is very well-kept and in good order. It is elegant and stately.
The service is exemplary throughout. We loved the deer park and the lake.
The public rooms and corridors are very impressive. We spent a very pleasant hour in the private spa, which you book to have all to yourselves.
The dining room and food are terrific - we enjoyed a great dinner, and the breakfast was top class.
Our room - Masham - was large, beautifully furnished, very comfortable, light and airy, and had lovely views of the deer park and lake. We had a good night's rest.
If this kind of style and standards redolent of an earlier time suit you, you would find them here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cityh0pper7_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Our 3rd trip to Swinton Park and still can't find a single fault. This is simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

Everything from the welcome on arrival to the fantastic accommodation and food is perfect. Nothing is ever too much trouble and they try so hard to please.

If you want to spend a couple of nights away and come home completely relaxed and refreshed I can't recommend anywhere better in the world.

Room Tip: We have tried 3 and they are were all fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We have just returned from our second visit to Swinton Park. In May we stayed at the Four Seasons Hampshire and are agreed that we should have returned here instead , it's that good. It's so relaxing , the setting delightful and the staff are without equal. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I honestly struggle to think of a more lovely place to stay, from the many hundreds of hotels I've visited over the years.

From the moment one arrives, to be greeted outside the front door by the hotel manager, the entire Swinton experience is a delight. It's the antithesis of larger, corporately-run country house hotels: here one genuinely feels like a pampered house guest.

Our room (Scarborough) was large and quite lovely - with a gorgeous bathroom and a great view over the hotel's front lawn. We took advantage of the free, private time offered in the spa's jacuzzi/sauna area, and went out with hawks from the falconry. The hotel prepared a lovely picnic for our trip to Fountains Abbey. And the food was excellent too.

This place truly is outstanding - hugely, hugely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have been enjoying relaxing weekends here since the year after the hotel opened and i can only say it gets better and better.
From the amazing food to the lovely rooms and excellent staff we can only say thank you for making our precious spare time perfect..
Everyone here goes the extra mile with the extra touches in the rooms and lifts to the village which are greatly appreciated.
Special thanks this weekend to Roy ,David the porter and Peter the manager and everyone else who made our weekend so enjoyable
Nicky and David Jones

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
761 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
398 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
813 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Property: Swinton Park
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing