We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special service”
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very special service”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A wonderful place, set in tranquil gardens - steeped in history.The service, attention to detail, the friendly staff, made for a fantastic stay. Nothing was too much trouble - they even remembered my birthday! Everyone was SO helpful. the staff really do go the extra mile to help you. The food at breakfast and dinner was an expererience I shall never forget - wonderful menu!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brod100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    159
    58
    16
    12
See reviews for
189
788
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The most wonderful, peaceful place to stay and relax, with very high standards of service in every respect. The views from our room were magnificent, with the deer herd wandering down to paddle and drink in the river right in front of us as we relaxed in the window seat. Swans were reflected in the water nearby and we could hear the birds of prey calling. Sheer heaven! The cookery school demonstration was great and is tempting me to return for some "hands on" tuition. So much to do and the beauty of North Yorkshire on the doorstep, I could not wish for more.

Room Tip: Rooms and suites overlooking the deer park are very spacious and have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesliePeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have visited this hotel for a couple of years. I love the wonderful grounds and rooms. The restaurant is worth travelling a long way to visit- as a vegetarian I was delighted at the garden menu which gave me great choice and such a treat. My only complaint was the service was slow, less than enthusiastic and terribly forgetful. This would not put me off another visit, however, if you pay for first class service that is what you expect to get.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delaynomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswintonpark, General Manager at Swinton Park, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Delaynomore, it was a pleasure reading your review and it was great to note that you enjoyed the Garden Produce Menu that is directly linked to our ethos of either using produce from our 4-acre walled garden that offers 60 varieties of fruit, vegetables and herbs or sourcing from our local suppliers. Working closely with the Sustainable Restaurant Association we have also been awarded 3 stars and 84% that shows our interest in supporting the need to scource produce correctly while maintaing a strong interest in the environment and the society within the local community. I appreciate your words of concern about the service within the restaurant which is not the normal service you have enjoyed (and by many more) before and has been acknowledged internally with additional training directed by myself. It was lovely to read that you will be returning, and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swinton Park in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is an absolutely fabulous hotel, which is in fact a fascinating example of a grand English country house, complete with stunning grounds, including woodland and lakes. Most of the main rooms are in a lavish Victorian style, absolutely exquisite examples. The dining room is perhaps the most impressive of all, but the drawing room is equally beautiful. The food is excellent, mostly an unpretentious celebration of fresh, high-quality and locally produced English food, or food from the archipelago (Scottish, English, Irish and Welsh). This included a fabulous Victorian black pudding recipe with apple, which had apparently been discovered during a renovation of the kitchens. The service was very good too. The rooms are large, and hence suitable for families, with the grounds also being grate for kids (lots of space to run and play, climbing frames and an aviary to explore) and all the staff were very child friendly. (We were not staying with our children, but lots of other guests were, and we noted how accommodating the staff were). I particularly liked the little touches: Molton Brown toiletries, very high quality fixtures and furnishings (e.g. Lefroy Brooks taps) and possibly the softest and loveliest sheets I have ever slept in. Anyone interested in little bit of British political history will also appreciate that this house is owned by the Cunliffe-Lister family, which has included Philip Cunliffe-Lister, the first Earl of Swinton, who was a member of the Thatcher Cabinet in the 1980s. There are photos and portraits of prominent conservative political figures from the 20th century dotted throughout the property (all very far from my political persuasions, but interesting nonetheless). Last but not least, the location offers you the chance to explore some of the most beautiful countryside in England (and Europe?).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We first stayed here in 2005.

I knew when I stayed here 2005 that one day I would have my civil ceremony / wedding here, and so I did in May 2010.

We booked out the whole place for 2 nights for all our guests.
Having the whole place on the Friday night was terrific as it gave our guests time to meet up before the ceremony.

I did not feel that Swinton Park cut corners in any way just because it was a wedding, we've all been to wedding where the food and service have been well below standard.
From my experience Swinton Park do not do this, this is why I have been back there a few times since my wedding.

There is so much to do at Swinton Park from lovely walks in the grounds, the daily bird show, clay pigeon shooting near by.
The food at our wedding was fantastic. The BBQ that we had on the Friday is one of the best BBQ's that I have ever had,

I don't feel that Swinton Park is any more expensive that other property's that I have been too that are similar, however the standards at Swinton Park are so much higher.

I can not recommend Swinton Park highly enough, be for a wedding or just a few nights break.

Thank you Swinton Park for making our day so special.
Peter Hunter + David Smith

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthLondonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Hotel is lovely and the restaurant food is excellent. The service around it however is a week to the point I eventually simply stopped asking for coffee and condiments as the delay took the good out of them. After you have had your meal and before you go to bed there is a serious weak point in the facility as the bar is small and unpleasant and the day room lacks any atmosphere so a cosy drink and a quiet chat are not possible

The restaurant is twee so although it’s not promoted as exclusive or posh do expect to wear a shirt with a collar & sleeves and avoid Jeans. My advice, turn up for the food but stay in one of the local B&Bs or guest houses so you can enjoy a coffer or beer and chat after dinner

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArmouredGideon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmswintonpark, General Manager at Swinton Park, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you ArmouredGideon (interesting name!) for your review and it was great to read that you throught the restaurant food was excellent and the hotel was lovely along with its superb selection of bedrooms (with complimentary Gin & Whisky decanters) overlooking our parklands with over 150 grazing fallow deer sometimes yards away from the house and swans swimming on our lakes. This must be why we are the finalists out of 392 applications for the VisitEngland Awards of Excellence 2012 in the category of 'Small Hotel of the Year'! The Bar and Drawing Room are lovely rooms with a very large fire place that is lit most of the year that entices you to sit and relax while getting cosy on our large sofas and for some guests the relaxation has over-taken them as I have seen guests dose off in the natural sunlight that pours in from the three very large windows. To conclude the dress code in the restaurant, you can wear jeans but not torn or faded and it is preferred that you wear a shirt and not a t-shirt or sports top or alternatively you can dine in the bar and wear casual clothes if you wish to have a more relaxed evening - we cater for all and that's why we were awarded 'Family Hotel of the Year' in 2011 by the Good Hotel Guide. I feel that most men would agree with this dress code as a minimum request is acceptable when dining in a fine dining restaurant and not a pub, and if you wish to dress up, it just makes it all the more fun as an experience that you might even feel like a Lord and Lady dining in your own beautiful home with 20,000 acres of breathing space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed for one night in the Wensleydale suite. The room was incredible, very spacious and the bed is the comfiest we've ever slept in. I never have a good nights sleep when away due to the how awful pillows normally are, but this wasn't the case at Swinton!

The staff are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble and as can be seen from the pictures, the setting is stunning. We made ue of the private spa area which was a lovely way to relax after travelling such a long distance and also took a stroll around the ample grounds.

The only problem we had was a lack of choice for specific dietary requirements on the dinner menu. My other half fully enjoyed his meal, but I found mine uninspiring and not particularly enjoyable. That said, the dessert was lovely and again, the service was second to none. We would definitely return as Swinton offers service that is quite frankly unmatched anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aldanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
746 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
15.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,686 reviews
24.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Property: Swinton Park
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing