We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Uni Pampering”
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pre Uni Pampering”
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

I took my step daughter for a pre university treat, an 'afternoon indulgence' spa package.

The package includes 1 hour treatment time and a cream tea but we upgraded to a full afternoon tea which had the lightest most delicious scones I have ever enjoyed!

The castle itself is breathtaking as you sweep up the majestic drive and the whole place is immaculate.

The Spa treatment area is bijou, they have very cleverly made the most of every square inch to make for a warm, cozy and nurturing environment.

My massage was pure heaven, Charlotte my therapist really listened to my needs and delivered exactly what I needed which was a deeply restoring intuitive treatment. Georgie made my somewhat nervous step daughter feel instantly at ease and gave great home care advice to help with her skin care concerns.

Already planning next trip!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vicpamperqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    159
    58
    16
    12
See reviews for
189
788
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel has loads of excellent reviews and it is difficult to write what hasn't been written before. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights, booked on a whim through booking dot com. It was a "deal" so our room, whilst large, comfortable, clean, well equipped and perfect in every way, was one of the less expensive ones without an exceptional view. Who cares! how long do you spend looking out of the window! The complimentary mini decanters of gin and whisky in our room was a nice touch. The staff and the service (as many have said) are superb. The restaurant really deserves a michelin star - we have eaten in many places, and what he were presented with here was as good as anywhere; beautiful presentation and superbly crafted dishes. It is the little details that set Swinton Park apart from most other hotels. As an example, I like a grappa with coffee after a meal. On evening #1, they didn't have grappa. (It is Yorkshire - so perhaps no surprise!) On evening #2 they made a point of saying it *was* now available. The waitress confirmed they had gone and got it in following my request! Impressed! It is difficult to convey in words the "ambience" of this hotel. For us it's a great discovery; a place to come again and "chill". Nothing negative to say at all. Swinton Park fully deserves its high rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Wonderful 4 night stay at end April. Arriving, despite torrential rain, we felt lords of the manor sweeping up the beautiful drive past the deer park and entering the hall. A wedding fair was in progress and we were greeted by one of the beautiful resident tawny owls with the falconer, were ushered past a string quartet to reception and had a guided tour past magnificent floral displays before being shown to our huge comfortable room overlooking the side court. Amazing similarly large bathroom with excellent shower and a deep bath, masses of wonderful Molton Brown gels and lotions.
The food lived up to the surroundings and we had 2 great dinners with great service amd wines. Only caveat would be it is a 3 course table d'hote (plus amuse-gueles plus refreshers) so you need to be hungry! The bar is fun and quirkily decorated. Lots of comfortable lounges to curl up in.
Grounds are delightful, lovely walk through gardens and access to moorland trails.
good pubs in Masham, great location for heading out across the Dales in all directions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaviniaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

Yet another 2 night stay at this lovely hotel! We brought new faces to experience all that my husband and I love about this wonderful place. Our friends loved it as much as we do. We spent the bank holiday weekend here and as usual the hotel and food was delightful. We also met the new GM who was very personable and wish him all success. He has a good head start as the best thing about this hotel is the dedicated and professional staff. We were looked after so very well and at both dinner evenings and Sunday morning we were in the very capable hands of Roy who was so very charming and attentive. Roy's first day at Swinton Park was our first experience there at our daughter's wedding 3 years ago now and although when we first met him he was a little nervous, from the subsequent visits we have made we have seen him grow so competently and well in his role. He personifies the Swinton Park ethos and is a credit to his employers along with the other dedicated staff. For us it is the staff that puts Swinton Park above its competitors. Look after them well and we look forward to returning again for the New Year package along with our friends who now share our love of this very special place.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

Having just spent a lovely bank holiday Monday at Swinton Park we felt compelled to say what a lovely break it was . Driving up to the hotel you really get the feeling of Brideshead like stately luxury and our welcom was very good and they parked our car for us . The interior of the hotel is all wooden panelling and antique decoration but stunning. our room was also very nice with a large bathroom and very comfortable bed with a view of the back of the hotel with its aviary . We also made use of the hotels facilities and used the Spa which we had for ourselves with a nice sauna and hot tub helping us to unwind though all the time slots are quite ridgidly kept to.
Food was also a bonus at Swinton Park and the dinning room is very beautifully decorated and the food was outstanding with very professional staff without stuffiness , we decided to have breakfast in bed to enjoy our break and this was ALS very good and arrived exactly when specified . Having a keen interest in wildlife I was keen to see the Swinton aviary where we enjoyed the meet the birds experience which was very interesting and gave us a real I site into these stunning birds of prey ,in fact we had this on our own giving us a really personal experience , the eagle owl was a wow!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank acefaceWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My friend and I used the Spa at Swinton Park, followed by Afternoon Tea.
From entering at Reception to leaving we felt like 'Ladies of the Manor' with the service given by all staff. The Spa ladies (Amanda and Charlotte) looked after us so very well, we had the best massages ever experienced (thanks!). How nice to endure Afternoon Tea in the Lounge, with proper 'tea' and the cakes/sandwiches were just too much. Thanks Swinton park for a great afternoon, we will return. First Class!
Did not stay overnight, but will do in the future! Special place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyWard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We are fortunate to live within an hour's drive from Swinton Park and have enjoyed lunches on Sundays and weekdays (themed orchid and wine lunches wonderful value), spa days and a barbecue in the deer park. Not to mention the special al fresco event.
However, our first overnight with dinner was on my husband's recent 60th birthday. Everything should have been/would have been perfect, but was marred by a situation beyond the management's control.
Noisy neighbours (an unruly toddler) disturbing the tranquility.
On checking out, I made an observation..... not a complaint..... and the way it was dealt with raises Swinton Park from the excellent to the exceptional.
This is a really a very special place

Room Tip: Bradford...... comfy yet luxurious. Light and spacious. Pile up the cushions on the window seat and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandcru52a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
746 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
15.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,686 reviews
24.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Property: Swinton Park
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing