We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed getaway with style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The moment we walked through the door of Swinton Park all your cares and worries fade away. You are transported to a different world where nothing is too much trouble and attended to almost immediately. The porter who carried our bags, gave us a history of the hotel, showed us where the restaurant was, where to go for walks etc. The room was idyllic although it IS expensive- but you get what you pay for. We were lucky enough to be in the York Suite, a fabulous room overlooking the parklands. Complimentary gin and whiskey in the room and lovely fluffy white robes.
We dined in the restaurant and had a fabulous dinner with elegant inobtrusive service, relaxed coffee and petit fours in the beautiful drawing room.
The next morning breakfast did not fail the by now very high expectations we had of the place, although there could perhaps have been a greater variety of freshly prepared fruit such as melon or pineapple- the fruit salad bowl was mainly apple and grape.. However all in all a real "WOW" factor place with your every wish is attended to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAKdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

As we drove up to the hotel the sight of this impressive building was breathtaking enough but to have a herd of fallow deer 100 feet away was amazing. We were lucky to have such beautiful weather (5th Sept 2012) but I dont think it would have mattered if it was raining or snowing as we enjoyed it so much.
It is a grand building and is furnished accordingly so if you are after a botique style hotel dont be dissapointed. The room was lovely antique style furnishings, original paintings, lovely comfy bed, nice tea/coffee tray, molton brown toileteries.
We had a snack in the Drawing Room which was very tasty and ate in the beautiful Dining Room for dinner. It was delicious and the service perfect. The breakfast is fantastic everything you could possibly want.
I woke early and looked out of the window to see a lady leading a couple of horses out of the stables their hoofs clip clopping across the courtyard their coats glistening in the morning sun, I felt like I was staying at Downton Abbey it was beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I took my step daughter for a pre university treat, an 'afternoon indulgence' spa package.

The package includes 1 hour treatment time and a cream tea but we upgraded to a full afternoon tea which had the lightest most delicious scones I have ever enjoyed!

The castle itself is breathtaking as you sweep up the majestic drive and the whole place is immaculate.

The Spa treatment area is bijou, they have very cleverly made the most of every square inch to make for a warm, cozy and nurturing environment.

My massage was pure heaven, Charlotte my therapist really listened to my needs and delivered exactly what I needed which was a deeply restoring intuitive treatment. Georgie made my somewhat nervous step daughter feel instantly at ease and gave great home care advice to help with her skin care concerns.

Already planning next trip!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Vicpamperqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel has loads of excellent reviews and it is difficult to write what hasn't been written before. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights, booked on a whim through booking dot com. It was a "deal" so our room, whilst large, comfortable, clean, well equipped and perfect in every way, was one of the less expensive ones without an exceptional view. Who cares! how long do you spend looking out of the window! The complimentary mini decanters of gin and whisky in our room was a nice touch. The staff and the service (as many have said) are superb. The restaurant really deserves a michelin star - we have eaten in many places, and what he were presented with here was as good as anywhere; beautiful presentation and superbly crafted dishes. It is the little details that set Swinton Park apart from most other hotels. As an example, I like a grappa with coffee after a meal. On evening #1, they didn't have grappa. (It is Yorkshire - so perhaps no surprise!) On evening #2 they made a point of saying it *was* now available. The waitress confirmed they had gone and got it in following my request! Impressed! It is difficult to convey in words the "ambience" of this hotel. For us it's a great discovery; a place to come again and "chill". Nothing negative to say at all. Swinton Park fully deserves its high rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Wonderful 4 night stay at end April. Arriving, despite torrential rain, we felt lords of the manor sweeping up the beautiful drive past the deer park and entering the hall. A wedding fair was in progress and we were greeted by one of the beautiful resident tawny owls with the falconer, were ushered past a string quartet to reception and had a guided tour past magnificent floral displays before being shown to our huge comfortable room overlooking the side court. Amazing similarly large bathroom with excellent shower and a deep bath, masses of wonderful Molton Brown gels and lotions.
The food lived up to the surroundings and we had 2 great dinners with great service amd wines. Only caveat would be it is a 3 course table d'hote (plus amuse-gueles plus refreshers) so you need to be hungry! The bar is fun and quirkily decorated. Lots of comfortable lounges to curl up in.
Grounds are delightful, lovely walk through gardens and access to moorland trails.
good pubs in Masham, great location for heading out across the Dales in all directions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaviniaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Yet another 2 night stay at this lovely hotel! We brought new faces to experience all that my husband and I love about this wonderful place. Our friends loved it as much as we do. We spent the bank holiday weekend here and as usual the hotel and food was delightful. We also met the new GM who was very personable and wish him all success. He has a good head start as the best thing about this hotel is the dedicated and professional staff. We were looked after so very well and at both dinner evenings and Sunday morning we were in the very capable hands of Roy who was so very charming and attentive. Roy's first day at Swinton Park was our first experience there at our daughter's wedding 3 years ago now and although when we first met him he was a little nervous, from the subsequent visits we have made we have seen him grow so competently and well in his role. He personifies the Swinton Park ethos and is a credit to his employers along with the other dedicated staff. For us it is the staff that puts Swinton Park above its competitors. Look after them well and we look forward to returning again for the New Year package along with our friends who now share our love of this very special place.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Debi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Having just spent a lovely bank holiday Monday at Swinton Park we felt compelled to say what a lovely break it was . Driving up to the hotel you really get the feeling of Brideshead like stately luxury and our welcom was very good and they parked our car for us . The interior of the hotel is all wooden panelling and antique decoration but stunning. our room was also very nice with a large bathroom and very comfortable bed with a view of the back of the hotel with its aviary . We also made use of the hotels facilities and used the Spa which we had for ourselves with a nice sauna and hot tub helping us to unwind though all the time slots are quite ridgidly kept to.
Food was also a bonus at Swinton Park and the dinning room is very beautifully decorated and the food was outstanding with very professional staff without stuffiness , we decided to have breakfast in bed to enjoy our break and this was ALS very good and arrived exactly when specified . Having a keen interest in wildlife I was keen to see the Swinton aviary where we enjoyed the meet the birds experience which was very interesting and gave us a real I site into these stunning birds of prey ,in fact we had this on our own giving us a really personal experience , the eagle owl was a wow!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank acefaceWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
789 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
477 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
371 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
24.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: £164 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing