We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like we were at Downton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swinton Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Felt like we were at Downton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

After a long drive from London the arrival at Swinton Park melted the journey away. Helpful friendly faces and the car parked for us. We stayed in the Richmond Suite which was fantastic - the complimentary gin was a lovely added extra.
We ate in the bar which offered great food. I do wish we'd eaten in the restaurant, the pictures on their website don't do it justice - it is a beautiful room at night. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonN7boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    150
    58
    15
    12
See reviews for
178
757
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Wonderful country house hotel set in beautiful countryside. Welcoming friendly and helpful staff. Lovely well-equipped rooms with gorgeous bathrooms and Molton Brown toiletries....great!!!

Restaurant and bar both serve excellent food. Good menu with lots of local produce. Staff were excellent - especially Robert!

Spa services are good but not outstanding

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Swinton Park is a fine example of the English Country House hotel, richly-appointed, and offering a rich range of amenities, activities, and diversions for either a short or long term stay.

Service is gold-standard impeccable, solicitous without being intrusive or obsequious. Food was uniformly excellent, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Location is ideal for the Dales and Moors, and fairly handy for York, Ripon, and Harrogate.

Now, if they can only do something about the terrible wi-fi connection, and spotty mobile service...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StillTheOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

For my partner's 30th birthday I took her to this glorious location. The drive sweeps up to the building, past the deer park and up to the iconic tower that stands guard over the entrance to this sumptuous stately property. The welcome from the staff is courteous yet warm and they make it clear that your enjoyment and relaxation is their only objective.
As you walk the corridors you feel as though you have stepped back in time - the furniture and detail are perfect and no nook is left unadorned. Our favourite location was the Drawing Room where one can while away the hours beside the open fire, nibbling on canapés and quaffing whatever you desire, all delivered via an efficient waiter service.
The room/suite was spacious and well kept, and the turn down service was a nice touch, as was the complimentary spirit selection.
The evening meal was delicious, intimate and wonderfully atmospheric. The service was also an absolute delight - diligent, attentive and personable. Breakfast the next morning was equally satisfying, after which we took a walk around the grounds, observing the deer from across the lake and taking a tour of the birds of prey and the walled garden.
For a treat this hotel hits all the right notes - opulent yet accessible, grand yet comfortable, decadent yet grounded. It is often difficult to strike the right balance in such an ostentatious location - too stuffy and visitors feel alienated and ill-at-ease, too relaxed and it feels somehow cheapened. I am pleased to say that Swinton Park was all we hoped it would be and more. A particular thanks must be given to the staff who bring life and warmth to this stunning location.

Room Tip: We chose the Castle Howard suite. It was large, with a huge bathroom and a view toward the deer park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We had a one night mid-week stay and loved every minute, we felt really relaxed on our return home. We arrived in the afternoon and dropped the bags in our room and had a lovely card from the manager and a gift for my husband as it was his birthday. We went walking in the grounds to the lake, we returned to our room and had coffee and some delicious biscuits before making use of the 1 hour spa session we had booked, we really enjoyed the heat treatments. We returned back to the room which was spotlessly clean to get ready for dinner and sampled a complimentary g and t. We then had drinks in the bar were out dinner orders were taken, we opted for the tasting menu and wine pairing which was fantastic. After coffee and petit fours we went back to our room which had been tidied, tea restocked, robes laid out and even lip balm on the pillow -such a nice touch. Breakfast again was perfect and we will return to this beautiful hotel. The staff really do work hard here to make sure
everything is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olliedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have stayed at some amazing places but this hotel is something else, from the moment we arrived and saw the breath taking views of the hotel and grounds we were very pleased we had chosen to stay here but what really makes this place is the staff. You really feel that not only do they really enjoy working there but it is very important to them that you are happy and they really go that extra mile for you. We stayed in the Turret suite, which was fantastic!!

We also booked a falconry experience with Sophie which was brilliant!!!!

On speaking to other guests at the hotel, it seems to be a place that people come back to time and time again and we certainly we be going back!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferCB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Another lovely room at Swinton Park, only negative was the 3 hours it took to get through dinner, my wife has also reminded me of the children in the dining room playing cards with their parents at the table :-(

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
24.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Property: Swinton Park
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing