We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandeur at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our second visit in two months love every moment.it didn't disappoint second time round. staff are friendly and cater to your every whim their a credit to the team at swinton park. i get goosebumps arriving up the sweeping driveway & the deers wondering about in the fields.Its an amazing & magical place hoping to return in feburary for my birthday.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband and I love afternoon tea, and having tried Betty's and Polly Put the Kettle On (both of which were outstanding) we decided to try Swinton Park as it has a great reputation. The first thing that struck us when we entered the room was the silence - uncomfortably so. People were talking in hushed whispers, and although there was a piano in the room it was not being played, it all added up to a definite lack of atmosphere. We then waited 20 minutes for someone to take our order, and when I asked for white tea the waiter was completely baffled. He went to find out if they had any and sadly the answer was no!! The food was fine, nothing to complain about but nothing to rave about either. Just a fairly average afternoon tea... Do not think we will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LizzieR1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Visited here for lunch- experience exquisite. Staff so helpful and accommodating- nothing too much trouble and all very attentive- when glasses were almost empty- promptly topped up. G&T pre lunch drinks very well presented- cucumber- no suggestion of lemon- bravo! The wine menu most impressive and the Pinot noir well kept and served at optimum temperature - a delight.
The lunch menu itself was superb- smoked salmon divine and the venison beautifully cooked to perfection. Pear and praline dessert recommended and the cheese also very enjoyable.
All in all one of the nicest lunches we have enjoyed in a long time.
The dining room is impressive- if you patronise you will nit be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamond280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Spent one night here to celebrate two birthdays and an anniversary. Had a wonderful time. The staff asked if we were celebrating something at the time of booking and we found a card and birthday gifts in the room. The bedroom and bathroom were fabulous. The food was delicious and all the staff were very friendly and attentive. We spent an hour doing the Owl Experience with the very knowledgeable falconer and enjoyed it immensely. I cannot recommend Swinton Park enough for a special break away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After a long drive from London the arrival at Swinton Park melted the journey away. Helpful friendly faces and the car parked for us. We stayed in the Richmond Suite which was fantastic - the complimentary gin was a lovely added extra.
We ate in the bar which offered great food. I do wish we'd eaten in the restaurant, the pictures on their website don't do it justice - it is a beautiful room at night. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonN7boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Wonderful country house hotel set in beautiful countryside. Welcoming friendly and helpful staff. Lovely well-equipped rooms with gorgeous bathrooms and Molton Brown toiletries....great!!!

Restaurant and bar both serve excellent food. Good menu with lots of local produce. Staff were excellent - especially Robert!

Spa services are good but not outstanding

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Swinton Park is a fine example of the English Country House hotel, richly-appointed, and offering a rich range of amenities, activities, and diversions for either a short or long term stay.

Service is gold-standard impeccable, solicitous without being intrusive or obsequious. Food was uniformly excellent, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Location is ideal for the Dales and Moors, and fairly handy for York, Ripon, and Harrogate.

Now, if they can only do something about the terrible wi-fi connection, and spotty mobile service...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillTheOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
785 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
24.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
8.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: £167 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing