We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently first rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swinton Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
northumberland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Consistently first rate”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

For the third year in a row I have organised a 3 day stay with a party of friends. The quality of the accommodation, food and service this year was as good as ever. We enjoyed the option of private dining but having eaten in the main restaurant as well I can give it top marks too.
We've booked again for January 2015 but will be back again this February for a birthday celebration. A most comfortable and romantic hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scallopsforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    154
    58
    16
    12
See reviews for
185
767
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had a wonderful short break at Swinton Park over the festive period. Room was amazing, big comfy bed and lovely relaxing bathroom with Molton Brown products. The food was fantastic cooked to perfection. Had a great time experimenting with short cookery demonstration from Simon the chef. On the Last morning we had a real treat with an amazing falconry display. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. This short break made our Christmas so special. Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and quiet. Had a wonderful restful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We really enjoyed our New Year break at Swinton Park. The hotel was fully booked which meant plenty of atmosphere but because the public rooms are so spacious it meant that it never felt crowded or 'over busy'. Tom, the General Manager, is a lovely, welcoming host who takes time to chat to all the guests, never intrusive but just friendly and chatty.
We had Newby Hall (Dukes room) - the room was very spacious and nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed and the usual nice amenities (Molton Brown toiletries, complimentary gin and whisky). It was also a nice surprise to receive a bag of goodies on arrival including damson gin, gingerbread, cheese etc. The room also had a comfy sofa which was a nice alternative to having to sit on the bed. The only downside is that the room doesn't really have a view and the bathroom is fairly small, although well appointed and with plenty of hot water - I suspect this is why it was the only Dukes room left when we were booking!
Food was excellent - we had a lovely dinner in Samuels on the first night with a really good choice of food and wine. We had after dinner drinks in the bar and the barman was friendly and very knowledgeable (didn't get his name!). The New Year's Eve dinner was also excellent, and quite a feat for the kitchen to serve so many diners at the same time with this sort of quality. Breakfast is really good with a very broad choice and plenty of good quality tea and coffee. We had an afternoon tea on arrival which was also good but missed out on the one of New Year's day as most of it had gone by the time we realised it was served! Another nice touch food-wise was the bacon and sausage butties provided after midnight on New Year's eve.
We found the other guests to be friendly and chatty and we met some lovely people. The atmosphere really was a bit like a grand house party. The activities were well run and enjoyable - we did the clay shooting, the cookery demo and the falconry (this was held indoors due to the horrendous weather on New Year's day but was still interesting and the falconer had a wealth of knowledge to share with us). We also managed a couple of walks between showers in the lovely grounds.
People-wise special mention to Pedro who ran the bar but was also in the kitchen serving wine at the cookery demo, in the restaurant on New Year and taking orders from breakfast on New Year's day - very helpful and friendly as were most of the team.
Any downsides? Only one which was that I had booked a reflexology treatment in the spa and wasn't told until I arrived there that the reflexologist had left. The lady on the desk did offer an alternative treatment but I chose to relax in the spa relaxation room while my partner had his treatment - but ideally I should have been told prior that the treatment was no longer available.
One other thing to mention - we booked the spa area for exclusive use for an hour and that was very relaxing - sauna and hottub with lounging chairs provided - well worth doing.
All in all an excellent break at a great hotel with staff who really seem to be bothered that people enjoy their time there - a lot of the credit I think goes to Tom as they no doubt take their lead from him. We will be back!

Room Tip: Check with reception when booking if you want a particular view or room as the best ones go early fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Attended a wedding at the property and whilst I wouldn't criticise the building, decor or staff attention there is no excuse for charging £17.50 for two vodka and cokes or £5 for a pint of beer which is brewed virtually next door! We were also told that the hotel has a policy, or will be, of charging corkage for guests own alcohol consumed on the premises in order to force you to pay their extortionate prices. I thought Dick Turpin was dead!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellcee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our first stay at Swinton Park and we look forward to going again. The surroundings, hotel, staff, food was superb. You don't have to go out of the grounds as there is plenty of to keep you occupied There. The only down side for us was that my wife is in a wheelchair and there was no proper disabled shower but the rest of the facilities was disable friendly. We think it is worth the cost to stay there and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingbirchworth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is my all time favourite hotel. I love this place and no descriptions could really do justice to the atmosphere the period decor or service levels. This is our fourth visit and it remains constant. The restaurant is not my favourite though and I would not rush back there. The menu is pretty limited but under done egg with egg whites still clear and runny is simply wrong and ghastly. Water baths may well be en-vogue on master chef but if that is how it cooks an egg I will stick to a frying pan and I am sure the hand slipped with the truffle oil which completely over powered all other taste on the plate. Although it was inedible no other option was offered and at 52 pound per head that seems a little offensive. The snooker room was wonderful as was the jaccuzzi and piano.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb but try white bear in village for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoyaIngbirchworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

What a superb New Year break, three nights of luxury in a wonderful venue. The staff were truly exceptional, nothing was too difficult for them and their friendliness, attention to detail and attitude was first class. The New Year's Eve party was fabulous - well done Tom and staff. Brilliant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
442 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,443 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
731 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
24.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Property: Swinton Park
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing