We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow- Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This was a birthday treat and all I can say about this hotel is it's gorgeous. The food, the bedroom, staff, service faultless- it's one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Thank-you. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemini277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Was really excited when given a 2 night D,B+B voucher for Swinton Park as had heard so many good reviews and love this area. Booked 2 nights 17th (St Patricks day-certainly no mention of that) and18th March 2014.
Decided and booked treatments for myself and partner (who had never had a treatment before but I reckoned he would enjoy and this would open other similar doors) 2days before visit but had a phone call the next day as had to change both as neither were available any longer! The alternatives were good but the tiny place to sit before is not conducive for relaxing and prices much higher than similar hotels.
Reception staff were unwelcoming and unhelpful(??because knew we had a voucher) and remained so every time we asked them anything. Also found it odd that even though I had booked our stay the reservation was in my partners (male) name!! It would have been helpful if we had been informed on arrival that we could book the spa for a session which we discovered the day we left.
Building is spectacular and room was large and comfortable with good views (Fountains Abbey). Drawer space limited for such a spacious room.

Restaurant staff were formal and helpful and dinner excellent. Disappointed and surprised that the menu was exactly the same on both nights so ate in the bar the second night which was a better experience as both barmen were exceptionally helpful and informative. The food was good and well presented.
Breakfast was ok with little atmosphere in the restaurant and cold crumbly toast did not help!
Overall worth a night as a treat but would not recommend 2.
CME 21/03/2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CME2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

From the moment you drive through the gateway at Swinton Park, you begin to relax. The building has a very comfortable grandeur, not at all intimidating and that is mostly down to the staff who are very willing, friendly & professional. Most of what I think about the hotel has already been said but I want to make a special mention about the birds of prey experience - OUTSTANDING! I personally flew an Eagle owl & a Steppe Eagle, huge birds and just fantastic up close & personal. But I also did a walk for about an hour with a Harris Hawk through the grounds which are stunning because they are so natural, accompanied by Sophie who is the owner & falconer. She is very knowledgeable, professional with a very engaging personality. If you like birds of prey I cannot recommend this experince highly enough.A truly memorable 60th birthday.

Room Tip: We chose the Masham Room, fabulous outlook, great bed & plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyB133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Yet another fantastic stay! Staff are wonderful,and are on hand to help with anything. Food and service first class. Room was beautiful and clean, as always. My favourite place in the world!! Thank You All.

Room Tip: No tip, all is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had another great stay, stayed in the masham room which has lovely views. Restaurant was excellent as usual. The only negative was the spa as the lovely Jacuzzi has been replaced with a rubbish cedar hot tub with 4 feeble jets(2 each) but if your slim you can only get 1 jet on your back so not the lovely relaxing experience it used to be, which is a shame as it used to be a big plus when staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOOLS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay here. It was from a Groupon deal, though it will not be our only visit. The staff where courteous, welcoming, knowledgeable about the history of this wonderful place, and treated us as if we were regulars. We enjoyed a lovely massage (from Lynne & Nikita), and spent time in their spa wet room (including a cedar hot tub). Dinner was from their 'lighter' menu - which we ate in the bar. George the bartender made a delicious martini, and again was attentive. We stayed in arguably the 'best' room in the house, the Bradford room, which had a newly renovated bathroom with a large window tub, king size bed and awesome window seat. From here we enjoyed the stunning view, the peace and tranquility, and even watched a heard of deer graze beneath the window. Before bed, housekeeping came in and offered a turndown service. We returned to robes on the bed, soothing music playing, and the heavy curtains drawn. Molton Brown products completed the experience... Oh and a delicious breakfast.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank TheDaftBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

After enjoying lunch here some months ago we decided to book in for an overnight stay and include dinner. As it was our wedding anniversary we were hoping not to be disappointed. The whole Swinton experience exceeded our expectations. From the friendly greeting we received at the door, to the waiter who brought our afternoon tea, served our dinner and breakfast the next day. Nothing was too much trouble. Alongside the courteous staff, the chef and his staff are brilliant!
No complaints whatsoever (must be a first!!!) and we will definitely return - saving up now!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howieslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
793 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
479 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
24.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
15.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: £166 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing