We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome BBQ Cook & Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swinton Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
East Riding Of Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ Cook & Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We attended a BBQ Cook & Lunch event at Swinton Park on 25 May 2014. We were escorted to our venue from the main hotel in a minibus and were warmly welcomed by our chef and tutor, Steve. The weather could have been better, but the actual BBQ equipment was under cover so not an issue. The food we were to cook was already prepared and I was very impressed with the different foods we were to cook. Even bread!! There was a relaxed yet informative atmosphere on the course. The Deerhouse where we ate our lunch "that we cooked ourselves" was lovely and quaint. It was beautifully laid out with linen tablecloths and proper crockery etc. Not the usual plastic outdoor equipment you get at BBQ's!! There were blankets and heaters already alight due to the weather, and a waiter from the main hotel was in attendance. Another great feature was that Steve ate with us and continued giving out great cooking tips and stories from his career. To top off an already impressive event, we were served dessert too. What more could you ask for? Steve's email address with a promise of recipes and advice perhaps? Consider it done. We are now looking for other courses to attend. Thanks a lot Steve!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trucker-Ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    154
    58
    16
    12
See reviews for
185
770
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is one of the worst nights dining I have ever known as said the whole table of 30 more or less, no coaches as were seemingly promised to bus us up the very muddy track, and arriving to a COLD DAMP part brick shed . Amazed to see bottles of the free Yorkshire water on the table ( tap water) given out in droughts. The food was dreadful and cold , and I was told one person went for food and was told only salad left lol at £35 per head. Desert was a small tart size of a teacup top without cream option, or small glass of Eton mess , the only warm thing was the cup of tea. As friends said even coffee was dreadful. So no we will not be doing that again and it reflects badly against the wonderful food we have had in Swinton Restuarant itself.oh yes and buckets were needed as the roof leaked on customers whilst eating to the amusement of the children in that party but not the adults , and as they complained on the night they were told, it is the same every year ,complaints and no one takes any notice. Come on is it not time SOMEONE did?

Room Tip: Don't go then they may make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank t r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwintonPark, General Manager at Swinton Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the Deerhouse barbecue event you attended on Saturday night. I'm so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your evening, as these events have been running for several years and attract a great deal of repeat bookings. I have reviewed the evening thoroughly with my team and drawn the following conclusions:

Weather:
The weather on Saturday night was more severe than we have ever experienced for such an event and in hindsight, we perhaps should have reviewed whether it would have been preferable to cancel it. As a consequence of this evening, we will, in future, consider more fully that our guests may not wish to demonstrate the “Dunkirk Spirit” which many do for other outdoor events which suffer the vagaries of the changeable British Climate. While we made every effort to make our Deerhouse Barbecue events comfortable against a chilly breeze or light summer shower by installing canvas 'sides' and heaters; using an outdoor structure has limitations and I accept there is a point beyond which it is not possible to make it suitably comfortable. We will in future cancel the event if the weather forecast suggests this might be necessary.

The Deerhouse:
As stated in our promotional material, an evening at the Deerhouse is a rustic experience and the use of an authentic, period building with original wooden mangers and antler decorations is viewed by many as part of the charm of the event.

Transport:
Transport from Swinton Park to the Deerhouse is not included in the arrangements advertised for the event, although it is occasionally offered when available. When guests arrive at reception our standard procedure is to provide directions for guests to drive up themselves, or we show those wanting to walk the footpath to follow. We advise guests that the ground is rough and uneven in the details on our website. However, I take on board your comments about the state of the ground, particularly in the severe weather last weekend and I have decided that we will henceforth offer transport from Swinton Park to all Deerhouse events.

Clothing:
We also advise guests to wear warm clothing and footwear in our literature.

Menu:
I'm afraid I have to take issue with your comments regarding what was served. I’m sorry to hear you did not like the menu. The dishes served were in line with those advertised on our website, with a wide choice of items offered, specifically:

Lamb Kofte with Home-Made Flatbread
Rolled Pork with Nettle Pesto stuffing
Burmese Spiced & Caramelised Chicken Legs
Plain grilled chicken to go with Caesar's Salad (and for kids)
Grilled Sausages
Grilled Squid with Parsley & Garlic Dressing

Potato Salad
Couscous salad
Mixed Green Salad
Caesar's Salad
Tomato and Fennel Salad

Lemon & Raspberry Tart
Eton Mess

The event is advertised as an informal, two course alfresco barbecue and charged accordingly, at £35 including Pimms on arrival and coffee. Our three course restaurant menu is in comparison priced at £55 excluding any drinks or coffee. To avoid any such misunderstandings reoccurring, we have reviewed our website copy e.g. changing the description from 'dinner' to 'supper'.

The chef was at pains to ensure the food was hot when served, but this must have become difficult to maintain in such severe weather, contributing to our decision to cancel events in such circumstances henceforth.

Water:
We did not charge for water at this event. Sealed, plastic bottles are a more convenient and safer option at an outdoor event, hence why we used what we believed to be a perfectly acceptable solution.

I do hope the above helps to explain what we are trying to achieve with these events and that you will feel that the changes proposed will both manage the expectations of our guests better and improve their experience in the future.

With kind regards,

Tom Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Sorry this is 6 months late..but I have to write and say how much I love this place.
We stayed over Xmas 2013 with my parents and brother and were made to feel like one of the family.

The rooms are all different (don't expect chi chi boutique rooms as this is a grand old house). Huge bathrooms and lovely molton brown goodies. The staff are all local and engaging and are clearly very loyal. It was a genuinely lovely atmosphere. Food and drink were wonderful, we had three set dinners and a buffet on Christmas Night which was stupendous. They catered very well for my pescetarian sister in law.

Activities laid on were really welcomed. Falconry was particularly good as was the carol singing. Lovely walks in this beautiful part of the world. We had a visit from Father Christmas, too.

My parents have booked again. I would but am working this year (pulls sad face)

Many thanks to the lovely staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFussbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

My daughter had her wedding at Swinton Park. The venue was wonderful , the rooms/suits were stylish and the grounds extensive, interesting, falconry area, beautiful views and well kept. Above all the staff were absolutely wonderful. The wedding organisers were efficient, friendly and definitely knew not only their job but also how to take the stress away from all concerned. The food was excellent and tasty. I could name every single member of staff but this would take a few pages - they were all very helpful and nothing was too much for them. Her wedding went like a dream because of the staff and venue who made us all enjoy the occasion to its full extent. Thank you all.

Room Tip: All rooms/suits are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicJaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conwy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

When we read the previous reviews of this hotel we thought they were too good to be true .

Well I can tell you - it is all true and I can only say- please go and try for yourself.

We played a game at dinner and asked each other to say what the hotel offers in one word. We all said "cosseted". Its an old fashioned word which truly suits standard of values of Swinton Park. The service standard and attention to detail is to be expected of a hotel of this calibre but its the little extra warmth which all the staff show to you which makes you feel valued and special. The staff here have a smile which reaches their eyes if you know what I mean ( not a fake grin).

Other reviewers have said they felt more like a house guest. I think this is true and the layout of the hotel centred on the public rooms and with a flow like a home rather than a hotel lends itself to this. The reception area is discreet and not the main feature of the entrance as with some other venues. This adds to the ambience , but should you need any advice, directions etc all the staff we spoke to were very knowledgeable and interested in you and happy to oblige.

We had the privilege of benefitting from a complementary upgrade and were thrilled to be allocated the Wensleydale suite. If you are looking for a room with acres of space and a fab view- here it is ready for you to book. don't hesitate. We had every comfort from wi fi that actually works to bathrobes and slippers to complementary decanters of Whisky and Gin. We appreciated a hot toddy after a walk in the grounds on a brisk day, it was just the ticket.

We chose to have a package to include dinner and were not disappointed with the standard or diversity of the food on offer. The staff were attentive and anticipated our needs which was delightful. The service at dinner was calm and controlled although there ware ample staff they were hardly noticeable but knew just when to clear away or refresh your glass.

We did not take advantage of the games room or spa so are unable to comment other than to say that the spa and treatment rooms were not a main focus of the hotel and did not take centre stage but complemented the hotel in their discretion. We have stayed at other hotels and been hit at every turn with spa sales literature- not so here.

I would like to complement the housekeeping staff. All the areas we passed through and our room were immaculate. There were staff quietly going about their business most times of the day cleaning and making up rooms. The hotel is a credit to them and this also makes you relax. There is little worse than a grubby hotel to spoil your holiday.

We will definitely visit again as there is so much to do and see and we hardly scratched the surface.

Room Tip: Try the Wensleydale Suite- fab views over the lake and deer park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was lucky enough to have the Owl Experience bought for my birthday and it was really everything I'd hoped for and more.Sophie was extremely capable and informative and handling the birds was something I will never forget-it was very special. I cannot recommend it highly enough.We didn't stay at the hotel but hopefully we will the next time!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

What can I say the staff are amazing the rooms are beautiful and clean. There is so much to do. You can even bring your dog in some rooms.

Me and my children have been here on numerous occasions sadly on our last visit our son was ill. The night Porter Dave came and helped us sort him out. Staff asked after him in the morning.

I love Swinton Park and I cannot recommend it highly enough

Room Tip: If you are not travelling with children or dogs you can request to stay in the quieter area of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
24.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Property: Swinton Park
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing