We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No words ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“No words ”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

There's no way to do justice to this place in a review. If you're thinking it looks interesting, multiply your expectations by a factor of 100. It's terrific and you should just make your reservations now.

One special call out: we did an all day falconry experience with Sophie's mother, Mandy, which was unbelievably fun, and reason enough to stay here (if there weren't dozens of others). Thanks Mandy!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    163
    59
    16
    13
See reviews for
203
806
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights during a works training course.
I can honestly say I cannot think of a dingle thing to moan about (apart from the weather)
The food was excellent, the staff were very friendly, the room was huge and clean, the bathroom was out of this world.
The decor wasn't my style (very old) but it suited the rest of the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank wbaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Swinton park for our anniversary plus a dozen or so close friends.
We adored the rooms which are all so totally gorgeous and individual. The staff were helpful in the extreme in showing us all the available rooms so that we could choose the best in advance of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble.
I have to mention that each room gets complimentary decanters of Whiskey Gin. They were emptied!
The setting and grounds are beautiful and to wake up to see the Deer wandering close by is delightful.
We had the Bridal suite which was the size of a decent apartment with a HUGE canopy bed that you could get lost in. The room sizes were enormous with a full size attached lounge.
The private dining experience with private pre dinner drinks was faultless and the whole experience was one that we will all cherish for a long time.
We know the surrounding area well and would not know where to start recommending to visit as there is so much to see and do.

Thank you to all the staff involved.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinHalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I booked Swinton Park for a small work conference. There were 8 of us in total, there for 2 days staying 1 night.

The Library was excellent for our needs and the staff could not have been more helpful. Before the event, the arrangements and timings changed many times and these were all accommodated without any problem. Even on the day we needed to change the times of lunches etc and it was never a problem.

I would definitely recommend the treasure hunt - it was a fun way to get some fresh air after a long day of meetings.

The lunches, dinners, breakfasts were all fantastic and way beyond our expectations. We went to the games room after dinner which was excellent for team building!

All of the staff were friendly and extremely helpful and the bedrooms were all immaculate and very luxurious.

Having stayed in similar hotels in previous years for the same event, Switon Park was far superior. I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Set in parkland, surrounded by deer and rabbits, this a stately-home hotel (think Downton Abbey) which has an excellent restaurant and fun activities for the kids. We visited with our ten, nine and six year olds who loved the horse riding and the birds of prey center. They had such fun on a lesson and trek in the morning at the pony center that they returned the same afternoon for a second lesson and ride (Thank you Fiona) . We were very impressed by the quality of the instructors and the care they took of our horse riding novices. Thank you Jane and Tim. Sophie at the bird of prey center soon had owls and hawks landing on our children's outstretched hands. Although the hotel is outstanding in its own right, the activities for children at the trekking and the bird centers turn it into an unforgettable experience. Having happy and delighted children made our stay much better too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikechf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have just returned from 4 days at Swinton park and I just want to say it was AMAZING!! From the second that we arrived until the second we left nothing was too much trouble.If we were relaxing in our room we were asked when was the best time for the cleaning staff to come back. If we were walking round the hotel ,we were greeted warmly and asked if there was anything that we needed. When we went to the spa I felt that we were treated as if we were special, nothing was too much trouble, despite us changing some treatments to suit ourselves.
The restaurant and food were just perfect, the tables just far enough apart and the waiters just there to cater to every whim.My only complaint wasthat I found the whole hotel cold.The dining room was freezing and we had to wear a lot of layers down to breakfast and dinner. Our room was cold but that was rectified immeadiately by a portable heater. A swimming pool would be nice and I hear one is about to be built as is a bigger spa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannygoatHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a less than mediocre experience.
My Wife and I had booked this as a different sort of Dining experience for our wedding anniversary treat. The website made it sound very attractive. Arrive at the hotel, transportation to the deer house, extensive menu etc.
On arrival we were told that we had to drive up to the deer house. (OK thought this was due to appalling weather) Good job we had a 4x4! On reaching the deer house we saw that there were lit braziers outside and a chef barbecuing in an adjacent marquee. Inside the deer house we were greeted by a miserable gathering of fellow guests, clad in coats, scarves etc. no welcome from staff or explanation of meal format. We were offered a drink of pyms. And shown the other purchasable drinks on offer.
Food was then brought to the side tables and we were ushered into the dining area. The dining area and table was well decorated with flowers etc. we then got up to serve ourselves from the buffet. Chicken drumsticks, chicken breasts, spicy very mini lamb burgers, bread, butter, calamari, sausages and assorted salads. There was a woeful lack of serving spoons, no indication of the contents on the menu, to be honest I've cooked better barbecues at home! I had to guess at the lamb burgers because they were so heavily spiced you couldn't tell what taste it was!
Main course over, the sweet was served ........2 choices...a raspberry sort of Eton mess in a glass or a small raspberry tartlet, no accompanying cream? We finished off with coffee.......it took the waiter 20mins to find some decaf for my wife as initially he said he didn't have any. not even an after eight mint chocolate!
To sum up....the evening started at 7pm we left before 9pm as did several other couples (some had left before us) I know it wasn't good weather but no effort was made to create any sort of ambience. It was very much 'help yourself and get on with it. I felt very disappointed for the family birthday gathering who also had to suffer a leaking roof at their end of the table. For the price of this experience £35 per head and the price of accompanying drinks ie £5 for a bottled black sheep bitter! We were extremely disappointed (and it had nothing to do with the weather.) Good job we hadn't travelled far for this.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
463 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
21.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
403 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Property: Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing