We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way ”
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way ”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here on a road trip to Edinburgh. I chose it because it was dog friendly and looked like it offered much in terms of country walks and peaceful surrounds. I've stayed in many luxurious hotels around the world but there is something very special about this country estate. The grounds and walks on the estate are amazing, the food served in the restaurant is either grown on the estate or locally sourced. The chef , Simon , was wonderful in accommodating dietary requirements for my daughter. Our room which was a junior suite was so comfortable and even a dog bed and bowls put out for our dog. Other nice touches were water in the room and gin and whiskey with mixers. The staff were friendly and helpful. What's more to want? We'd like to come back and try the cookery school and other activities offered. It would be easy to have a luxury short break here and use the spa facilities as well. Would really recommend it overseas visitors looking for a luxury on a magnificent English estate.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EssCee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    159
    58
    16
    12
See reviews for
189
788
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a fabulous place to stay the rooms are lovely, the service is friendly and the grounds are "Amazing. They even provide boots and coats for you to wear to walk around the grounds.We had evening dinner which was superb and the inside of the hotel was just as grand as the outside. We went for our Anniversary, loved it have just returned from a short stay at this beautiful hotel and have had a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Just look up the rooms some our more quaint which is what we went for we stayed in the Ripon and our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have stayed in Swinton Park in summer 2014. We wanted to stay there because we came from Australia and were very keen to experience a "castle" stay. It was the best stay we have ever had in Europe or in Australia. Originally we booked for 2 nights, even before arriving we extended our stay to 3 nights because we read up on what one can do and see in the area. Swinton park offers many activities on their territory, as well as the many historical places in close proximity. When we arrived, met the staff and saw the room, we extended our stay for one more night. The room decor (we stayed in two different rooms) was lovely, very authentic. It was our biggest surprise and disappointment with some other "castle" hotels we have seen - to see a modern room. If I wanted to stay in a modern room I would have stayed in a modern hotel. However, we wanted an authentic experience, a real English decor...a touch of older days...history...and Swinton Park certainly offers that.

The building and the grounds are stunning. The park and the lakes are amazing. We went for many walks in the garden and even my husband, who would prefer to ride a motorbike everywhere he goes, thoroughly enjoyed the gardens. He even took up running in the mornings.

Service was incredible. By far better than any 5 star hotel we ever stayed in. Staff are knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful. They go above and beyond to help and accommodate guests every need.

The scones for the afternoon tea are amazing best we have tried in the U.K. and so far we had scones in London, Plymouth, Bath and Oxford...so you can say we sampled few areas. The restaurant is amazing. Food is to die for. The only suggestion we can make that it would be lovely to have an option of a 5 or 7 course degustation menu, From experience eating in many restraunts the chef should have a couple of dish variations when offering a degustation menu, as trying to find a set 5 or 7 courses that would please every guests taste is an impossible task. Another suggestion would be to maybe offer, a slightly larger main course for the classic menu or, perhaps, a choice of side dishes...even if it would cost a little extra. My husband had to order two mains, because he was not quite filled by one. :-) And a plain warm bread was also something we missed even though the types of bread offered were very nice. This is just nit picking and just suggestions as in no way were we dissatisfied and the staff did cater for our every request.

It was a pleasant surprise that hotel is dog friendly. We didn't have our boys with us, but for us, it was lovely to see the occasional pooch. ( Not something we are used to as in Australia most hotels are not pet friendly. As animal lovers find this a wonderful attribute).

My Husband took part in a half day fly fishing with Ollie and loved it and to anyone staying at Swinton park wondering what activities to do he would highly recommend this activity. He was a very knowledgeable fisherman and my husband got onto 3 lovely brown trout for his half day. We also both took part in horse riding and also would recommend this activity, very pleasurable ride.

We have read some of the negative reviews that people wrote about Swinton Park and we, honestly, do not understand how can anyone possibly have had a bad experience. Most of those complaints are about standard hotel rules, which one would encounter almost anywhere they go. And at Swinton Park the staff are by far more accommodating and helpful than anywhere else...but come on...everyone and everything has a limit.

Personally, we would recommend this hotel to everyone. As a matter of fact we have already done so, suggesting Swinton park to our soon to be married friends and we very much hope they will take our advice. You must visit this place it is certainly worth it!

Big thanks to all the staff at Swinton Park. You made me, personally, feel like a princess. It was the most enjoyable stay ever.

Best Regards,

From your Australian Visitors

Kev and Lera

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This review is a little late - my apologies!

We had a fabulous time at the BBQ cook & lunch.

We were greeted on arrival at Reception, and then transported to the Deerhouse by the lovely Tom - there was the option to drive ourselves, but we feared our little focus would not make it up the track!

Steve, the Chef, was there to greet us at the Deerhouse, and from that moment on, we were entertained by his skills and his stories. We prepared a feast, then sat at a grand table to eat.

Being BBQ novices, we learned a lot from our experience - and even went to buy a WEBBER BBQ like the one we used there!

Thank you to the team at Swinton Park - now we're thinking of trying the Thai Cookery Course too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

There's no way to do justice to this place in a review. If you're thinking it looks interesting, multiply your expectations by a factor of 100. It's terrific and you should just make your reservations now.

One special call out: we did an all day falconry experience with Sophie's mother, Mandy, which was unbelievably fun, and reason enough to stay here (if there weren't dozens of others). Thanks Mandy!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights during a works training course.
I can honestly say I cannot think of a dingle thing to moan about (apart from the weather)
The food was excellent, the staff were very friendly, the room was huge and clean, the bathroom was out of this world.
The decor wasn't my style (very old) but it suited the rest of the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank wbaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Swinton park for our anniversary plus a dozen or so close friends.
We adored the rooms which are all so totally gorgeous and individual. The staff were helpful in the extreme in showing us all the available rooms so that we could choose the best in advance of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble.
I have to mention that each room gets complimentary decanters of Whiskey Gin. They were emptied!
The setting and grounds are beautiful and to wake up to see the Deer wandering close by is delightful.
We had the Bridal suite which was the size of a decent apartment with a HUGE canopy bed that you could get lost in. The room sizes were enormous with a full size attached lounge.
The private dining experience with private pre dinner drinks was faultless and the whole experience was one that we will all cherish for a long time.
We know the surrounding area well and would not know where to start recommending to visit as there is so much to see and do.

Thank you to all the staff involved.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinHalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
747 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
15.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,687 reviews
24.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Property: Swinton Park
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing