We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful setting”
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swinton Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delightful setting”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

As my wife and I were attending a "Garden Lunch" event at Swinton we booked bed and breakfast for the previous night. At the time of booking I was told that we would be given the 'Whitby' room and made a note of the fact. On booking in we were allocated the 'Constable Burton' room and whilst it was the same category of room and very pleasant we thought the change unfortunate. The receptionist was unable to give any explanation for the change. Another small omission which should not occur in a Hotel of this quality was the discovery of a used tea bag still in the teapot in the room.
We acknowledge that the above are only small issues in an establishment which in every other respect was splendid. The bedrooms are spacious and very well equipped, the public rooms are sumptuous and the grounds are nothing short of delightful.
The "Garden Lunch" event hosted by Susan Cunliffe-lister was most enjoyable and informative.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    159
    58
    16
    12
See reviews for
189
788
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have been staying at Swinton Park for the last 10 years or so, visiting it 2 or 3 times a year. Although we live fairly nearby, it is a really wonderful place to stay for a short break at any time of year. The setting is fantastic, the service is first class, the accommodation is superb and the food is high quality. We have stayed in probably ten rooms in recent years and they are all very good. I would highlight the restaurant in particular. I can't understand why it hasn't gained a Michelin stare yet. It thoroughly deserves it. The grounds are really attractive - the deer park, the woods, lakes, etc. The hotel is very dog-friendly and that is a big factor in why we want to keep coming here. Swinton Park is our favourite hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are of high quality. The only real difference is in the size of rooms and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A much needed midweek break from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives. From the moment we walked through the door to leaving, we were treated with the utmost courtesy. We arrived a little too early to check in, but were given a guided door of the house before taking a seat outside on the terrace and enjoy a drink watching the bucks in the deerpark. We stayed in the gorgeous Scarborough room, and it was absolutely delightful. We booked dinner in Samuels, already knowing we were going to go for the tasting menu, and I highly recommend booking the spa for an exclusive hour to really get you in the mood for relaxation.
Dinner was superb, with wine to match the tasting menu, the waiter skilled in what he knew yet not insufferable with his descriptions of each course. I can't remember his name, but he was fantastic!
Breakfast was good, we came down towards the end so there wasn't a lot of continental choice left, but we were after a hearty full english before taking to the grounds on foot. It was superb.

With both myself and my partner working in Hotels, it is often very difficult to turn off when staying away, but we were both delighted in how easy we found it. I can't wait to stay at Swinton Park again!

Room Tip: Scarborough was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sopie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A much needed mid week relaxing break. Parked the car on arrival and never got in it again until departure . Acres of grounds to walk in A interesting walled kitchen garden. Falconry lessons. We hired electric bikes there and went of exploring North Yorkshire The food is amazing One little tip book early for dinner as everything cooked fresh and to order Have booked to go again in October

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at Swinton Park for the Tour de France. The hotel is set in its own vast parkland, overlooking a river, with its own herd of rare white deer. The staff are all very friendly, and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and relaxed. The hotel is a wonderful building, and the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The food is out of this world, the chef and his team are extremely talented. Swinton Park is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is a fairytale, but in the modern Disneyfied sense, not in the sense of olden times fairy tales that were actually rather bloody and gory. If I had to compare this to any fairytale it would have to be Cinderella. I DID go to the ball (but only figuratively there was no ball), I kept both of my shoes (helpful staff) and that's where the analogy ends. So whilst not actually a fairytale literally, it was a super stay. A fairytale.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank D'Bruno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is our 5th presentation dinner after a corporate golf day, but our first time at Swinton Park. What a fantastic experience! The service was impeccable, the food was delicious and the accomodation amazing. Laura Walker did a fabulous job of organising everything to make it a memorable occasion for all our guests. Thanks to all the staff involved and hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake and deer park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetta57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
746 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
15.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,686 reviews
24.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Property: Swinton Park
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing