We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yorke Arms(Pateley Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,423)
Filter reviews
1,423 results
Traveller rating
1,133
177
75
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,133
177
75
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomcookery schoolbirds of preydeer parksamuels restaurantterrace restaurantafternoon teaturret suitetasting menusloe ginstately homebradford roomboot roommorning roomwalled gardentreatment roomsclay pigeon shooting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,345 - 1,350 of 1,423 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2009

This is a huge country mansion/castle hotel which is set in 200 acres, is privately owned and has been gradually improved over the years.
If you enjoy outdoor pursuits such as shooting, walking, riding and golf, then you are well catered for here. There is even a boot room where guests can borrow any outdoor clothing they may have forgotten! You can bring your dog if you wish or alternatively there are kennels on site. There is also a converted stable block which is currently a cookery school.
The staff were helpful from the outset and included a half bottle of champagne and some Molton Brown products free of charge to celebrate my husband's birthday. There was also a baby listening service which allowed us to leave our 13 month old whilst we ate dinner. Our room (The Scarborough) had a dressing area with space for a travel cot which allowed us to sleep the baby in a separate area. Suites are also available but this was a less expensive option.
We bought a dinner, bed and breakfast package, which was sensibly priced. The food was excellent (much of it grown/reared on site) and the service in the restuarant perfectly pitched.
We both had a massage at the spa and although this area is still fairly small (there is no pool) our treatments were very good.
The nearby village of Masham (pronounced Masam) is pretty and worth a look.
Overall we thought this was a lovely hotel and would certainly like to visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

My fiance booked Swinton Park at the last minute after being let down at the last minute by a hotel elsewhere that had gone into administration. The weekend away was to celebrate my 50th birthday and he really couldn't have chosen a better venue.

The hotel has definitely got the "wow" factor as you drive through the gates and up the drive, and the personal welcome by the hotel staff couldn't have been warmer.

We had a private session in the hotel spa, followed by a wonderful massage for me, booked as a present by my fiance. Our room (Arldborough) was very comfortable, with an enormous bathroom, although the shower cubicle was surprisingly on the small side once inside.

We enjoy fine dining, and the food here did not disappoint, although the portion sizes were probably the smallest we've ever experienced. The quality more than made up for quantity, however.

On Saturday evening I was thrilled to receive a birthday cake made by the kitchen staff, and served with our coffee in the drawing room. A lovely gesture, especially consdering we'd only booked the day before!!!

I would have loved to see the falconry display, but as this was at 9.30 in the morning, it clashed with breakfast on both days. A later time would have been better, but at least we could see the birds of prey in their cages - very impressive!

After a bracing walk on Masham Moor on Saturday, I was treated to another 2 hours of treatments - a mud wrap and a facial, and I was very impressed by the facilities in the treatment rooms.

All in all, this was an amazing weekend away and a wonderful venue for my 50th birthday. We have vowed to return again. The sooner the better!

Thank you to everyone at Swinton Park for making my birthday so special.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Had a superb weekend !! The hotel was gorgeous and relaxing the staff were warm and couldnt do enough for you . Our food was out of this world we have travelled all around the world and have been to gorgeous restaurants but it was nothing like the food served the whole ambience was to perfection from the candle lit tables to the smell of the wood fire burning to the very friendly and charismatic waiters it was a perfect weekend TEN THUMBS UP FOR THIS HOTEL I RECOMMEND ANYONE WANTING A NIGHT AWAY TO BOOK THE WINter warmers package it includes a 3 course dinner and breakfast well worth the money , Anyways enough of my rambling on go book it .

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frustratedYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We had a fantastic stay at Swinton Park for my husband's birthday and couldn't rate the York Suite highly enough! It was spacious, comfortable and beautifully furnished. The little touches such as a hand written welcome card, small box of chocolates, complimentary G&T / Whisky & Jo Malone products set the hotel apart.

We found that the staff were very friendly and helpful but not stuffy. Another nice touch was arriving for Dinner and being greeted personally and the complimentary canapé’s pre dinner in the bar.

We had a very enjoyable spa experience, which included the best massage I have ever experienced and found the therapists to be very knowledgeable and welcoming.

Although we have stayed in some wonderful places before, Swinton Park exceeded our expaectations and we would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JnJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We stayed for one night in The Turret Suite. Its very imprsssive although as warned, there are a lot of stairs as you would imagine. The bathroom is stunning and the Jo Malone toiletries are a lovely touch. The only slight criticisms are that the lounge was quite cold and not that comfortable to relax in. Some squashy sofas and another radiator would help. There were also a few chips and scuffs on the wallpaper which could be touched up but these are very minor points. The staff are very attentive and welcoming. The spa is tiny but as we'd booked it we had it to ourselves for an hour which was lovely. The food was superb, we had dinner in the restaurant. We had a very enjoyable stay and we'll definitely return (can't wait to try the other suites!) and would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank saldav9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews