We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous romantic location for a wedding”
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gorgeous romantic location for a wedding”
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night for a friend's wedding. The building itself is stunning and has been sensitvely converted into a hotel. The bedrooms are massive - our room, Beverley, was bigger than our one bed flat in London!
Everything seemed to run very smoothly for the wedding, the only comment I have is that the drawing room had a bit too much furniture in it to be used comfortably for drinks with 150 guestst.
I would definitely reccomend Swinton Park as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanieskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    156
    58
    16
    12
See reviews for
188
783
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed at Swinton Park for the second time in February - this time in the Masham bedroom, which has delightful views over the estate. This hotel is magnificent, a lovely building set in beautiful scenery, with many acres of parkland to explore and walks along the riverside and across the surrounding countryside.The town of Masham is well worth exploring too especially the Black Sheep Brewery. Our bedroom was large, luxurious and comfortable and the meals in the stunning restaurant were of the highest quality. The staff of this hotel offer excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed for one night only as a birthday treat.

We stayed in the Scarborough room which was lovely - better than the photos!

If we had stayed longer we would have explored the grounds, seen the falconry display used the billiards room, spa etc.

As it was, we relaxed in our room and ordered a bottle of champagne. This did not arrive for over an hour, and only after prompting. Never mind, we sampled the small complimentary decanters of gin and whisky while waiting!

Food in the restaurant was very fancy (small portions very artistically arranged) and very delicious. The dining room was very grand and romantically lit. The staff were friendly and helpful (although dessert took an awfully long time to arrive and they had to double check what we had ordered).

Breakfast in our room was fabulous with everything one could want. We will definitely be back and will stay longer next time.

The only minor criticism is that the upholstery on a lot of the furniture (in the room and drawing room) is getting quite grubby and taints the otherwise spectacular grandeur.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

This is a huge country mansion/castle hotel which is set in 200 acres, is privately owned and has been gradually improved over the years.
If you enjoy outdoor pursuits such as shooting, walking, riding and golf, then you are well catered for here. There is even a boot room where guests can borrow any outdoor clothing they may have forgotten! You can bring your dog if you wish or alternatively there are kennels on site. There is also a converted stable block which is currently a cookery school.
The staff were helpful from the outset and included a half bottle of champagne and some Molton Brown products free of charge to celebrate my husband's birthday. There was also a baby listening service which allowed us to leave our 13 month old whilst we ate dinner. Our room (The Scarborough) had a dressing area with space for a travel cot which allowed us to sleep the baby in a separate area. Suites are also available but this was a less expensive option.
We bought a dinner, bed and breakfast package, which was sensibly priced. The food was excellent (much of it grown/reared on site) and the service in the restuarant perfectly pitched.
We both had a massage at the spa and although this area is still fairly small (there is no pool) our treatments were very good.
The nearby village of Masham (pronounced Masam) is pretty and worth a look.
Overall we thought this was a lovely hotel and would certainly like to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

My fiance booked Swinton Park at the last minute after being let down at the last minute by a hotel elsewhere that had gone into administration. The weekend away was to celebrate my 50th birthday and he really couldn't have chosen a better venue.

The hotel has definitely got the "wow" factor as you drive through the gates and up the drive, and the personal welcome by the hotel staff couldn't have been warmer.

We had a private session in the hotel spa, followed by a wonderful massage for me, booked as a present by my fiance. Our room (Arldborough) was very comfortable, with an enormous bathroom, although the shower cubicle was surprisingly on the small side once inside.

We enjoy fine dining, and the food here did not disappoint, although the portion sizes were probably the smallest we've ever experienced. The quality more than made up for quantity, however.

On Saturday evening I was thrilled to receive a birthday cake made by the kitchen staff, and served with our coffee in the drawing room. A lovely gesture, especially consdering we'd only booked the day before!!!

I would have loved to see the falconry display, but as this was at 9.30 in the morning, it clashed with breakfast on both days. A later time would have been better, but at least we could see the birds of prey in their cages - very impressive!

After a bracing walk on Masham Moor on Saturday, I was treated to another 2 hours of treatments - a mud wrap and a facial, and I was very impressed by the facilities in the treatment rooms.

All in all, this was an amazing weekend away and a wonderful venue for my 50th birthday. We have vowed to return again. The sooner the better!

Thank you to everyone at Swinton Park for making my birthday so special.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Had a superb weekend !! The hotel was gorgeous and relaxing the staff were warm and couldnt do enough for you . Our food was out of this world we have travelled all around the world and have been to gorgeous restaurants but it was nothing like the food served the whole ambience was to perfection from the candle lit tables to the smell of the wood fire burning to the very friendly and charismatic waiters it was a perfect weekend TEN THUMBS UP FOR THIS HOTEL I RECOMMEND ANYONE WANTING A NIGHT AWAY TO BOOK THE WINter warmers package it includes a 3 course dinner and breakfast well worth the money , Anyways enough of my rambling on go book it .

  • Liked — my view
  • Disliked — Nothing couldn't fault it
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frustratedYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We had a fantastic stay at Swinton Park for my husband's birthday and couldn't rate the York Suite highly enough! It was spacious, comfortable and beautifully furnished. The little touches such as a hand written welcome card, small box of chocolates, complimentary G&T / Whisky & Jo Malone products set the hotel apart.

We found that the staff were very friendly and helpful but not stuffy. Another nice touch was arriving for Dinner and being greeted personally and the complimentary canapé’s pre dinner in the bar.

We had a very enjoyable spa experience, which included the best massage I have ever experienced and found the therapists to be very knowledgeable and welcoming.

Although we have stayed in some wonderful places before, Swinton Park exceeded our expaectations and we would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and look forward to our next visit!

  • Liked — Attention to detail, attentive staff without being OTT, decor / surroundings
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JnJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
24.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Property: Swinton Park
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing