We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place for Mum's 60th birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for Mum's 60th birthday treat”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Having read the reviews for the hotel, and planning a trip away for my Mum's 60th, I decided to splash out on Swinton Park. It is more expensive than other hotels ( I opted for the £600 spa break with treatments including two nights dinner bed and breakfast), but I wanted to go somewhere that could guarantee an amazing experience, and this seemed to be the place that would offer this.

Too much to write about really, but the highlights were; the food (think Masterchef!), our room (Middleham- we were upgraded) the falconry display where we were able held the bird, the surrounding land and picturesque walks with beautiful lakes, the stunning garden, the private spa (what a great idea!), Molten Brown toiletries in our room and at turndown, the treatments, the variety of wildlife in the grounds of the hotel, the absolute grandness of everything, and last but not least the fantastic service from all the staff.

The only downside I can report was that I had paid for 3 hours of spa treatments which were to be included in the package and which was arranged by telephone beforehand (an hour and a half each). However my mum and I had only one hour each , so I lost the extra hour I had paid for, which I felt was disappointing as the weekend by no means cheap. I know this may sound petty but having paid quite a bit I expected to get the works and not to lose an hour of the time I had booked.

That aside, if you are looking for somewhere amazing and with the wow factor you will not be disappointed with the overall experience at Swinton Park.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangledlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    163
    59
    16
    13
See reviews for
203
806
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Just returned from a lovely stay at Swinton Park. It was everything the reviews described. My Husband did the one day cookery course which he throughly enjoyed and i joined him at a very reasonable price of £20 to eat his culinary delights! We were upgraded to the Bradford room with it being a Sunday night stay and could not have been given a better room with a better view. Staff were very polite and helpful and on booking did everything they could to accommodate us. Also used the Spa which you can book for you own private use. Very small but lovely all the same. Would definitely recommend this if you want somewhere totally relaxing and away from the everyday hustle and bustle of life!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary and couldn't have asked for a more perfect place. The hotel itself has that 'wow' factor when you drive up to it and from beginning to end the staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Everywhere is exceptionally clean, our bedroom was beautiful and spacious with glorious views and the food was outstanding. We will definately return in the future. A big thankyou to everyone!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This place is absolutely amazing. When you arrive it feels like you've come to a house party at a (very rich!) friend's house. You hardly notice you are in a hotel: each room feels tucked away and private. And despite the fact the hotel oozes luxury there is absolutely no sense of snobbishness. The staff are super friendly do everything to give you the weekend you want, whether it's slopping around in jeans or dressed to the nines sipping champagne on the lawn.

Children are made very welcome; it feels comfortable to bring them here and there’s a playground and loads of games, football pitch, riding stables – everything they could want. There were several young children staying when we were there, including our two (8 and 6) and none of them were disturbing anyone else.

Coming from the city, as we do, we very much welcomed the total peace and quiet that staying on this country estate ensured – no roads, just expanses of grass, lakes, mature trees, and behind them the Yorkshire hills with hardly a building in site.

We stayed in the Turret Suite, which is absolutely amazing. The sitting room became the children’s own room, we watched the sunrise from our castle-like bed and the bathroom! Indescribable – round – beautiful with an absolute gem of a free standing bath in the centre with one of those showers that rains on you from the side as well as from the top.

We will never, ever forget this. Just thinking about it makes me feel relaxed. When we had to drag ourselves away, our thoughts all turned to the same thing: ‘how soon can we get back here?’

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekendcherisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I've stayed at Swinton Park a couple of times now and I must say, it really is just an wonderful experience (although it has to be a treat!!)

The first time was just myself and my girlfriend to celebrate our anniversary.

We stayed in the York Suite, which really is the size of a small hotel, rather than a hotel room! The bathroom is luxurious and the bed out of this world.

We also had private use of the spa for an hour on arrival, which was lovely (although quite small)

Before dinner, we had a walk around the grounds, which were kept wonderfully.

Dinner was amazing and a great waiter called Jim!

Our second stay was with a group of 16 for my Dad's 60th birthday.

I must say, it was quite hard to organise, but Swinton really pulled out all of the stops for our celebration including a champagne reception, afternoon tea and the most incredible dinner in a private dining room.

All of the rooms taken were perfect and we just found the whole birthday experience amazing.

If you fancy an amazing weekend away - go to Swinton (they have good offers on a Sunday night!!)

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NumbersONEandTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night for a friend's wedding. The building itself is stunning and has been sensitvely converted into a hotel. The bedrooms are massive - our room, Beverley, was bigger than our one bed flat in London!
Everything seemed to run very smoothly for the wedding, the only comment I have is that the drawing room had a bit too much furniture in it to be used comfortably for drinks with 150 guestst.
I would definitely reccomend Swinton Park as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanieskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed at Swinton Park for the second time in February - this time in the Masham bedroom, which has delightful views over the estate. This hotel is magnificent, a lovely building set in beautiful scenery, with many acres of parkland to explore and walks along the riverside and across the surrounding countryside.The town of Masham is well worth exploring too especially the Black Sheep Brewery. Our bedroom was large, luxurious and comfortable and the meals in the stunning restaurant were of the highest quality. The staff of this hotel offer excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
463 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
21.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
404 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Property: Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing