We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good Yorkshire hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Again with friends in Yorkshire we found this beautiful hotel. Very impressive approach but relaxed welcome and beautiful rooms. More expensive than the other hotel but worth every penny and already planning to return and try the cookery course. Again the staff were delightful so it must be true what they say about the north and it was a treat to take afternoon tea in the magnificent drawing room.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jano28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
There are newer reviews for Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,198 - 1,204 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2010

My wife and I and my friend and his wife have just spent four wonderful days at the Swinton Park Hotel. We were celebrating both our wive's birthdays and we couldn't have chosen a better place. From arriving to leaving the friendliness and knowledge of the staff made the break perfect. The chef's special evening meals were an absolute delight and the walks around the park were so interesting. Do I sound like we enjoyed ourselves? You bet! The only drawback? The weather, but what do you expect in North Yorkshire in Winter?

It was in fact my wife's and my second visit, we went there six years ago for her birthday and wanted somewhere special to celebrate again. We couldn't have chosen a better place and my friend and his wife were so taken with the place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010Aesop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Stayed here a number of times - most recently in their Thorp Perrow room - we can only recommend this little gem of a place. Don't get me wrong, you pay for the pleasure, but it's worth every penny. The rooms are large and beautifully, individually furnished -they can be a little gloomy, more more in a low-lit romantic way.

The staff are lovely - friendly, approachable and helpful. Some reviews have suggested that they may be pretentious, but we have never found them as such.

The food is fabulous - if you want menu details check out their website and drool over their details! Tasty, thoughtful, local and seasonal, the dishes are not generously portioned, but magnificent nevertheless.

The private spa is a must - you're given the key and it's all yours for the hour - complete luxury! No swimming pool, but as a new(ish) hotel this is an area where I suspect they may expand in the future.

The communal areas are typically country house, furnished in the style usually associated with these homes. Yes, they are older and the carpets thinner in some places, but this in no way detracts from the opulance of the place. It instead reinforces the experience of a country gent with authenticity.

The setting is glorious, with a long meandering drive up to a grand archway entrance where you are greeted. Behind the building are gorgeous gardens with a multitude of walks if varying difficulty and length and to the side is the deerpark. From the Bradford room we woke up and watched the deer cantering through the dawn mists - just breathtaking.

This is before mentioning other lovely little touches - private cinema, a service to de-ice your car in the morning, a greetings card and chocolates that welcome us back on each visit and so many others: all of this means I can wholehearted recommend Swinton Park and would suggest it be considered ahead of other 'Premium' hotels in North Yorksire, naming no names!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butterfluts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

2 night dinner bed and breakfast break in the Turret Suite. Hard to believe but dead flies on floor of all 3 rooms. Dozens of them. Porter said they "had a problem" and pest control were dealing with it..Food excellent sadly let down by knowledge of waiting staff.
Whitby kippers for breakfast- which company smoked them?-no answer and no finding out. Is this rose wine dry?I asked whilst studying wine list,shoulder shrug and again no answer.On the £45 dinner menu ordered cheese ,found on checkout a £5 supplement which was not mentioned.
Specifically asked for copy of evening menu to take home-"no problem" -but never appeared. The hotel was not busy with only total of 4 tables on both evenings Beautiful setting and parkland,sauna suite excellent with individual booking and use, a castle experience which regrettably had this been in mediaeval times should have resulted in a number of hangings!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridgeman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlebeHG4, Owner at Swinton Park Country Club and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Dear Guests
Thank you for your recent review and for taking the trouble to bring these issues to our attention.
We are aware of the problem with flies in the Turret Suite, and the woodwork has been treated. Unfortunately this is a problem that is inherent in old buildings, which has been exacerbated by the current cold spell.
I must also apologise for the disappointing level of service experienced which falls far below our usual standards. This has been addressed with our staff and we will continue to train and monitor our service standards carefully.
I am, however, pleased to read that you enjoyed our excellent food and other facilities, and hope that you are able to take the opportunity to stay with us again soon. You might be interested in our Gourmet Weekend at the end of February with tastings and demonstrations in the cookery school, or our Easter package with trips to the Open Day at the Middleham stables, complimentary Easter Tea and discounted rates on our Yorkshire Fare demonstration courses in the Cookery School.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Having decided that a short country break was in order, I came across Swinton Park thanks to lastminute.com. The price was much cheaper than the advertised rates, the past reviews were fabulous and the stunning scenery made the whole offer very enticing indeed.

When me and my companion trundled up the long, grand drive in our trusty 2001 Ford Ka, we realised that we were indeed in for a special time at this hotel. From the first moment we stepped inside the Drawing Room with its stunning log fire and immensely helpful and cheerful receptionists, we felt completely at home. In my experience, many hotels of this type can feel stuffy, old fashioned and even pretentious. Luckily, Swinton Park doesn’t fit into any of these categories. Though there is a reassuring air of formality and professionalism amongst the staff, not once were we made to feel the slightest bit unwelcome and nothing was a bother.

We were placed in Burton Agnes (one of the middle priced rooms) and it shares the level of grandeur found throughout the rest of the hotel. This room is graced with twin sided period windows which overlook the lower lake and parkland. The room was impeccably clean and tidy and the tea and coffee facilities were fortified with complementary whisky and gin. The bathroom is larger than most London flats with a thunderous shower and gorgeous Georgian suite. All in all, we were quite content to order room service which meant we missed out on dinner in the restaurant, though we can vouch that breakfast had an ample selection and in the words of my companion, was ‘yummy’ (praise indeed!).

Before we left we are indulged in the hotels spa which guests can book out for hour long slots at a time. This is what really makes Swinton Park stand out from other similar locations. For an indulgent 60 minutes you get private use of the sauna, Jacuzzi and showers (beware of the metal handle on the wall unless someone you’re not fond of is underneath it!).

We would have no hesitation in coming back to Swinton Park and have already recommended it to our friends. The standard rates are high, however there are ample offers available from the hotel so there’s no reason not to wallow in the Georgian grandeur for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jt252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Wow - from the moment we arrived to the moment we left (after 2 nights) it was one long, great, luxurious but friendly experience.
Staff: all friendly, efficient and knowledgeable - we had feared that it may be just a little bit too formal or stuffy, but not at all.
Hotel public areas: beautiful, and perfectly furnished (and clean and no sign of shabbyness or a need for TLC as noted in a previous review!) - totally in keeping with the house itself - the lounge was great - roaring fire and loads of comfy sofas and chairs. And when we had afternoon tea the waitress brought a perfect white table cloth to pay it on: real tea (excellent house blend by Taylors of Harrogate) and great fruit cake.
Bedroom: wow again! We had booked a specific room in the next but lowest category (still great but just all our limited funds could really justify!) however on arrival we found we had been upgraded not one step but two! So we had the Fountains Abbey room which was about the size of our lounge, hall and 3 bedrooms at home! It also had a huge, spotless bathroom with great shower and enormous bath. View of the garden (with dead rabbit on the lawn below!!) and just so relaxing feeling. Huge bed (3 pillows wide), robes, complementary gin and whisky - with ice bucket filled every day at 4ish!
NIce welcome letter left out for us, and a little box of handmade truffles and a card congratualting us on our anniversary! (i had mentioned this when I booked so maybe hence the upgrade? Also it did not seem overly busy so I guess they do it when they can)
Food: don't know where to start! We do like good food, but I have to say we have never actually dined like this before - small, but perfectly formed courses, with tastes and textures married and matched absoltely perfectly. On the first night we were lucky enough to get 2 places at the Chefs table (held in the cookery school next door) and that in itself was a fantastic experience - canapes, starter, main, dessert all brought together in front of us by an excellent young chef.
On the second night we ate in Samuels and from start to finish it was perfect - as was the dining room itself. Tiny, individual canapes (served on a slate - they like their slates here - but it actually works!) and then a truly delicious "amuse bouche" of a small cup of celeriac veloute. Then starters, mains and a wonderful "pre dessert" which was one of the most delicious things my husband and I have ever eaten - a simple light blackcurrent and apple jelly with elderflower foam (a light mousse?) on top. Just a small serving but perfect! Then dessert with smoke in a jar!!
Oh and great bread!
Breakfast: again perfect - homemade, gorgeous croissants and pastrys - freshly squeezed orange juice, smoked haddock and a perfect poached egg - husband had full breakfast and said it was the best scrambled egg he'd ever had...I could go on and on!
We did use the spa for an hour when we first arrived and it was very relaxing, jacuzzi and sauna - loads of towels, robes and slippers plus toiletries and so on. And as it is "private" use then you feel very pampered. We did not have any treatments but were tempted - just ran out of time..
Yes it was fairly expensive at £460ish plus wine for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast for two. HOWEVER when I compare that to the £110 I paid last June for one night in a Holiday Inn Express in London (City Road, not even right in the middle!) with just a very feeble continental breakfast, it puts it a bit more into perspective!!
I really hope we will go back to Swinton Park and in fact I am already making noises about my 50th next year!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeherdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Flawless service beginning at meet/greet (valet parking) through reception and dining staff. All friendly and professional. Informed and well-received cookery demo from Chef Robert (a talent to be encouraged and retained) then superb dinner. Good choices throughout, locally-sourced produce, impeccable presentation and flavours. Our suite (York) was immaculate, combining beautifully kept antiques with comfortable furnishings. Well-stocked contemporary bathroom. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillWYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
472 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
24.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
24.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park Country Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park Country Club and Spa

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: £157 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park Country Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Swinton Park Country Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing