We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swinton Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Went and stayed at this hotel for my partners birthday and valentines. Stayed in the Howarth Room absolutely wonderful. Had an hours free spa, free welcome drinks (whisky and gin), tea, coffee and biscuits.

Staff friendly and welcoming.


Should be a five star in my opinion and I have stayed in some nice places!!!!

If you don't go your missing out. Very romantic reminds me of Chatsworth House.

Had a most wonderful weekend and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekybea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    157
    58
    16
    12
See reviews for
188
783
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, Essex
Level Contributor
346 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This was the fourth time that we have stayed at this property and it
just seems to get better and better! This time we brought our Daughter's
Chihuahua with us. We 'phoned the hotel first and were told that they welcomed
dogs and as ours was so small, "it would not be a problem"!
We checked in and were shown to our suite which was beautiful. Our dog had been catered for perfectly, with her own basket, rug and food and drink bowls!
The staff called to check that all was well. We then walked the grounds, as usual,
and saw many deer in the wooded areas.
As the evening approached, it was time for dinner. First a large G&T in the bar and
a superb dinner in the main dinining room. Dinner was First Class with a great choice from the menue. There is also a vast selection of wines from the list, from the reasonably priced house wines upwards! A cognac and coffee in the lounge and then to bed.
Breakfast is a real treat with most of the meats sourced locally.
Later in the day we went over to the Cookery School where we were shown how to prepare a selection of deserts, most of which we ate during the "demo" or took with
us!!!
There is so much to do here, and the location is second to none!
The staff are always friendly and chatty and we've always found the hotel very good value
for money. The hotel manager, Mr McPherson always seems to be around so I guess
that he must live "above the shop"!!!!
All in all, I would recomend this hotel to all age groups as they are "children friendly"
and put up with "fussy old people" (64) like me!!!!!!
Terry & Tina Rothery Billericay, Essex

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryrothery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Again with friends in Yorkshire we found this beautiful hotel. Very impressive approach but relaxed welcome and beautiful rooms. More expensive than the other hotel but worth every penny and already planning to return and try the cookery course. Again the staff were delightful so it must be true what they say about the north and it was a treat to take afternoon tea in the magnificent drawing room.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jano28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, Lancs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

My wife and I and my friend and his wife have just spent four wonderful days at the Swinton Park Hotel. We were celebrating both our wive's birthdays and we couldn't have chosen a better place. From arriving to leaving the friendliness and knowledge of the staff made the break perfect. The chef's special evening meals were an absolute delight and the walks around the park were so interesting. Do I sound like we enjoyed ourselves? You bet! The only drawback? The weather, but what do you expect in North Yorkshire in Winter?

It was in fact my wife's and my second visit, we went there six years ago for her birthday and wanted somewhere special to celebrate again. We couldn't have chosen a better place and my friend and his wife were so taken with the place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010Aesop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Stayed here a number of times - most recently in their Thorp Perrow room - we can only recommend this little gem of a place. Don't get me wrong, you pay for the pleasure, but it's worth every penny. The rooms are large and beautifully, individually furnished -they can be a little gloomy, more more in a low-lit romantic way.

The staff are lovely - friendly, approachable and helpful. Some reviews have suggested that they may be pretentious, but we have never found them as such.

The food is fabulous - if you want menu details check out their website and drool over their details! Tasty, thoughtful, local and seasonal, the dishes are not generously portioned, but magnificent nevertheless.

The private spa is a must - you're given the key and it's all yours for the hour - complete luxury! No swimming pool, but as a new(ish) hotel this is an area where I suspect they may expand in the future.

The communal areas are typically country house, furnished in the style usually associated with these homes. Yes, they are older and the carpets thinner in some places, but this in no way detracts from the opulance of the place. It instead reinforces the experience of a country gent with authenticity.

The setting is glorious, with a long meandering drive up to a grand archway entrance where you are greeted. Behind the building are gorgeous gardens with a multitude of walks if varying difficulty and length and to the side is the deerpark. From the Bradford room we woke up and watched the deer cantering through the dawn mists - just breathtaking.

This is before mentioning other lovely little touches - private cinema, a service to de-ice your car in the morning, a greetings card and chocolates that welcome us back on each visit and so many others: all of this means I can wholehearted recommend Swinton Park and would suggest it be considered ahead of other 'Premium' hotels in North Yorksire, naming no names!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterfluts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

2 night dinner bed and breakfast break in the Turret Suite. Hard to believe but dead flies on floor of all 3 rooms. Dozens of them. Porter said they "had a problem" and pest control were dealing with it..Food excellent sadly let down by knowledge of waiting staff.
Whitby kippers for breakfast- which company smoked them?-no answer and no finding out. Is this rose wine dry?I asked whilst studying wine list,shoulder shrug and again no answer.On the £45 dinner menu ordered cheese ,found on checkout a £5 supplement which was not mentioned.
Specifically asked for copy of evening menu to take home-"no problem" -but never appeared. The hotel was not busy with only total of 4 tables on both evenings Beautiful setting and parkland,sauna suite excellent with individual booking and use, a castle experience which regrettably had this been in mediaeval times should have resulted in a number of hangings!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgeman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlebeHG4, Owner at Swinton Park, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
Dear Guests
Thank you for your recent review and for taking the trouble to bring these issues to our attention.
We are aware of the problem with flies in the Turret Suite, and the woodwork has been treated. Unfortunately this is a problem that is inherent in old buildings, which has been exacerbated by the current cold spell.
I must also apologise for the disappointing level of service experienced which falls far below our usual standards. This has been addressed with our staff and we will continue to train and monitor our service standards carefully.
I am, however, pleased to read that you enjoyed our excellent food and other facilities, and hope that you are able to take the opportunity to stay with us again soon. You might be interested in our Gourmet Weekend at the end of February with tastings and demonstrations in the cookery school, or our Easter package with trips to the Open Day at the Middleham stables, complimentary Easter Tea and discounted rates on our Yorkshire Fare demonstration courses in the Cookery School.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Having decided that a short country break was in order, I came across Swinton Park thanks to lastminute.com. The price was much cheaper than the advertised rates, the past reviews were fabulous and the stunning scenery made the whole offer very enticing indeed.

When me and my companion trundled up the long, grand drive in our trusty 2001 Ford Ka, we realised that we were indeed in for a special time at this hotel. From the first moment we stepped inside the Drawing Room with its stunning log fire and immensely helpful and cheerful receptionists, we felt completely at home. In my experience, many hotels of this type can feel stuffy, old fashioned and even pretentious. Luckily, Swinton Park doesn’t fit into any of these categories. Though there is a reassuring air of formality and professionalism amongst the staff, not once were we made to feel the slightest bit unwelcome and nothing was a bother.

We were placed in Burton Agnes (one of the middle priced rooms) and it shares the level of grandeur found throughout the rest of the hotel. This room is graced with twin sided period windows which overlook the lower lake and parkland. The room was impeccably clean and tidy and the tea and coffee facilities were fortified with complementary whisky and gin. The bathroom is larger than most London flats with a thunderous shower and gorgeous Georgian suite. All in all, we were quite content to order room service which meant we missed out on dinner in the restaurant, though we can vouch that breakfast had an ample selection and in the words of my companion, was ‘yummy’ (praise indeed!).

Before we left we are indulged in the hotels spa which guests can book out for hour long slots at a time. This is what really makes Swinton Park stand out from other similar locations. For an indulgent 60 minutes you get private use of the sauna, Jacuzzi and showers (beware of the metal handle on the wall unless someone you’re not fond of is underneath it!).

We would have no hesitation in coming back to Swinton Park and have already recommended it to our friends. The standard rates are high, however there are ample offers available from the hotel so there’s no reason not to wallow in the Georgian grandeur for a long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jt252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
24.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Property: Swinton Park
Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing