We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Old Deanery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Deanery
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just got back from 4nights stay at deanery made us welcome as soon as you got there owner very helpfully and friendly staff brilliant just mentioned our light in hall not working and Brett came straight away to fix breakfast is cooked well and fresh we had fried and scrambled egg also eggs florentine which was great one nights dinner and all food brilliant this is our second stay here and we will be back stayed in room 5which over looked the cathedral shutters on window which we left open nice big room and massive bed slept well thanks to all the staff for making our trip so enjoyable

Room Tip: Front rooms over look cathedral and road so if you want quite ask for room over looking garden and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
It's great to hear you enjoyed another relaxing stay with us here at The Old Deanery. I will pass on all your compliments to the chefs at both breakfast and dinner, and of course Brett for providing you with our outstanding personal service, which is standard for all our guests. Room 5 is a magnificent room and gives you a true sense of the grand scale of the cathedral we are so lucky to be in proximity to, it really is a joy to stay in and I'm glad you had such a good nights sleep! We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    82
    23
    6
    0
See reviews for
78
246
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
240 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This small and characterful hotel was once the Dean's house, it is now nicely converted to commercial use and not is not chain owned. It is right next door to the cathedral in the centre of the quiet and charming town of Ripon.
It is not luxury or even up market but it is small, clean, functional and with that kind of personal service that one can enjoy from such establishments. One disadvantage of having no lift or air-conditioning and I was on the very top floor.

I would stay there again, albeit it was slightly pricey, because of the friendly but efficient service from the manager who seemed to do everything from check in to check out plus serving a good breakfast. I suppose that is why it is personal, you get to know him rather quickly.

I imagine that most guests would be tourists rather than business, but a company with which I am associated recently put up some important overseas business customers to stay there for almost a week and they made them very welcome which certainly helped to support our business image.

I am happy to give them praise.

Room Tip: A ground or first floor if you can get it to avoid the stair climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
It is disappointing that you found us slightly pricey and would not consider us an up-market hotel, a view that isn't shared by the majority of our guests here. Each room has its own charm and comfort and I feel that our tailored prices for the category of room reflect this fairly. Unfortunately, as you have stated, we do not have a lift or air-con which is down to the nature of our historic building, making us unable to install these. However, when booking you can choose a room on the first floor if you have any mobility problems and all rooms are equipped with fans during the summer months (and have fixed radiators for those cold winter nights). It is great to hear you appreciated the personal service we give all our guests here, from arrival to departure and I am equally pleased to hear we helped support your business image while accommodating for some of your customers. We do in fact have many business people staying with us regularly as well as tourists to the Ripon area. Thank you for all your comments and we look forward to welcoming yourself, or your business customers back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights over the Tour de Yorkshire weekend. Room 2 is large and very comfortable overlooking the grounds to the rear. We ate in the restaurant both nights and were delighted with both the quality of the food and the standard of service. If anything, breakfast is even better.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MSHoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Another short and kind review! Thank you for such nice comments about your stay here. It's great to hear you chose The Old Deanery to stay while Le Tour visited Yorkshire. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent two nights in the honeymoon suite and really enjoyed it. The room was huge and had great character and a fantastic big sash window looking out over the garden. The only small negative was that the wardrobe was pretty fusty and needed airing out - to the point where we didn't hang our clothes in it as we thought they would smell afterwards. Not a big deal though.

The staff were excellent throughout our stay - they were really friendly and helpful, and teh whole place had much more comfortable feel than I find you have in chain hotels (I believe the Old Deanery remains family run).

The position is also great for exploring the town - right next to the Cathedral and a couple of minutes walk from the main square. There's a really nice pub for dinner - the Royal Oak - very close as well. I can't comment on the food offered at the Old Deanery itself as we chose to eat out for the two nights we stayed.

There wee a couple of small things at breakfast that could have been better Admittedly we got down for breakfast quite late but there was no fruit left one day and very little the other. They also had Radio 1 playing, and at a volume that was loud enough to be annoying whilst talking.

These are very minor gripes though, and overall we very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and any issues identified, are minor ones. The wardrobe you have mentioned has had a good airing out as you've suggested, along with all our other wardrobes so no other guests feel the same way upon their visit. It is unfortunate you did not enjoy your breakfast as much as you could have done. It is rare that we play Radio 1 at breakfast and I can only apologise that you found the volume too loud. Myself, along with the other managers are now a lot more conscious about this so thank you for pointing it out to us. I would also like to apologise that the manager on duty during the breakfasts mentioned did not re-stock the fruit sufficiently throughout the duration of service. This is not usually the case and I will pass on your comments to the other staff so we can improve our breakfast service. Thank for you for your kind words and constructive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just got back after a stay at The Old Deanery. From the moment we got there and was met by Grace who was so professional and friendly to the owner Linda and all the staff they could not do enough for us.
The room was fantastic , the food superb. If you want a great relaxing stay you must go here.
First class from start to finish , will definately be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Such a short, sweet review! I will make sure Grace, Linda and all the staff are aware of your kind comments. Maybe we'll get those 5 stars some day! We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed as a family in this hotel for a wedding. It was great. We were in room 11. The food was excellent, well done Chef. The room was spacious and clean and very well presented. The staff and owner worked very hard to make it a really enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0191crofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Another happy wedding guest! We are so glad you enjoyed celebrating a special day with us here at The Old Deanery. I'll make sure the chef is aware of his special mention! We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for one night. Wonderful position right beside Ripon Cathedral. We were greeted in a very friendly manner, escorted to our first floor room overlooking the garden and informed that we could take drinks in the garden (it was a beautiful sunny afternoon). Our room was a good size with lots of amenities - hot drinks/biscuits, iron/ironing board and Molton Brown toiletries. All the staff were very friendly. A good car park and lots of choice of restaurants and pubs within walking distance make this hotel very convenient for any visit to Ripon. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 overlooking the garden. A good size room, smallish bathroom (shower only) but a...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LindaB_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaRipon, Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
It's great to hear you took advantage of our huge back garden; on a summers evening it is simply beautiful and a drink next to our weeping willows cannot be beaten! Thank you for such a kind review and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Chris - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
8.3 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
366 reviews
11.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,529 reviews
22.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Deanery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Deanery

Property: The Old Deanery
Address: Old Deanery Minster Road | Minster Road, Ripon HG4 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Deanery 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your way up the traditional 17th century oak staircase to find 11 bespoke en suite bedrooms, all with their own individual charm and character. With lovely views from both sides of the hotel and all the modern amenities in your room, you are guaranteed a peaceful and restful stay with us. Dog & child friendly, you don't have to leave anyone at home while you explore the stunning Yorkshire Dales! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Deanery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Deanery Hotel Ripon
Old Deanery Ripon
Old Deanery Hotel Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing