We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Workhouse Museum

Workhouse Museum
Ranked #7 of 31 things to do in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: WE ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR THE WINTER SEASON AND WILL REOPEN ON SATURDAY 13TH FEBRUARY 2016. IF YOU ARE A GROUP OR SCHOOL WE CAN ARRANGE SPECIALISED VISITS DURING OUR CLOSED SEASON. Ripon Museums host the trio of the Workhouse Museum, The Prison & Police Museums and Ripon's Courthouse Museum. These museums interpret the history of Law and order and Social Justice through the 18th Century and beyond in Ripon and Yorkshire. Discover how the poor were treated, what the inmates word, what the inmates ate and the hard labour that the paupers and vagrants undertook during their stay at the Workhouse. Become a school pupil in a Victorian classroom See the Collection of Police memorabilia and Victorian punishments in the old Liberty Prison. The Courthouse museum is a fine example of a Georgian building with costumes and props associated with the Victorian legal profession. Family activities during holidays are a great way for the children to be engaged with the history of the buildings and the stories of the past. Suitable for school visits with a comprehensive learning programme offered to teachers and group leaders alike. Annual Passes are available for unlimited repeat visits to all museums - a great value way to explore all 3 sites and return for special exhibitions and events!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Learnt lots of things about the workhouse, not just this one but throughout Yorkshire a really enjoyable morning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank anitainjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    82
    18
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ripon Workhouse Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Small child friendly museum located in centre of Ripon. Visited with 6 year old granddaughter, who enjoyed the unusual experience. Staff very friendly & with lots of knowledge of museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank riggers1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A big surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This really opened my eyes to the past. Didn't realize how hard it was to be in the Workhouse. I appreciate everything that my parents did for me. Youngest today should be made to spend a day as a workhouse occupant. A very interesting place

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank morebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Very interesting, makes you realise how lucky we are. The volunteers were very friendly and informative.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Visiting this very Dickensian establishment gives you a real sense of how the poor were treated. You leave it feeling very lucky for your own lives.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Workhouse Museum also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Workhouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing