We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible rooms! Nice food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Unicorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Unicorn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrible rooms! Nice food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed in the Unicorn for 1 night as we were attending a wedding at Fountains Abbey.
The Unicorn is currently being renovated and the Reception, dining rooms and bar have been done and are very pleasant. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and the staff all nice.
The problem is the rooms are very tired and should have been renovated 5 years ago. The room we stayed in had hot water pipes running down the wall which made the room a mini sauna. The windows would not open and there is no aircon. The management were aware of the problem and had installed a fan.
Speaking to other guests noone else seemed to suffer from the same problem but people at the front of the hotel did complain about noise at night from the square/bar downstairs.
The Unicorn will be nice once the rooms have been renovated but would not go back until then........Or maybe just in winter!

  • Liked — Great breakfast
  • Disliked — Horrid rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyNBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    316
    93
    31
    19
See reviews for
132
431
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

We stayed in the Unicorn as part of a large wedding party. The groom had booked the hotel as it was convenient for where they were getting married.
The downstairs decor in the reception and restaurant were lovely, recently decorated and modern. The food was carvery in the evening and absolutely fantastic. Breakfast was lovely too - cooked to order.
That was where the positives stopped...
We were put in Room 4 which was the most dated room I have ever seen in my life - wallpaper peeling off the walls, dirty, torn, smelly bedspread and a portable TV I haven't seen the like of since the 1970's. There were stains on the lampshades, and cobwebs everywhere.
We complained to reception and were moved to room 34 which was only marginally better. It cost £80 B&B which is a disgrace for the state of the hotel. I understand it's being redecorated from the bottom up, but they really should have lowered the price until the refurbishment was done.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The rooms - disgusting!
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoesaunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

I stayed here along with a large group.

Others in the group had previously stayed here - and had little positive things to say about it.

On the good side, it was central to ripon, had a decent bar/pub downstairs and the staff were friendly. The food was great too.

Onto the bad side;
Some work was being carried out while we were staying (we were not notified when this was booked and we had to sleep during the day). Old windows (some didn't shut properly due to previously being badly painted, leaving the room freezing cold in November) meant the noise of beer deliveries early in the morning was the early morning wake-up call we had not requested.

The decor in the room was below par bearing in mind the cost. The room came with a TV set that may be worth a few quid on eBay due to it's age. The only channel it was capable of receiving however was bbc1. It also came with a set of draws which would not stay closed due to the uneven floor, initially leaving me to believe the room came with it's own poltergeist.

Despite the best efforts of the hotels specialist maintenance team to fix the problem (beer mats under the front legs) the draws all slowly opened themselves over 10 minutes or so. Ghostbusters or a priest may have been better after all.

The bed was ok, however it had seen better days - old fashioned sheets and blankets (with some holes in them). The bath was waterproof - a bonus due to it's age. The shower was like standing under a tap.

The hotel did appear to be clean, just very worn. OK if your knackered or are looking to crash out after a skin full.

  • Liked — Pub downstairs, food, staff
  • Disliked — Poor quality and worn decor
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Isitjustme!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2007

Fabulous stay in a beautiful little city. The hotel is excellently placed right in the centre of Ripon overlooking the Market Square and within easy walking distance of the Cathdedral.
Great new menu and newly refurbished dining room yet still retaining the history of this old coaching inn. Friendly staff who could not do enough for us. Could not recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Liked — Central Location and staff
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hannah100Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

The Unicorn is a lovely market place hotel. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent as was the beer. The general appearance was very clean and tidy, although the bedrooms are looking a little dated. But you can't have everything. All in all I had a great stay.

  • Liked — Food and Drink
  • Disliked — dated decor
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank disco67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
8.2 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#7 of 19 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn

Property: The Unicorn
Address: Market Place East, Ripon HG4 1BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Unicorn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Unicorn Hotel has been at the heart of hospitality in Ripon, one of Britain's smallest cities, since medieval times. This former coaching inn has 32 en-suite rooms, a bar and dining facilities. Close to Fountains Abbey, a world heritage site, and the beautiful Yorkshire Dales National Park, Ripon is one of the North's best kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Unicorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing