We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Unicorn
Nearby Hotels
US$273
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The BW Crown Hotel(Boroughbridge)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
371
360
106
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
360
106
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftmarket squarethe pubsainsbury's car parkthird floorsunday nightovernight parkingtop floorfamily roomlisted buildinglimited parkingexcellent value for moneycentral locationbiscuitswould stay againbeer gardentea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 896 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We all know Weatherspoon's is good for quality beer and food at a reasonable price, well the hotel exceeded our expectations. A good location for exploring the Yorkshire dales, friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had one night at The Unicorn and we found it a great base to explore Ripon from and to go to the races (a nice 20 minute walk along the canal). Centrally located on the lovely square, it simply couldn't be better located.

Parking is easy on either the 6 space free hotel car park if you're lucky or on the adjacent public one used for sainsburys amongst others. This is £2.50 for 24 hours and is only 1 minutes walk to the hotel.

The hotel itself is very comfortable and the staff very helpful indeed. We secured a room on the third floor (no lift) and on the back of the building. This proved to be a good decision as it was really quiet and away from the square (which also holds a market......).

Wifi is free everywhere and the room comfortable. We got a king bed and had tea / coffee in the room along with everything else you'd expect. I'd say £69 is a bit top end excluding breakfast (which can be bought as an extra cheaply) but I will definitely return and recommend The Unicorn.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a two night stay at the Unicorn. The Room was very spacious & it had a nice bathroom attached.

Ideal for a look around the City centre as the Unicorn is in the Market Square. Easy overnight parking is also available at the rear of the hotel for a small charge.

Downside, was our room was at the front of the buildng & on the first floor. This meant we heard all the shouting & screaming that you get in the early hours of the morning as the clubs & pubs are kicking out.

The staff were very friendly & helpfull & you can always get a good hot meal in a Weatherspoons pub.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of thebuilding &/or high up away from the Market square.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodcar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Firstly I had a great room - large with a King bed on the third floor in an old building. So no lift! Room was clean and well equipped with all you would expect in a centre of town hotel. Actually the location is right on the main square in Ripon.
We were on a cycling holiday so bike security was important. Bikes were stored outside, chained up at the rear of the hotel with CCTV screens behind the check in desk - OK as it was dry but not ideal.
We stayed on a Tuesday so it was the Wetherspoons steak night. That meant an 8 ounce rump with all the trimmings with a pint for just over £8! Not that's what you call value. The breakfast was also god value - traditional coked with toast and coffee around £5.
No doubt they have their own accounting/organisational reasons breakfast is paid for separately and claimed back when paying the hotel bill! We all signed for our electronic door key, the signature being proof for billing the room. That didn't stop someone booking the cost of a couple of dinners to my room! This caused a bit of a stir at checkout but was dealt with understandingly.
All in all not a bad hotel offering the usual Wetherspoon unbelievable value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U3A2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Rooms have been done to a very high standard, great bathroom. Comfy beds. The car park is small and very tight: our car got bumped. Staff found the culprit by watching CCTV but no number plate unfortunately. Staff were SO helpful and we had the usual bargain Wetherspoons brekkie.
I booked way ahead as we wanted twin not double rooms: £69. Two days before we went the price had dropped to £55 on the website. I asked the manager if he would do for this price: no problem! Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews