We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”
Review of The Ashburn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lurgan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ashburn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lurgan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Wonderful service, Friendly staff, Great breakfast... a truly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coxystar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that your review helps others to decide to stay with us also. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is a family run hotel and was just so friendly one felt totally at home. The only complaint I had was that the bedroom was too hot, even though we turned off all radiators. We stayed two nights and had dinner there both nights which was just excellent and served by such friendly staff. We also drank in the bar and felt like we were locals we were made so welcome. What nice friendly people I cannot speak highly enough of all of the staff.

Room Tip: We were located to the front of the hotel and I must say the traffic was a bit noisy, so next time I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilis186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you very much for your top review of us at The Ashburn Hotel in Lurgan. We appreciate that your letting others know of your experience of us and we hope we can give you the same fantastic experience soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Having stayed in a few other hotels in the area with working there from time to time, I have finally settled on using this hotel. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful, all smiles and politeness at the desk, whilst the rooms are comfortable and clean (same goes for the bathroom facilties).

For the price of the hotel, you really cannot ask for too much more, although the location of the car park can initally be confusing it isn't too much of a problem with room to unload out front for up to an hour.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a 4 berth disabled room with a walk in shower rather than a cubicle, also this side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro_Cotzier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you very much for your review Mr Cotzier. We value your opinion and we hope it encourages others to stay with us when they are visiting the Lurgan area. We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Must say I'm never dissappointed although the menu is starting to look very expensive.Staff are excellent and there is always a great atmosphere!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deselby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Were glad you enjoy coming to The Ashburn Hotel. Keep it up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed just one night as we had a family function to attend in the hotel. It was a great venue for a party, the service was excellent and the food was delicious. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed, the free wi-fi was a nice bonus although we had no phone or internet reception anywhere in the hotel. (that may have been due to southern phones?) The floor we were on was nice and quiet, the beds comfortable and a delicious breakfast was served to us the next morning. All the staff we met were very helpful and accommodating and we would definitely stay here again when visiting Lurgan.

Room Tip: room 10 very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tastyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

We are delighted to hear that you throughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of changing our internet wifi provider so that is probably why you encounted a few problems, i apologise for that but it is now changed over. We hope you vivit us again soon and thank you very much for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The bar area is a brilliant place to eat. So much atmosphere from all the locals eating there too. Mountains of portions all beautifully made as well. Tastefully modern decoration and spotlessly clean. Room a little sterile like travel lodge types. But up to a great standard. All staff real friendly. Great stopping place if you've just come into Belfast on the evening ferry and want to get into the country straight away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CedricPanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad you liked The Ashburn Hotel and that it fitted into your trip perfectly.

Hopefully we will see you soon for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

In mainland UK this hotel would cost more. It is clean, has pleasant staff and is comfortable. Add to that free internet. The location was chosen by me because it is close to a client and I have no idea whether it is a good area to holiday or whether there is much to do around here but if there is, and you are on a budget, this would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safetysystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Hi and thanks very much for your review. We at The Ashburn Hotel are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can accomodate you in the future again.

Im only getting set up properly on tripadvisor so apologies for the late reply and just to let you know your comments are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashburn Hotel

Address: 81 William Street, Lurgan BT66 6JB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Lurgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lurgan
Price Range: £41 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the McConaghy Family, the Ashburn Hotel is friendly and efficient. Conveniently situated with easy access to the motorway (M1), rail network and town centre. It is an ideal base for angling or golfing trips - 5 miles from the River Bann and 1 mile from local golf course. All our 13 bedrooms are ensuite with LED flat screen tv's, direct dial telephone, ironing facilities and hospitality tray. Entertainment each weekend in our popular nightclub and on the odd accasion we would have a 1/2 piece band in our lounge bar. All the days sporting action is shown on our large tv's in the lounge bar also.We have various food menu's which are seved thoughout times of the day using good honest local produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ashburn Hotel Lurgan, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing