We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of The Ashburn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lurgan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ashburn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lurgan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at The Ashburn Hotel in Lurgan when I travelled to Ireland for my Cousins wedding last weekend. I had the best stay in this lovely hotel and couldn't fault anything about it. Our room was very spacious and very nicely decorated. The food in both the restaurant and the main bar was absolutely delicious and as for the staff they couldn't help you enough. Our room was spotless and all staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel was ideal as well as it is less than a 5 minute walk to Lurgan train station which we used to travel into Belfast. It is also a 10 minute walk to the high street and also to Brownlow House where my cousin got married. This hotel definitely made our stay even more enjoyable and I would use this hotel again and again if I ever visit Lurgan in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Victoria-Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the Ashburn for 3 nights when in the area for a family celebration. The hotel is pleasant - and the staff are really helpful and friendly - but our room was a little tired. The bed was comfortable and there was tea and coffee making equipment and an iron and ironing board in the room. The bathroom was clean and fresh towels were provided every day.

The breakfast is wonderful - cereals and fruit juice are freely available, and there is a wide menu which allows you to select your favourite foods. The sliced ham in particular is out of this world! The waitress who served us at breakfast was a lovely person who could not be friendlier or more helpful.

The only drawback was that Room 6 has a window that opens onto the rear of the hotel - and the fan from (I assume) the air-conditioning downstairs is right outside - the noise was not too loud, but it never stopped...!! We were forced to have the window closed, even though we hate this, as neither of us could sleep because of the incessant humming. I was very glad that the recent heat-wave had passed...

As a place to stay for a few nights, the hotel is excellent value, and offers a good base from which to explore the surrounding area, as it is close to the railway station.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 6 if you want to sleep with your window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have been staying in this hotel once a month for at least 12 years now and I have seen massive changes not only in the hotel but the entire town. The hotel has undergone steady improvements throughout this time changing it from a great place to stay to a real home from home with possibly the friendliest staff I have ever come across. Nothing is to much trouble.
The Food is excellent ( I recommend the stakes), the rooms are comfortable, clean and well decorated.
I always look forward to staying here as I know I will be well looked after.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back as the traffic can be load
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here while visiting relatives in the area. Friendly staff. We had a nice welcome. Room was large & clean. Bed was comfortable. We visited during the unusual heat wave & the staff supplied us with a fan for our room which was a god send. By morning this fan had bite the dust but the staff found us a larger & even better one for our 2nd night. Very kind. Breakfast was ok. A bit too big for me. The amount on the plate put me off. Next morning I had scrambled eggs & tomato. This was much more to my taste although I sure some people would like a huge fry up in the morning to keep them going all day. Very reasonable price. Comfortable stay. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel does not have a fitness centre or swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shonahowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked the hotel as it was near to friends that we were visiting so a perfect location. We were booked in for 2 nights stay. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We were given room 5. To be honest we weren't really bothered about the room as long as it was clean as it was just somewhere to get our heads down for the night as we were out most of the time. What a lovely surprise we got. There was a seperate dressing room, a huge modern bathroom and a huge bedroom with super-king size bed and a single bed. There was a large TV, plenty of tea and coffee making facilities and fresh clean towels. The room was finished to the highest standard with beautiful high quality chrome finishings throughout the bedroom and bathroom. we only made it to breakfast on the second morning (thats what happens when you try to drink with the Irish !) but the breakfast was fab and the staff friendly and attentive. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Lurgan, I often stay in hotels for business and for the price this is way better than some of the places I have had the misfortune to stay in. Great value for money, beautiful room, friendly helpful staff and very clean. We look forward to our next visit and will not be looking for anywhere else to stay than The Ashburn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 66Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank-you for your comments, and taking the time to write a review.
You had the good fortune to stay in our reciently renovated Bridal Suite which we let at the same price as our other rooms. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Given the choice, I would never travel to Lurgin (or surrounding areas) again, but I wish I could find more hotels in Ireland like the Ashburn. The neighborhood still has barbed wire on the fences and rooftops, metal bars and gates over windows and doors, and an overall eary feeling (perhaps remnant of the "old" Northern Ireland. And amidst the ghetto is an absolutely extraordinary hotel. It's been very well renovated and now looks very contemporary with modern fixtures and amenities. The food in the restaurant and breakfast were pretty good, but very handy if you don't want to walk outside. Definitely use the secure parking in the back of the building.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceydee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and have to agree that we think we are a hidden gem.

Lurgan itself like many areas has been hit by the recession, but we cant speak highly enough of the work Craigavon Council are doing to improve the appearance and image of the town. The town is currently getting new footpaths, all the shops and businesses have been repainted with new signs and are having individual designed artwork applied to their shutters which in the evenings after the shops and business close makes for a very interesting and colourful feature.

We hope that if you ever have the luck to come back to Lurgan you will notice a huge difference and we would certinaly welcome you back to stay with us at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Staying here is exactly what we wanted. The staff are extremely friendly and the hotel is clean and simply a nice place to stay. Room is comfortable and food in the bar was good. Definitely recommend it and great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Its great when the staff's hard work is recognised in such a nice way.

Thank-you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lurgan
3.9 mi away
Seagoe Hotel
Seagoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portadown
263 reviews
15.2 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
622 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
221 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bannview Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashburn Hotel

Address: 81 William Street, Lurgan BT66 6JB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Lurgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lurgan
Price Range: £41 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the McConaghy Family, the Ashburn Hotel is friendly and efficient. Conveniently situated with easy access to the motorway (M1), rail network and town centre. It is an ideal base for angling or golfing trips - 5 miles from the River Bann and 1 mile from local golf course. All our 13 bedrooms are ensuite with LED flat screen tv's, direct dial telephone, ironing facilities and hospitality tray. Entertainment each weekend in our popular nightclub and on the odd accasion we would have a 1/2 piece band in our lounge bar. All the days sporting action is shown on our large tv's in the lounge bar also.We have various food menu's which are seved thoughout times of the day using good honest local produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ashburn Hotel Lurgan, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing