We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Tannaghmore Farm and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Lurgan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portadown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

It is free. It is good in all weathers. The kids love it and have their favourite animals. It is clean and safe with good toilet facilities.

Helpful?
Thank Allan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    33
    5
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“lovely!!”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

lovely for a day out with the family!!when the weathers good of course!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrsCrossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small, but fun!”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

It didn't take very long to get around the farm and see all the animals but we had a great time! It's clean, easy to get around with strollers and the animals seem happy :-) We got to feed horses and goats and there were sheep, pigs and lots of chickens and ducks. We took a short walk to the amazing playground and the kids had a good time. I'm from America and this playground was so unique compared to anything I've seen at home (playgrounds at home are very good, but a bit cookie-cutter).

If you are going I'd recommend bringing snacks or a picnic lunch to eat at the park after a visit to the animals.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank inl0vewithtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n ireland
1 review
“very disappointing”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

on visiting the farm today...after the 'great refurbishments' we were very disappointed to see that the small animal section was not open to the general public..only to group bookings!!
My little 4 year old granddaughter was really looking forward to seeing the baby chicks etc..
Had we known that this was the case we would certainly not have driven from Cookstown!!
Even thought this farm is free i would certainly not have minded paying if we could have had a worthwhile visit.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank rieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but could do with some better visitor facilties”
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We recently went to Tannaghmore Farm with a group of young children. It was not well sign posted so we wasted some time trying to find the place - our driver having to go and ask someone for directions. Then we had to drive back down the road to the turning, which did have a signpost for some other facilities, just not this one.
When we did arrive, there were some picnic tables, and a massive bird cage with a variety of birds inside. This made quite a nice setting for lunch, had it not been right in the middle of the car park! We had arrived when we said we would, but there was another group still there, so we were asked to wait outside until they were ready for us for about 15 mins.
The farm itself was nice enough, but the toilet facilities was minimal, and pretty smelly. This instantly made me feel that this was going to be a real disappointment - but the farm did actually improve as we moved away from this area.
The member of staff allocated to us was friendly and knowledgeable, and his priority was the enjoyment of the children. During the tour the adults had to walk at the front and rear with the children in the middle dictating the pace of the tour. This allowed them to touch the animals, hear stories about them, and in the case of the chicks and the rabbit - getting to pick them up and stroke them. There were a variety of pigs, some horses and lots of birds, as well as horses, some goats and a few other animals.
All in all, it was a novel experience for the children, having the hands on experience and getting up close to the animals. The surrounding gardens and park were lovely - this is where we actually sat and had our picnic, which was far nicer than the car park. This area also had better toilet facilities, and space for the children to run about. At the end of the day the children enjoyed themselves, which was the main point. Another reviewer was glad of no shop, I agree - but a place for the adults to get a coffee or tea would have been appreciated!

Helpful?
2 Thank maidsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tannaghmore Farm and Gardens also viewed

Lurgan, County Armagh
 
Portadown, County Armagh
 

Been to Tannaghmore Farm and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing