We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but not great.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Love Coffee

Love Coffee
Ranked #2 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Lurgan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$6
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Love Coffee is Lurgan's Ethical Coffee Destination and Live Arts Venue. We offer artisan ethically sourced coffee, fair trade tea and hot chocolate, we home bake all of our desserts, and freshly prepared sandwiches are hand made on the premises. Not only is our food great, but we try to be a friendly community of happy individuals, we play only unsigned local music on our stereo, we have live music in our upstairs venue and we open until 10pm on Thursdays and Fridays. We have poetry readings, a movie review club, two book clubs, live sporting events, buskers in our yard, we like to chat, hear your story and welcome you as a friend not just a customer. So come on in, grab a seat, make yourself comfortable and help us to help you relax and refuel in your new favourite coffee shop.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Came across this place by accident while looking for an art gallery so decided to nip in for coffee and a bun. Selection of cakes looked appetising enough but not spectacular. The cake itself certainly looked homemade and I am sure it was but didn't taste that fresh, was just ok. Coffee not bad but certainly not memorable, icons down the road serves superior coffee at a similar price. Wouldn't hurry back but wouldn't rule out a second visit in the future

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mickey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben N, Owner at Love Coffee, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello Mickey, thank you for your post, I own and run Love Coffee and was just wondering if you could give me a few more details on your visit so that we might see where we can improve. Could you tell me the approximate date/time of visit as I see from your review history that you did two reviews in one day. Could you give details of who served you, exactly what you ordered, how courteous you found the staff, and any additional comments on ambiance, added value items or programme of events offered.
Thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I only recently discovered this coffee shop.It has a lovely armosphere and the coffee is really good.I have had lunch a couple of times,good value and tastes good.staff friendly.quite small inside but can still squeeze the pram in.nice little coutyard if you want to sit outside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nlm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wee oasis :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have been a regular at Love Coffee for around a year, and love dropping in for a cuppa for all sorts of reasons.
Ben, who runs the coffee nook, always provides a warm welcome, as do the rest of the staff. Then there is the coffee, with Ben's signature leaf pattern on the top - always feels like a treat, on every occasion I go. The prices are very reasonable too, tray bakes are bigger than most places and there are good meal deals.
The free wifi is handy, as well as the books to browse through, and chess to play, just whenever you are in the notion.
It is a great place to hang out and relax with friends, during the day, or on a Thursday or Friday evening. There are music evenings too, when local unsigned artists come along to sing their hearts out - a great opportunity to hear something a wee bit different.
I ordered a Malteser Cheesecake and some tray bakes from Ben for Christmas, and they went down are real treat with all the family - would heartily recommend doing this for any occasion.
Love Coffee is a very special place, and I would encourage anyone who likes a cuppa or a light lunch to call in and enjoy the experience, again and again.
To all Ben and all staff - keep up the good work, it would be a very different place without you:)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieLovesOutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I dig this place..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

a funky little cafe, enjoyed a good cup of joe here and a bit of good craic and friendly service, service with a smile and a genuine friendly greeting goes a long way, therefore would go back again, free wifi as well

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

You could be forgiven for driving past the little alley with its purple sign - but that would be your loss! This coffee shop is a little gem. I come here almost every tuesday for a latte (the coffee is superb and freshly ground) and a slice of their 'oh so light' lemon cake. Other temptations include cheesecake, banoffee pie, brownies, and white chocolate 15's (really yummy). The lunch menu is varied and there is plenty of choice. Soups, salads, sandwiches etc too many to mention. Plenty of seating on 2 floors and, for pleasant sunny days, seating outside too. Opens for music evenings where new and unsigned artists play to an appreciative crowd. Ben and his staff are always happy to see you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura_gamble44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Love Coffee also viewed

Lurgan, County Armagh
Lurgan, County Armagh
 
Lurgan, County Armagh
Lurgan, County Armagh
 

Been to Love Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing