We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst mothers day meal ever!”

The Manhattan Gastropub
Ranked #28 of 49 Restaurants in Lurgan
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
Good for: Bar Scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst mothers day meal ever!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

on entering the premises a clean door mat would give a good impression apart from the cracked window and torn wall paper and wobbly tables which could do with a wipe down it went from bad to worse when drinks arrived with lipstick residue still on the glass. Dinner was luke warm but the deserts with only a choice of two were bland like the dinner with no taste and the final straw was a hair caught in the desert. The music was to loud but it helped to din the noise of the bar man smashing the bottles into the container a good sweep of the light to get rid of cobwebs. the only nice thing about the manhattan was the nice waitress with blonde hair !
i do not recommend it !!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lurgan, Northern Ireland
1 review
“Dinner”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Love this place food is gorgeous staff r very friendly an we didnt wait very long between are meals would def recommend it

Helpful?
Thank omcken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bitter sweet!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Visited after hearing great reviews. Very promising start, Shown to our seats & order taken within 10mins. However, despite being only 1 of 4 tables occupied it was a further 35 mins before our starter FINALLY arrived. Had then to ask if kids meals could be served?? Kids meals a disgrace, greasy chips & frozen sausages & burger. Starters (both the same) we're disgusting, greasy, over fried & accompanying salad the worst I've ever been served, soggy, slimy & dripping in dressing. Main arrived within a few mins of starter being cleared. Veg looked horrendous, all chopped to pieces around the size of a penny however cooked beautifully. Roast potatoes no crispyness whatsoever, more like boiled however creamed potatoes, meat & peppered sauce all beautiful. Ordered from a 'set price' menu yet meals we're overcharged??? Waiters & service exceptional, however this is probably the best feature. Overall an ok experience, however food way too inconsistent to even consider returning!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcc2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Steven”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Food was really good and the portions are huge, staff are friendly and polite. Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
1 review
“Best Food & Drinks In Town”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Went here last week for the switching on of the Christmas lights as I heard real good reports about the food and cocktails and it lived up to expectations. Food was fab, great value too, cocktails were the best I've tasted and the service staff were very friendly. If you haven't tried it you are missing out. Excellent from start to finish, I'll Def be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_mcneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manhattan Gastropub also viewed

Lurgan, County Armagh
Lurgan, County Armagh
 
Lurgan, County Armagh
 
Lurgan, County Armagh
Craigavon, County Armagh
 

Been to The Manhattan Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing