We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Little Hotel”
Review of Cross Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cross Square Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crossmaglen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Cross Square Hotel is a cute little hotel on a quaint little square. The rooms were very clean and very spacious. Fiona, the owner, is just as friendly as she can be and truly makes you feel welcome. The food was very good and there's a nice sized bar where local musicians played some wonderful Irish music for us. Overall, a very good experience and would love to return should I find myself in Ireland again. Don't miss this place if you're anywhere nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked this family run hotel for one night in August as we were attending a function nearby.
The rooms were spacious clean and the beds were very comfortable. When we returned from our evening out, the bar was still open and there was a DJ playing music with a few dancers giving it a whirl around the floor. It was nice and relaxing and the sandwiches that appeared were appreciated. Breakfast - the Ulster fry - was great the next morning. The lady serving breakfast was very friendly - a warm and chatty person. I cannot fault any of the staff, they were all friendly. Thank you Gene for the sandwiches.
We had a drive through the Ring of Guillion which was amazing. We were short on time and did not get to see enough of south Armagh. Hopefully we can make the trip soon again with more time to spend and stay in Cross Square Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ette223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This small family run Hotel is the ideal base to explore some of the most beautiful and breathtaking landscapes and countryside of the Ring of Gullion which is steeped in mythology and folklore. The warmth and helpfulness of the proprietor and staff who provide a fund of local knowledge were greatly appreciated by myself and my family. The food and service were first class and the accommodation perfect. We were also really impressed by the family friendly atmosphere and attentiveness to our children who can be quite cranky. All in all, a hearty recommendation to this hidden jewel in South Armagh !

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a magnificent view of the surrounding countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h1bern8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

In the hotel we had a great reception, great food, the staff did everything for our well-being, the bar was open late :) I recommend it because for such a small town you do not expect a complete service. Thank you from group frof Slovenia....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Thank you to all the staff at Cross Square Hotel for taking such great care of our club on our recent visit. our group consisted of 12 men whom had traveled to Newtown to take part in a Road bowling competition on the last weekend in August.We found the hotel to be very comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and the food was excellent. Unfortunately we did not have time to enjoy the lovely scenery around crossmaglen, maybe on our next visit. once again thank you for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I didn't really know this town and was staying a couple of nights because I'd come over from England for a family party in Co. Louth. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and the service was great. I came over on my own and was looking to go walking and explore South Armagh and the ring of Gullion in the short time I had, given that the party was most of one of the two days. I asked the reception where was nice within walking distance and I was told Lough Ross, up the Castleblaney road. Lough Ross and the surrounding countryside didn't disappoint.

On returning, I walked out along the Carlingford Road to see what was there and when I asked a lady coming out of her house and a fellow that she called over to ask, told me that the Creggan Lawns were nice and told me how to get there. They said it was a long walk and the lady offered me a lift back to Cross so that I could drive there, but I opted for a nice long walk instead. Creggan Lawns was beautiful and they had told me about a church up there with a graveyard in which they had the skulls of the O'Neills (former kings of Ireland). Apparently, you have to knock on the door of the house by the graveyard and ask and they will open it up and you can go down and have a look at them, but I hadn't picked up on that.

In the evening, I went out and had a look around the pubs to find out which was the liveliest and at that time on that evening it was Ma Kearney's, so I went in and made friends with the locals and had a great night. The local people are lovely. I'd recommend this hotel and this town to anyone.

I should also point out that I have lived in England most of my life and have an English accent and was telling everyone who asked that I was from Manchester and they couldn't have been nicer to me and they made me feel very welcome and safe here, so any would be English tourists umming and ahing, I can say that yes you will see some big signs on the way down saying ira in large letters and that might feel a bit scary, but if you just get over that then you'll find there's no need to be worried there or in town itself - just relax, you'll be fine and you'll have a great time there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dermot_G959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked at the very last minute, the Cross Square did not disappoint. A fantastic hostess, wonderful food, and absolutely spotless accommodation. Stay here. You will not regret it. Cross ages and surrounds are absolutely beautiful.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Eamonn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crossmaglen
10.2 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
741 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
344 reviews
18.6 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,392 reviews
19 mi away
Charlemont Arms Hotel
15.6 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Square Hotel

Address: 4-5 Cardinal o'Fiaich Square, Crossmaglen BT35 9AA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Crossmaglen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crossmaglen
Price Range: £90 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location to explore both sides of the border. Whether is a Newry city shopping trip, fishing, golf, equestrian or a relaxing walk in unspoiled natural beauty – South Armagh has it all! 15 bedrooms all en-suite with a modern, contemporary décor this family-run hotel offers excellent accommodation, mouth watering cuisine, and weekend live entertainment. World Host Award for excellence in customer service 2013.Taste of Ulster Award for food 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cross Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Square Hotel Crossmaglen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing