We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cross Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cross Square Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crossmaglen
Certificate of Excellence
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great great food”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I visit this hotel regularly as a community venue for dancing. Thought I would try the food this time and very very impressed. The goats cheese starter was superb followed by a very impressive vegetable stir fry. As a vegetarian I am used to trying dishes which are an afterthought to the main menu but both these selections were top class. On top of that the service is very friendly.

Room Tip: Didn't stay over so can't say
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    27
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
42
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leixlip, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Myself and my boyfriend have been coming to the Cross Square Hotel for weekend breaks throughout the last 3 years. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. The food is so good that we have not eaten anywhere else while we stayed up there on our many visits! The beds are very large and comfortable and you can be sure to have a comfortable nights sleep! It really is home away from home!!! Would recommend it to anyone who just wants to get away and relax!

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are the rooms that are facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamarie_conway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Paul and all the staff were superb. Bedrooms very clean no pressure to get out of your room on departure day. Breakfast was probably the best we have had . Paul was the perfect host and the staff were very friendly and polite, everybody in our party felt the same way(40).definitely will return as will the rest of the party.

Room Tip: They are all very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed at The Cross Square during the Bernhard-Hughes wedding in September 2013. This hotel and the Crossmaglen people were the highlight of my 2 week Ireland-Scotland trip. Fiona and the other staff members make you feel welcome from check-in to check-out. They were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfy. The restaurant food was really good and the beer cold.

Thank you Fiona, Margaret and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyNIreland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We've stayed in this hotel twice now, first time in summer 2013 visiting family and second time after the All Ireland final we decided to head up to Crossmaglen instead of looking for a hotel in Dublin. The staff are all friendly and helpful, the food is absolutely first class and the rooms are spot on. Breakfast is very good and served at good times so you don't need to worry about getting up at the crack of dawn to catch it like some other hotels. The bar is good and serves a nice pint of Guinness. It's a good family run hotel, we will definitely visit again. South Armagh is a great friendly place to visit and I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting South Armagh, Newry, Down or anywhere around the north of Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Nice welcome you received on arrival,The owners of the hotel were lovely,the staff were very nice,the rooms are lovely and clean and the breakfast was really good,i went back on another occasion and i had a bit of a problem on New Years night,myself and my boyfriend went out for dinner with his sister and husband and we went to the cross square hotel as we were told that the dinner were excellent,i ordered cod and chips and the rest of the party ordered there food as well,after about 30-40 min waiting the dinners arrived although they had given me place and chips which i dont like,so i told the very nice gentleman who took our order that it was incorrect and he said no problem i get that sorted,so the rest of the party started and finished there dinners while i was still waiting for mine,my boyfriends sister was not impressed and said to the other girl that was attending to us that it wasnt very nice that we all came out to have a meal together and i was still waiting for mine,the girl said well it isnt my fault they got the order wrong and went off in a huff it did arrive eventually after another 40 min waiting, they did apologise and gave me my meal for free,which i appreciated i know this was New Year and places can be busy but there was only the four of us in there at that particular time for food and two people sitting at the bar maybe this was a one off bad day for them,but it did kinda put a dampner on the night.especially as there was hardly anyone there to begin with.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We got a genuinely warm welcome from Fiona when our group of 150+ arrived this week for lunch. Food was served quickly and tasted very good - fresh and delicious. Home made scones topped off a wonderful meal. Would recommend and would definitely return - thanks to all the staff for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cualta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crossmaglen
10.2 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
628 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
194 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
12.8 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
18.6 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Square Hotel

Property: Cross Square Hotel
Address: 4-5 Cardinal o'Fiaich Square, Crossmaglen BT35 9AA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Crossmaglen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crossmaglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location to explore both sides of the border. Whether is a Newry city shopping trip, fishing, golf, equestrian or a relaxing walk in unspoiled natural beauty – South Armagh has it all! 15 bedrooms all en-suite with a modern, contemporary décor this family-run hotel offers excellent accommodation, mouth watering cuisine, and weekend live entertainment. World Host Award for excellence in customer service 2013.Taste of Ulster Award for food 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cross Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Square Hotel Crossmaglen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing