We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with local atmosphere”
Review of Cross Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cross Square Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crossmaglen
Certificate of Excellence
Upland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel with local atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel as part of an equestrian tour. Fiona and her family were so hospitable, no request was too great to handle. The food was excellent and the pub entertainment was a wonderful addition to our cultural experience. Rooms were clean and up-to-date.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
45
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A recent visit to the Cross Square Hotel in Crossmaglen, South Armagh, was something very special. The warmth of the welcome was almost from a bygone age ....there was nothing too much for Caroline to undertake and one felt so much at home from the moment you walked through the door. Late night coffee and biscuits and toast on the house .....in such total contrast to so many hotels in big cities and towns these days. I honestly cannot recall better hospitality anywhere than that experienced at the Cross Square. Wholesome, warm, and truly special. And lovely food to top off a memorable stay. Well worth driving the few miles off the main Dublin to Belfast motorway to experience this kind of hospitality. A big High Five to Caroline and her team.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for one night , we were made feel so at home , the staff were lovely & the food was great. The rooms were very spacious & clean . We all had a great stay. Thank you so much for your hospitality .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Cross Square... the rooms were nothing special, and the showers take a while to warm up but those two things are the only things I can be negative about. The food was amazing, the staff were beyond incredible and welcoming. Fiona, the owner, even went and got her daughter from home to play with my daughter and set up a movie date for them. They arranged local musicians to come play for us and we stayed in their bar drinking and singing, in good ol' Irish fashion, until 5 in the morning. We had such an amazing time and were so sad to leave. They all made sure to say goodbye to us before we left as well. AMAZING group of people who have the "Irish Hospitality" down 110%

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We travelled from Dublin to compete in a 100km fund raising cycle with a local GAA club Naomh Malachy's a couple of miles from Crossmaglen in Co Louth.We stayed in the Cross Square Hotel and it was a brilliant experience from check in to check out we were treated so well.The rooms are 1st class, the food was superb and the owners and staff could not do enough for us,I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monagea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Bhi craic agus ceol againn' : We had fun and music. "Brilliant", as they say in Ireland. The staff was more than cordial, and Fiona, the owner/manager, greeted our family at dinner with a most gracious welcome and a short history of the hotel. (She also has the singing voice of an angel).

Room Tip: All good! Ask the staff if they have a favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmfod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Attended a wedding close by and stayed at Cross Square Hotel. Caroline checked us in with no hassle whatsoever. I have to say they couldn't do enough for you. Even offered to drive us to the wedding reception in a neighbouring town. The rooms are spotless clean and the beds very comfortable. This is a lovely part of Ireland to visit and you can cover a fair amount based in Crossmaglen. Caroline had made sandwiches for us when we retured fairly late from the wedding reception. A very nice touch. There is plenty of parking in the square in front of the hotel. The hotel does a good food trade and that is always a sign that the quality is good. Plenty of characters in and out of the bar during the day so there is a great athmosphere. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends. A home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look out onto the square yet didn't notice any level of noise in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanOrpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crossmaglen
10.2 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
654 reviews
13.2 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,277 reviews
11.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
18.6 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
576 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Square Hotel

Property: Cross Square Hotel
Address: 4-5 Cardinal o'Fiaich Square, Crossmaglen BT35 9AA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Crossmaglen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crossmaglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location to explore both sides of the border. Whether is a Newry city shopping trip, fishing, golf, equestrian or a relaxing walk in unspoiled natural beauty – South Armagh has it all! 15 bedrooms all en-suite with a modern, contemporary décor this family-run hotel offers excellent accommodation, mouth watering cuisine, and weekend live entertainment. World Host Award for excellence in customer service 2013.Taste of Ulster Award for food 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cross Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Square Hotel Crossmaglen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing