We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Murtagh's B&B
Nearby Hotels
Cross Square Hotel(Crossmaglen)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glencarn Hotel(Castleblayney)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shirley Arms Hotel(Carrickmacross)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
22
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Murtagh's B & B was a wonderful home away from home on our visit recently to my Grandmother's birth place. It was a long awaited visit and Adian made us feel at once at home and comfortable. The quaintness of the home shared with visitors has history and was both quite and adorably furnished, but also full of life and playful downstairs. Adian is quite gifted in his ability to make you feel so comfortable and embraced as he chats up a good amount of his own history and village knowledge. you feel as tho you are instantly accepted and part of the rich family there.

I would highly reccommend to anyone to visit and stay a couple of nights, as the location is perfect for day trips and local exploring.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caribare1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

loved crossmaglen and especially murtaghs b&b, we should have stayed more than one night unfortunatly we couldn't. it's so peaceful. rooms beautiful. food beautiful. we will be back. imelda and martin and family, co. waterford.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank imelda38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

We Visited Crossmaglen as my mum was born there and hadn't returned since leaving as a child. Aidan was very hospitable and helped us with all his local knowledge. The accomodation is lovely and very welcoming. Crossmaglen is a beautiful village and the community are very friendly. It's also in an ideal position for a stop over if your main destination is Belfast and/or Dublin.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2006

Aidan Murtagh is a really great host. We arrived in Crossmaglen after a day long trip by car and ferry from the North of England to Crossmaglen via Belfast. We were somewhat haggard when going into Murtagh's pub. Aidan was tending bar. Aidan is just the person a tired traveller wishes to run into. He got us our room and then gave us recommendations for dinner. In the morning, Aidan chatted with us while serving up a great Irish Breakfast. Looking back on our trip, we now believe we should have stayed longer in Crossmaglen and make day trips from this perfect vantage point in central-north Ireland. It is convenient to Tara, Newgrange, Monaghan, Belfast, Newry and SE Tyrone. Dundalk is just a stones throw away. Yet all of the charm of an Irish village that has yet to fall to the Celtic Tiger.

Besides that, the sheer history of the Republic of South Armagh takes more than a day to soak up. We will return. My son plans a honeymoon in Ireland next year and Murtaghs and Crossmaglen are high on his list.

We highly recommend Murtagh's and Crossmaglen to anyone traveling to Ireland. Enjoy his charm and that of this historic area of Ireland.

philzone4@yahoo.com Dublin, Ohio, USA

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank philzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2006

Murtagh's is a great B&B in Crossmaglen in the heart of South Armagh. The adjacent pub is delightfully filled with friendly locals who are more than happy to talk about their favorite footballer. Aidan's hospitality is cause alone for a repeat visit and the rates are far better than others in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fins21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews