We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Ways Cottage

Ways Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ways Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilmington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We visited Ways Cottage for the first time (July 2012) and I can’t speak highly enough of it. Very warm welcome from Simon and Linda, we stayed in room one and as the other reviews state the bedroom and shower room have been very tastefully renovated and the room was impeccably clean. Simon cooks a great breakfast and Linda was very friendly and helpful especially when it comes to recommending places to visit and restaurants to eat at. The location is perfect for visiting the surrounding towns of Lyme Regis, Axeminster, Beominster, Hointon, Seatown etc and Kilmington also has a very nice pub only a short walk from the B&B.

A big thank you to Simon and Linda who made our stay very pleasant and we will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 1, lovely shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

Thank you Simon & Linda, for a lovely and welcome and making us feel so at home. We stayed in Room 1 which was beautiful, and had a nice, modern bathroom. The cottage has been renovated and combines old and quirky with modern and comfortable - very tastefully done.
Breakfast was delicious, and a good variety to choose from.
Location - lovely village, peaceful surroundings, and if you're lucky enough to sit in the garden you feel as though you're a million miles away from hustle and bustle of life. Approx 6-7 miles away from Lyme Regis, only 10-15 minute drive. The Old Inn in the village has lovely food and atmosphere and, although it's right on the main road, when you're inside you would never know it. And the bonus is it's only a very short amble from the B&B, so if you want a drink or two, it's not far to stumble home!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornishTeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Simply put - superb place with exceptional rooms and fine breakfast. Cottage is charming as are hosts who are very attentive and helpful. Relaxing and near many interesting places. A must.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flycoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was our second visit to the resturant, we rarely go to a any place twice on account that the first visit is normally poor.
Not much to say, except that all of the food we had was without exception, excellant. All around us were moans of contentment.
We were the first to arrive at 6pm, but this quickly changed to full.

If you don't mind paying for quality....give it a try.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirkitchalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed at Ways Cottage for 3 nights in June and must say it is a gorgeous cottage and a lovely place to stay. On arrival we had a very warm welcome from Linda and Simon and were offered tea in the garden which was lovely as the sun was out! Our room was cottage 1 at the front of the house and had a gorgeous bathroom which had obviously just been renovated (lovely overhead shower I must say) - our hosts couldnt do enough for you including suggestions of things to do should it rain! The breakfast was delicious and we ate every morning which is unusual for us but it was too nice to miss - lovely place overall and we will definately go back. (Only 10 mins from River Cottage HQ as well so perfect if attending their events)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melg38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed at this lovely cottage last May and were so impressed that we decided to visit again this year in April. Last year we had the ground floor room but this time we had the room upstairs, same size just no access to the garden. We didn't find this an issue as Linda and Simon make it clear that the garden is for everyone's use at any time. They are a lovely couple and made us feel so welcome that I am sure we will be staying with them again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stumbled across this place via an Internet search, took a gamble and struck gold.

Gorgeous location (though we personally felt you needed a car to truly enjoy the surroundings), stunning looking property, modern & tasteful rooms and a cooked breakfast to die for.

Simon and Linda understand exactly how to be the perfect hosts; there for you if you want advice but happy to quietly get on with things if you want some time out.

My wife was heavily pregnant at the time of the visit and they could not have been more accomodating.

Would we go again? Yes - and next time there will be three of us!

Trust me - you will not be let down.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bailsbails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ways Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ways Cottage

Address: Ways Cottage Whitford Road, Kilmington, Axminster EX13 7RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster > Kilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmington
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ways Cottage Kilmington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing