We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A35 Pitstop, Kilmington
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My friend and I always call in here for a breakfast, think its the bumper one for £7.95? Anyway we always call in here before arriving at Great Dorset Steam Fair or anytime we are up that way. I can quite honestly say the breakfast's are hot fresh and delivered with a smile! We always go away satisfied. And always looked forward to the next visit!! Great little business! Well done

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidPrestonNo1, Owner at A35 Pitstop, Kilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thanks for the GREAT REVIEW, We truly value our many regular Customers and our Staff look forward to your next visit. Thanks again for taking the time to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Quick stop for a bite to eat on the way back home from a stay with family in Devon. Disapointed with the food. It was of poor quality put cooked well. Over £14 for one small breakfast and scrambled egg on toast is far too expensive for a crubby little greasy spoon

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Folkestonepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidPrestonNo1, Owner at A35 Pitstop, Kilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Crubby little greasy spoon?????? Is that clever???? We have literally thousands of satisfied Customers every week, very many of whom return time and again and we are pleased to call them all Regulars. All of our freshly cooked breakfasts are CLEARLY DETAILED WITH THE PRICES on our Menu on your table. You know what you are going to get and what you will pay BEFORE YOU ORDER, you have the choice, there is no pressure. If you want something cheaper, we have a takeaway menu, you can eat in your car, still freshly prepared.
So why would any reasonable person choose a breakfast, then eat it, then pay for it , and then place a poor review when you are far, far away? We have a 5 STAR Top Hygeine Rating and wish all of our many, many Happy Regular Customers would post reviews to balance the picture a bit. Sadly, life is not like that and we are all so vulnerable to unfair criticism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We Stopped here for breakfast on our way through to Devon where to start , service with a smile NOT , filthy dirty , food looked ok but my husband was so Ill and the toilets were vile do your selves a favour and don't stop here couldn't work the inside out cafe either trying to sell what could only be described as Exspensive car boot trash in the middle of the cafe and hygiene most certainly isn't there strong point

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Dramaqueen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidPrestonNo1, Owner at A35 Pitstop, Kilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

We are proud to hold a FULL FIVE STAR TOP RATING FOR HYGEINE. Our food is freshly cooked by experienced Cooks and is great value for money. We sell a range of Antiques and Collectables, mainly locked in glass cases, most of our Customers love to browse and many buy items to take home. Sorry if this one lady is unhappy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Attached to this motel, is a cafe. It serves very fresh food, the breakfast was tasty and hot. What more could you ask for? - Oh yes... a bucket of tea!! The tea came out in what must be the biggest mugs I have ever seen, brilliant. I like my tea and it makes a change not to get a dinky little cup.
The staff were friendly and the cafe was very busy, which is always a good sign.
It's quite expensive, but as the only other cafe nearby is a little chef, the prices are in line with surrounding options. And you get what you pay for, which was a good tasty meal, so we were happy to pay and tip.
If travelling along the A35 again we will definately be stopping here for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy80bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidPrestonNo1, Owner at A35 Pitstop, Kilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thanks for the Excellent Review. I love it when one of our VERY HAPPY REGULAR CUSTOMERS take the time to tell everyone the UNBIASED TRUTH about us. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I have just spent one ghastly night at this motel. We arrived about 11pm as arranged. As there are was not any staff on duty at this time we were advised the key will be left in the room.
The room and bathroom can only be described as filthy, with the exception of clean sheets which is the only reason we slept there.
It had clearly not been cleaned for weeks, there were spiders’ webs everywhere, dead insects, dust and dirt, black mould in sink and shower cubicle complete with a hole in the ceiling of the shower cubicle.
No light bulb in the bedside lamp, brown stains on the bed cover. All the seals on the milks had gone, and they were all slightly open therefore unusable.
The TV was also unusable as it could not hold a station, I haven't seen such an old TV or experienced the rolling screen problem since the 1970's.
I have attached photos of the room to worn anyone of this dreadful and filthy establishment.
We did e-mail the owners with our complaints, but have had no response.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidPrestonNo1, Owner at A35 Pitstop, Kilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

I do not know where these pictures were taken, because I can't find a trace of these problems in the room. Our rooms are all en-suite, are clean and comfortable, and at under £25 a person per night are excellent value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: חדר מספר 1 הוא המומלץ ביותר - הוא הגדול והמרווח ביותר, לכן מחירו קצת מעל שאר החדרים!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MosheMahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to A35 Pitstop, Kilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A35 Pitstop, Kilmington

Address: Gammons Hill, A35 | Kilmington Cross Services Ltd, Kilmington, Axminster EX13 7RB, England (Formerly Kilmington Cafe Bistro Motel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Axminster > Kilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kilmington
Price Range: £65 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A35 Pitstop, Kilmington 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A35 Pitstop is under new management since Summer 2014. We provide accommodation with single,twin/double and family rooms with cafe/restaurant facility. We are delighted to inform our customers that our rooms are under refurbishment as a part of our continuous evaluation and upgrading of the standard. We are committed to provide a satisfactory service to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your A35 Pitstop, Kilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A35 Pitstop, Kilmington Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing